We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first stop in Argentina!”
Review of The 5th Floor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 5th Floor
Ranked #3 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
2 reviews
“A great first stop in Argentina!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The 5th floor was recommended by a friend who lives in BA who had visited the B & B for a dinner and found it charming and beautiful, and she enjoyed the warm hospitality of Miles and Veronica. We have been coming to BA for many years, owned an apt for a few years, which we sold in 2012. Since then we have rented apts.,but the transition to the pace of the city and requirements for renting a place has been a hectic experience...... Shopping, unpacking, etc.
On this trip we booked a room Feb.10th at "The 5th floor", and it was a delightful 2 days to unwind and relax after a long flight. We had a spacious and comfortable room with a spacious and well appointed bathroom with an excellent shower. We were shown the public areas including the dining/ breakfast room with a nice terrace in good weather. There was a large living room with an honors bar and adjacent terrace.
In the evening there was a champagne reception where the other guests as well as some visitors
gathered in the living room with Veronica and Miles for snacks drinks and conversation. There were exchanges about experiences and recommendations from Miles and Veronica.
The next day, we were served a delicious breakfast before exploring the neighborhood to change $, charge up cell phones and SUBE cards to use on the buses and Subte.
Miles and Veronica gave some helpful information, and Veronica called our cell phone carrier to charge the phones without needing us to make a trip to the phone office. She also made a reservation at a restaurant for dinner in the evening at a recommended local parrilla.
Staying at "The 5th floor" at the start of our trip gave us a chance to catch our breath and relax in a very clean and organized house which was much more comfortable and relaxed than a hotel would have been!
Great people, great location, great B&B!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
78
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

By way of background, we travel 3-4 times/year overseas. We usually stay at B & Bs. This one is one of the best we experienced. The owners Miles and Veronica are the most accommodating people you could hope for. Miles sent his driver to the airport to pick us up. He greeted us at the street door and helped us with our luggage. They upgraded our room, just because they had one available, at no extra charge. Miles is down to earth, knowledgeable and prides himself in his culinary art. He cooks breakfast and it is very good and served promptly in the dining room or their lovely terrace. There is an honor bar (well stocked) and a balcony off the living room in which to have a drink and watch the world go by. The room was impeccably decorated, furnished and maintained, as is the entire Inn.
However, the crown jewel is Veronica. She is delightful and accommodating. She has put together maps for the guest, showing the main attractions of the city. She can guide you to the nearby shopping area (their place is centrally located to everything) and her sense of responsibility goes beyond any and all expectations. As an example, American Airlines lost our luggage, 3 days later they found it. Veronica took the call from American and patiently waited, in the living room, until nearly 1 AM, when American delivered the bags.

This one is one of the vey best we have seen. Kudos to them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The care that Miles Lewis and his partner Veronica have lavished on this boutique B & B in the fashionable Palermo district of BA is beyond belief. From the moment you dismount the lift on the 5th Floor of an apparently private apartment block, you are welcomed into a world you couldn't hope to enter without the expertise, warmth and local knowledge provided by your hosts.

Each room is beautifully furnished and equipped in Deco style but with 21st Century accessories - smart TVs, turbo hair dryers, needle sharp monsoon showers, crisp white linens and super efficient AC.

Miles and Veronica provide a delicious comfortable salon, honesty bar, breakfast terrace and the run of the place for you and your guests. Miles plunders the best grocers, bakers, butchers and wine stores to provide brilliant delicacies for breakfast and sumptuous or exotic nibbles at impromptu drinks parties or soirées for his guests, their friends and local VIPs.

Miles and Veronica become close and trusted friends if you like that, or a discrete, sophisticated background to your stay in BA.

The 5th Floor, above every other experience we've enjoyed on an extensive and exotic trip to Argentina and Brazil, provided the impetus for a definite return to Argentina, Buenos Aires and the compulsion to share the experience with friends and connoisseurs of style and adventure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Furrytowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles103, Owner at The 5th Floor, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Susi, thank you for your generous and extravagantly titled review. I hope it does not raise guest expectations too high! While the property certainly does contribute some feel of history and atmosphere, all we really try and do is offer best available quality and old fashioned hospitality. For travellers like you and Vilma who were determined to get the most out of your stay, Buenos Aires is really a very easy city to help people enjoy as it is offers so much accessible culture, long opening times and easy transport. Luckily, you still have much to see so we look forward to your next visit and gin and tonics on the terrace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenno, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

During a business trip to Buenos Aires I decided to spend a weekend in the city on my own. I chose to stay at the 5th Floor based on a recommendation from 2 friends. The weekend was fabulous and I was sad to leave the comfort and charm of 5th floor to the corporate selected hotel. The amenities are excellent, decor beautiful and it feels more like a home than a hotel. A lot of care, and attention to detail, was put into the design of the 5th Floor. Miles and Veronica are amazing hosts and truly enjoy sharing their passion and experience in Buenos Aires. Traveling alone, they welcomed me to dinner with lovely friends and we spent much time on the terrace sharing our similar experiences in life. I look forward to return, hopefully sooner rather than later. Thank you for a marvelous weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank margiefrasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for five days at the 5th Floor at the beginning of February 2014.
The property is well located in Palermo and beautifully fitted out in an art-deco style. The rooms are very nice with air-conditioning and comfortable beds. So staying in this city B&B would be highly recommended but I have left out the main reason that I would return to it again:
Miles and Veronica, the owners. They are an extraordinary couple who take it upon themselves to make sure your stay in BA is wonderful and memorable. Every day they would come up with suggestions of what to do and then Veronica would call up the various venues to check opening times, prices and addresses and then she would give you a list of options for the day.
Their food suggestions were amazing and we ate some our best meals in BA based on their suggestions. Nothing was too much trouble and in a city where not too many people speak English their help in negotiating our time was invaluable and exciting. Thank you Miles and Veronica for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sang0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

the place is very charming and art deco decorated with a very good taste. But it isn´t just the place and the decoration, Verónica & Miles are unique!! they are very friendly and helpful, always ready to share with you insider tips & directions. i had to work most of the time, but i had 1 day off and didn´t know what to do when i woke up; surprisingly i found a note from this marevellous couple: "when you wake up, give us a call, we are going to a private club with pool for lunch, give us a call if you want to come" AMAZING, i joined them and it was the best and relaxful day of my entire stay.
Apart of that, they take very good care of your wishes for breakfast and are so flexible on everything! Are you going to wake up very late? No problem, you get breakfast at 4 pm. You feel like home. they have this "Honesty bar", where you can go whenever and get a drink, no needs to get the waiter to serve you, you just take it and put it on a list, which will be paid at the end of your stay, as i said: UNIQUE!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank raquelcastello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This beautifully renovated b&b provides everything a traveller needs: lots of privacy in the bright, airy rooms but also great opportunities to socialize at the bar and on the patio downstairs.

It is perfectly located in Palermo: a short walk to the cool shops and restaurants but in a lovely, quiet area right by major bus/subway connections.

Thank you Miles and Veronica! We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 445 in Buenos Aires
992 reviews
Palermo
Bulnes Eco Suites
Bulnes Eco Suites
#27 of 445 in Buenos Aires
526 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,848 reviews
Palermo
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
#21 of 445 in Buenos Aires
438 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5th Floor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5th Floor

Property: The 5th Floor
Address: Vidt y Santa Fe | Palermo, Buenos Aires 1425, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5th Floor is our recently restored Art Deco home in the finest part of Palermo. It offers luxurious accommodation and a generous amount of common space including the dining room leading to the Andalusian terrace, spacious, parquet floored living room and (honesty) bar with separate terrace. It provides a homely experience that will remind you of BA's golden age. If you are someone who prefers to sit in a living room rather than a lobby, enjoys a homely atmosphere and a generous amount of common space and would appreciate the assistance of your hosts in making the most of your visit to this fabulous city, then it may be the place for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing