We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Boulevard Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue
Ranked #227 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Grand Boulevard Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Good hotel, nice, clean, Friendly staff.
The room was small but was ok.

Helpful?
5 Thank worldlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    108
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
26
87
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

This hotel is good value in BA. The rooms are very small, but they are well maintained and appointed and perfectly adaquate. The rooms also have double glazed windows so there is no noise from the busy street below. Central location and in easy walking distance of central attractions. Close to metro for travel further out. Staff were excellent and allowed early checkin without penalty. Good breakfast included in room rate. Free internet in business centre.

Overall, would stay at this hotel again if visiting BA.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

As another reviewer, I choose this hotel consedering the good reviews I found here. I couldn't be happier. My stay was flawless.

I stayed there for 3 days in June '07, and staff helped me in every single demand I had, from choosing a good, but not mainstream restaurant, like El Desnivel, from helping me to get to my Tango Show on time (since the company who were supposed to pick me up forgot to do it).

The breakfest was fresh and well made, and they even helped me prepare something to bring up to the room because I want to surprise my girlfriend.

The location is very good, bit far from Recoleta, Palermo or Calle Florida, but it's in San Telmo, where there are wondefull small shops, and the antique fair on weekends.

They had free internet access (4 computers) and there were even memory card readers, so if you need to download your photos from your camera (as I did) they were very usefull.

Ask for a room with a front view (so you can see the 9 de Julio), they were all very quiet. They even have some no-smoking rooms avaliable. One of the best hotels I've found!

  • Liked — Staff was very friendly
  • Disliked — My bed was too soft
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MrHarryBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

Good reviews in TripAdvisor led me to the GB and I found that everything previous guests had said was accurate. Flawless and friendly service., helpful staff. A very good value for the location. Very clean and well-appointed rooms. Nice little restaurant with a full breakfast buffet. Great computer setup (although it seemed like there was always one or another broken). On 9 de Julio, one of the most heavily-trafficked boulevards in the world, but well soundproofed. Suites are large and luxurious. Single rooms are tight but fine. It is always a pleasure to see a very well-managed operation.

  • Liked — Everything was as expected, or better.
  • Disliked — Small single rooms.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingpin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

I stayed at the Grand Boulevard BA for 3 days, and from the initial very friendly welcome, until my departure, I cannot fault it in any way. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished, nice sparkling bathroom. Excellent breakfast, good free internet area, and very friendly and helpful English speaking reception staff.
Comfort and cleanliness was first class - a pleasure to stay there, and very good value for money!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and central location; great breakfast and free internet access.
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Novello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

Great Hotel - Located on 9 July Avenue so can be a little noisy. A few blocks from the Obelisk and Shopping. Staff speak English and are very helpful. Would stay again if in Buenos Aires.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IBC35_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2007

Stayed here for a couple of days en-route for the Falls. Small rooms and bathrooms however, since the lights and airconditioning work from the room key-card, it means that they cool down very quickly. I have seen very little double glazing in BA, but this hotel has it and the rooms are wonderfully quiet.

The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean and look rather smart in a gilded sort of way. The breakfast is extensive and the computers just off the dining room give free Internet access. The staff are very friendly, although advise on restaurants was limited to Puerto Madera, which is really expensive and like docklands in London. We discovered the La Barka 2 blocks away that was great.

A great place from which to discover San Telmo, even though it is on a busy road. Cabs in BA are everywhere and a wait of 1 minute on the roadside would be a lot! So, for US 4$ you can grab a cab and get anywhere in downtown in 15 minutes.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 445 in Buenos Aires
900 reviews
Retiro
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
Retiro
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites
#86 of 445 in Buenos Aires
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
#56 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,541 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#407 of 445 in Buenos Aires
611 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#236 of 445 in Buenos Aires
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue

Property: Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue
Address: Bernardo De Irigoyen 432, Buenos Aires 01072, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson 9 De Julio Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing