We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, superb location in Palemo”
Review of La Casa Fitz Roy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Fitz Roy
Perth
1 review
“Great Staff, superb location in Palemo”
Reviewed 2 September 2007

I was there with my boyfriend .Great hotel in a great location in Palermo Hollywood neighborhood, rates are very good.
Restaurants/Shops/Boutiques in this area were my favorite in BA. Felt very safe(security 24hs), in a trendy residential and touristical area.
Some interesting things about the house, mentioned in the film '' La Patagonia rebelde''.
The rooms were huge, nice, and clean.
They have free & fast internet and Wifi and a decent continental breakfast.Enough and clean wc .
The staff was warm(Thank' s for all Coqui) & helpful, and very friendly, they always had recommendations. They go above and beyond what they need to do.
We had a brilliant time at Five and can't wait to go back.

Sam.

  • Liked — Location, Rooms size,Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving, its time to work!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamGPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We stayed at this hostel during our time in BA this past May. It had positives and negatives for a hostel.

Positives:
Most of the staff was great. We especially liked Mathias and Coqui. They were a lot of help with restaurant recommendations, rides and advice. When something of mine was forgotten there they made sure that another American brought it home and mailed it to me. Very sweet.

The free wifi was very nice and they made sure it went over the whole building.

The breakfast wasn't fabulous, but it was good. We got good coffee, mate, bread and real butter.

The location was good. Palermo is a really fun neighborhood and we were right near the subway line.

The beds weren't bad.

The place felt very safe and they watched out luggage when we went on side trips to other parts of the country.

Negatives:

The bathrooms were ok but a little sketchy. The ones outside were a little cleaner but it was winter and cold out there. People tend to leave their shampoo bottles, soap etc and no one throws them away. You end up with loads of nearly empty bottles all over the place.

All the rooms are off the common living space. Therefore, it is never quiet. The guy who works the desk at night doesn't keep people quiet so we have to go out and growl at people to keep it down from 2 am on. The rooms have no outside windows or A/C (at least our double rooms didn't) so we had to leave the window above the door open so we wouldn't suffocate. That just made it even louder when all the drunks showed up after 2 am. The common space is treated as such so people feel free to bring out their stereos and fire up loud music right outside our rooms. This is annoying anytime of day. The walls are very thin and sound echoes a lot in the building.

Overall our experience was good because we met nice people and are pretty relaxed with our accommodation standards. However, if you are wanting to get to sleep a little earlier than the Argentinians, perhaps try a quieter place to stay.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2007

que honda!!

The swedish invation in Casa Fitz Roy has been a total succes, for more then three mounths time we´ve been staying in this hostal. Staying for longer times and then leaving for traveling just to come back when Bs As has been the next destination. It´s been a great time to say the least. We can gladly recomend this hostal for both long stayings aswell as shorter. If your looking for a hostal with a family fealing this is the place.

Andersoto, Andersito y Birger

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank andersssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2007

I found this hostel through reviews on tripadvisor, and I agree with all comms.
4pax dorm.(shared with 2 scotish) was clean, wide, with air con
The house isn't overpopulated, atmosphere always peaceful and friendly, and some volunteers are there for long time (UK girls), they were my natural buenos aires night guides.
The breakfast was good, includes cereals, fruits, some days sausages , cereals and bread.
The beds were very comfortable and the rooms quiet. except those near the wc, Wifi everywhere, broadband internet and 2 very fast PCs, a skypein tel with numbers in Europe-USA.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, a family,and the 2 scotish are now my travelmates to peru!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and again.!
I will be back!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vnunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

it`s the best place to stay and to meet people in Buenos Aires, the people that stay there is lovely must of them are students and volunteers from everywhere,
Matias (deskclerck) and Gary (owner) do everything to make you feel at home, i spend 2 weeks in La casa Fitz Roy I was very sad when i have to leave it =(
l`ll be back in dec `07 or Jan `08 CHEERS to EVERYONE!!!

MArco Ponce

  • Liked — The service, the location and the good vibe from the people
  • Disliked — the "orange juice"
  • Tips/Secrets — there`s a lot of tips, but the must important is: learn a little bit of spanish, you will get hard time when you try to pay for the subway or taxi, or newspaper. Have fun
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

My husband and I(30-26) booked a week at the Casa Fitz Roy based on the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted with pretty much everything about our stay there.
The staff speak english and they could not have been more welcoming, or more efficient and helpful towards us.
They were happy to recommend good restaurants in the area and on the morning we checked out, they asked what time our flight was - on hearing that it wasn't until that evening, they said we were welcome to leave our luggage at the hotel until later, if we wanted to spend a few more hours sightseeing before we left Buenos Aires.
The room we stayed in was exactly as described on the hostel's website. Clean, decor, nice cool old pine floor, wood beds with a firm mattress, reasonably priced and working heater/air conditioning.
The bathroom wasn't huge but it was modern, well equipped, the plumbing was modern, and spotlessly clean.
We were suprised by how quiet and peaceful the hostel was, considering it's right in the centre of Palermo.
But we didn't hear any street noise or traffic at all from our room and it was very easy to sleep at night.
We were about 10 mins by metro from the city centre.
Breakfast was served in the dining area . It's self service, apart from coffee/tea/milk/mate, they also had fresh pastries and croissants, toasts, butter, dulce de leche.
You can use an iron and ironing board belonging to the hostel. Little touches like free internet /Wifi ,free inc telephones from europa, for guests .
As the hotel's right in the middle of town(not downtown), it's perfectly located for sightseeing.
Our argentinian family said we couldn't have picked a better hostel, and we agreed
Would definitely reccomend

  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the Thai restaurant!!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyaltsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2006

I don't see how anybody could have possibly rated this place excellent. I don't know where to begin. Check-in was fine and it's great that there are 2 computers. That's about where it ends. Nearly all the rooms have an adjoining room to a common room and the walls are paper thin. Our room was nearest to the outdoor patio, but furthest away from the front door. The door to the patio was SO loud that it woke us up everytime anybody opened or closed the door. The other guests were not very friendly (I tried to smile and say 'hello', but everyone just kind of lowered their heads when I walked past) and people were talking at all hours. The room was so drabby and the bathrooms were small and disgusting. We tried to go to bed around 12:30 am, but people kept going in and out of the patio and were talking loudly, plus I smelled cigarette smoke around 1:30 am, which creeps into the rooms from the common areas/patio. Also, the front door buzzer is pretty loud and I could hear it from our room. People were awake and talking in the common areas around 7:30 am, so we slept maybe 5 hours. Neither my husband or I took showers there, so when we woke up, we took one look at the disgusting breakfast, then checked out. You couldn't pay me enough to return.

  • Liked — Good location (close to subway), free internet
  • Disliked — Small and smelly bathrooms, lots of noise made it difficult to sleep
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank usckim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Bue Hotel
Bue Hotel
#194 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
Palermo Tower by P Hotels
#87 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Palermo
Palo Santo Hotel
Palo Santo Hotel
#15 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Palermo Suites
Palermo Suites
#167 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Palermo
Esplendor Palermo Soho
Esplendor Palermo Soho
#161 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Hollywood House
Palermo Hollywood House
#296 of 453 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitz Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitz Roy

Property: La Casa Fitz Roy
Address: Fitz Roy 2461, Buenos Aires 1425FVG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 453 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Fitz Roy is an early twentieth century colonial style house, recently refurbished, situated in Palermo Hollywood. Excellent access by train, underground and bus to the rest of the city.The House has 11 rooms (single, double, up to 4/6/8 people rooms with shared/priv bathrooms), family friendly rooms, with interconnecting doors. The common areas include a living room with comfortable sofas, a fireplace area, a covered patio and a sunny patio(outdoors). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitz Roy Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing