We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place for backpackers! ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We moved to Milhouse from an awful hostel and were so so happy! It is so professionally run I couldn't believe it. On arrival we were greeted by a series of friendly and enthusiastic workers who checked us in and gave us loads of information about both the hostel and BA before showing us to our room. My friends and I had a 4 bed dorm to ourselves and it was so clean (including the towels and linen) with a fan and heater as well as a lockable cupboard and electronic safe. Only complaint was slightly poor shower pressure but it wasn't a problem.

The downstairs bar and TV area is awesome. So easy to meet other travellers, especially through the parties they organise every night with Milhouse Avenue and all the activities on offer. You can get a bar card and pay it off like a tab at the end of your stay which is great and breakfast was good too - you can even pay a little but extra for full English!!

The walking tours are cheaper than tipping tours and cover your public transport there and back. We had a fun free tango lesson too and there was live music some nights. They give you recommendations and discount for clubs every night too. Great fun!

There is 24 hour security and a 24 hour reception and travel desk where for only 5usd more they will book flights, accommodation and buses for you. The wifi doesn't reach all rooms but is very reliable in the common areas and they have computers too.

We met some awesome people and had a great 5 days with Milhouse - I can't recommend it enough and will definitely be staying with them again either in BA or in other cities during my trip!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Milhouse Hostel Hipo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

if you are looking for a party place.. milhouse hostel might be your paradise.. but i wasn t looking for a hostel / nightclub ... breakfast really poor ... only three computers and the wi fi was really bad ... is clean and the beds were new... but is impossible to sleep !!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hostel is great for organised fun, nights out and day activities. Most of the staff are extremely helpful and it's a great place to meet other travellers. However, my only gripe with milhouse was the beds we were given, were in fact infested with bed bugs, leaving us covered in terrible bites... So just check yours beds and have a good old time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melina S, Manager at Milhouse Hostel Hipo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Milhouse. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations.

I can assure you that it is not that "bedsheets are infested with bed bugs". We wash linen daily and we have a strict fumigation policy every 2 weeks. Unfortunately, however, many long distance buses our backpackers use to come to Buenos Aires have bed bugs in their bags compartments, so when they arrive in the hostel, no matter when we fumigated and how clean we keep our rooms, they carry the bedbugs with them, quickly spreading them in the room. We always try to anticipate this situation, fumigating often, hence preventing the spread of bedbugs in most cases. I´m very sorry that in spite of our efforts and small occurrence of this kind of problem, you did experience bed bugs while your stay with us.

We hope that you accept our apology. We promise you we are very focused on cleanliness, as you may have noticed.

All the best,
Melina





With kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff at this place was great, the rooms and sheets were clean, and the bathrooms were in good shape. So overall, it was a good value considering the place. I didn't think the party in the basement was too loud on saturday night and i was on the first floor. If you stay here, you're going to be surrounded by 22-year-olds from Europe all looking to go clubbing, so you might not ever turn your light on as they will be sleeping all afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in Milhouse for a week. It is very much a party hostel. If you want a quiet place where it is easy to sleep I wouldn't pick this hostel. But if you like partying all night it is a great hostel and it is easy to meet other people. They offer plenty of activities and tours during the day but I thought these were overpriced and preferred to go and see things on my own and with other people I met in the hostel. The hostel was kept clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Milhouse is also located ideally in the centre of Buenos Aires with easy transport connections.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikinp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Milhouse Hipo is a great hostel. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed with open arms by the great staff. They were always smiling and happy to help you with whatever you needed. With parties every night and great activities during the day, we were never bored. The building itself is beautiful and very well maintained. It is one of the cleanest hostels i have ever stayed at. Some people may think that the sleep quality is bad as it is clearly a party hostel, although it was not a problem at all.
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LudvigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We got a triple room at this hostel. It was very clean, good location, breakfast included. Its a very busy hostel which runs its own partys, bike tours etc. It would be a great way to meet people. We did the bike tour run by the hostel and it was great. It was good value

Room Tip: For 3 people it wasnt much more expensive to get a triple room compared to 3 dorm beds
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquihawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
Montserrat
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
#62 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,242 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#5 of 465 in Buenos Aires
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 465 in Buenos Aires
674 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 465 in Buenos Aires
715 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#9 of 465 in Buenos Aires
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milhouse Hostel Hipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 465 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £10 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing