We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hostel”
Review of La Casa Fitz Roy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa Fitz Roy
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Fitz Roy was such a brilliant hostel to stay in, it was really clean (the shower curtains were a bit mouldy, but the actual bathrooms were clean) and my bed got made for me every day!

The kitchen is really small, but has everything that you need to make dinner, but the hostel is sooo close to amazing restaurants that I hardly ever cooked.

The staff knew everyone by name and always knew where everyone was, they took messgaes for us, ordered us take away and generally totally looked after us while we were there!

All the people I met in the hostel were really friendly, sometimes there were huge groups there which wasn't as good as when it was just other travellers, but nothing to complain about.

There are only two computers which sometimes gets a bit crowded, but there is a kiosk about 2 doors away that does really cheap internet and printing so it wasn't really much of a problem.

It was the only hostel I stayed in in BsAs, but I definately recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank caughtthetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2008

I've stayed in many a hostel throughout the world, and this place is probably lowest in the ranking. It's not horrible, but I basically felt that it was best to spend a little extra money to stay at a nice B&B with a shared bathroom. I had a 2 bed room and the beds were ok, but the carpet was dirty. The bathrooms are horrendous, and that's pretty much why I refused to stay there another night. They are all always wet all over to the point where I didn't bother bringing dry clothes into the bathroom with me to change into, I walked all the way down the hall from the bedroom and back in a bath towel - so much for modesty. When we told the guy at reception that we were not staying there a second night, he was PISSED. I can understand why, but really, he should have understood considering what shape the place is in. On the upside, we had our own air conditioning unit in the room, and it worked gooood. Basically, don't bother with the place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loudblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

One of the most cosy and cleanest hostels we stayed during our trip.I stayed in an 8 bed dorm but the beds are actually 6 beds.
Great hostel, incredibly friendly staff, well located, hostel is very convenient for the metro, free internet - wifi and breakfast. strongly recommended...

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarcusGermanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

its a very nice place to live, the people here its very friendly and atentive, and the place its clean, safe and quiet, i definetly recomend it to anyone who wants to spend a good time in buenos aires and its a cheap place so i hope you come and see this for yourself its a nice place

Stayed: May 2007
Thank alex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

I was there with my boyfriend .Great hotel in a great location in Palermo Hollywood neighborhood, rates are very good.
Restaurants/Shops/Boutiques in this area were my favorite in BA. Felt very safe(security 24hs), in a trendy residential and touristical area.
Some interesting things about the house, mentioned in the film '' La Patagonia rebelde''.
The rooms were huge, nice, and clean.
They have free & fast internet and Wifi and a decent continental breakfast.Enough and clean wc .
The staff was warm(Thank' s for all Coqui) & helpful, and very friendly, they always had recommendations. They go above and beyond what they need to do.
We had a brilliant time at Five and can't wait to go back.

Sam.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SamGPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed at this hostel during our time in BA this past May. It had positives and negatives for a hostel.

Positives:
Most of the staff was great. We especially liked Mathias and Coqui. They were a lot of help with restaurant recommendations, rides and advice. When something of mine was forgotten there they made sure that another American brought it home and mailed it to me. Very sweet.

The free wifi was very nice and they made sure it went over the whole building.

The breakfast wasn't fabulous, but it was good. We got good coffee, mate, bread and real butter.

The location was good. Palermo is a really fun neighborhood and we were right near the subway line.

The beds weren't bad.

The place felt very safe and they watched out luggage when we went on side trips to other parts of the country.

Negatives:

The bathrooms were ok but a little sketchy. The ones outside were a little cleaner but it was winter and cold out there. People tend to leave their shampoo bottles, soap etc and no one throws them away. You end up with loads of nearly empty bottles all over the place.

All the rooms are off the common living space. Therefore, it is never quiet. The guy who works the desk at night doesn't keep people quiet so we have to go out and growl at people to keep it down from 2 am on. The rooms have no outside windows or A/C (at least our double rooms didn't) so we had to leave the window above the door open so we wouldn't suffocate. That just made it even louder when all the drunks showed up after 2 am. The common space is treated as such so people feel free to bring out their stereos and fire up loud music right outside our rooms. This is annoying anytime of day. The walls are very thin and sound echoes a lot in the building.

Overall our experience was good because we met nice people and are pretty relaxed with our accommodation standards. However, if you are wanting to get to sleep a little earlier than the Argentinians, perhaps try a quieter place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

que honda!!

The swedish invation in Casa Fitz Roy has been a total succes, for more then three mounths time we´ve been staying in this hostal. Staying for longer times and then leaving for traveling just to come back when Bs As has been the next destination. It´s been a great time to say the least. We can gladly recomend this hostal for both long stayings aswell as shorter. If your looking for a hostal with a family fealing this is the place.

Andersoto, Andersito y Birger

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank andersssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#50 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,490 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
730 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#120 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,458 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitz Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitz Roy

Address: Fitz Roy 2461, Buenos Aires 1425FVG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 471 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £7 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Fitz Roy is an early twentieth century colonial style house, recently refurbished, situated in Palermo Hollywood. Excellent access by train, underground and bus to the rest of the city.The House has 11 rooms (single, double, up to 4/6/8 people rooms with shared/priv bathrooms), family friendly rooms, with interconnecting doors. The common areas include a living room with comfortable sofas, a fireplace area, a covered patio and a sunny patio(outdoors). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitz Roy Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing