We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Buenos Aires!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 5th Floor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 5th Floor
Ranked #4 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Buenos Aires!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Fifth Floor for 6 nights during the last week of 2013. Miles and Veronica give you the feeling that you are at home from the beginning and we would recommend it to everyone who wants to enjoy the real Buenos Aires. The B&B looks beautiful with the art deco style and Miles and Veronica now their way around Buenos Aires clearly.

From a stylish bar where we were received by Danny, a friend of Miles and Veronica’s, with open arms to a simple street restaurant where we enjoyed the best Bife de Chorizo in three weeks (and which beat La Cabrera ten times in quality and fun!).

The concept of having an honesty bar and regular drinks between 7 and 9 PM (for those who would like to join) creates a very relaxed vibe that everybody enjoys. After everybody decides to go out for dinner for themselves or order in some Empanadas for example. In the morning eggs and breakfast as you like it freshly prepared.

They seem to know literally every place in Buenos Aires from bars, restaurants to shops. Juan, their local driver took us out shopping to the best shops in town and negotiated a better price for us.

All in all we had a fantastic time in Buenos Aires and for a big part thanks to Miles and Veronica. If you enjoy a personal touch, want to find the best places in town and meet great people definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
74
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent three nights here at the end of our honeymoon and wished that wed found out about it earlier. My wife was in design heaven because the furniture so well complemented the Art Deco apartment. We had room 7, the largest and probably the nicest room. Breakfast is on the patio in the sun and cocktails every evening at 8. Miles and Veronica were perfect hosts with a great eye for detail. Would definitely stay again next time in BA.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinWod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Miles & Veronica's home from home B&B is such an excellent alternative place to stay in BA.. Like staying at a good friend's house without any of the obligations..

Highly reccomend it to one & all (and I'm very fusy!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely guests, excellent food, amazing place, great located, finest taste. Loved it. I usually stay at my own place in BA, that I also rent by season, this time I had to find an hotel cause my apartment was occupied. Luckily I found this secret oasis. Thanks!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was born and raised in Buenos Aires and now live the US. I have traveled back to Buenos Aires dozens of times to visit family and friends and have sampled several "boutique" hotels in Palermo and San Telmo. The 5th Floor, where I stayed with my wife last month, was, hands down, the best I've seen. For one, staying there is like traveling in time to the grand Buenos Aires of the first half of the 20th century. The hotel used to be a family's penthouse and is done in late Art Deco style. The new, and beautiful furniture respects that style. At the same time, the rooms and bathrooms have been updated and everything works the way we expect in hotels in the US (which is not always the case in Buenos Aires). Another big plus to the 5th Floor are Miles & Veronica, who clearly love what they're doing and make the guests truly feel at home. Breakfast, cooked to order, was always delicious and we loved sitting in the large Andalusian-style terrace, listening to the humming of the city while we sipped our coffees. If you can get a room here (they only have 7!), don't miss your chance. It will make your stay in this great city even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my 5th time coming to BA and will definitely make this a stop off in future visits. A unique B&B with a comfy and welcoming atmosphere this is a must recommend. The interior is beautifully decorated and you couldn't ask for more welcoming hosts than Miles and Veronica. I can easily guarantee you will not have stayed at a place like this before.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I highly recommend this place for many reasons: the location is perfect, walking distance from everything you need (shopping Alto Palermo, pharmacies, museums, etc); high-quality details in the bedrooms, living room and terrace, and personalized attention. Miles and Veronica are well known people of the expat community in Buenos Aires so you may find yourself in a dinner among friends at the hotel. Miles was a polo player himself so if you are interested in polo you can always have his advise. On top of everything there is an open bar and you write down your own consumption.. that gives you the idea of the great environment created by the owners. I had a very pleasant stay in room number 3!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank palmitamendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#6 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#4 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Bulnes Eco Suites
Bulnes Eco Suites
#27 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#7 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5th Floor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5th Floor

Property: The 5th Floor
Address: Vidt y Santa Fe | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Floor is our recently restored Art Deco home in the finest part of Palermo. It offers luxurious accommodation and a generous amount of common space including the dining room leading to the Andalusian terrace, spacious, parquet floored living room and (honesty) bar with separate terrace. It provides a homely experience that will remind you of BA's golden age. If you are someone who prefers to sit in a living room rather than a lobby, enjoys a homely atmosphere and a generous amount of common space and would appreciate the assistance of your hosts in making the most of your visit to this fabulous city, then it may be the place for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing