We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, awesome common areas & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #3 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, awesome common areas & location”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Home hotel was fantastic for the price. We paid $190 per night. The room was good, not spectacular but we didn't pay 'spectacular' prices, either.

What's great about this hotel are the common areas. The pool area is this huge overgrown garden, Secret Garden style. There is a hidden fireplace, a large tree with embroidered flowers wrapped up it and cute garden furniture. It's a total oasis.

The free breakfast is to die for. Two creative juices served in shot glasses, like apple and basil, followed by croissants, muffins, small shot glasses of lemon mousse or yoghurt. It was so creative. Great coffee too.

The cocktails are exquisite. Think pear juice, vodka and chilli.

The service was faultless. Lovely people. Extremely helpful. Brilliant English. They give you a guide of all the best restaurants when you arrive. These aren't touristy restaurant suggestions there neighborhood gems. Places you wouldn't know about unless you were a very well informed foody local.

I definitely recommend Home Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    103
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
425
51
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Home is in an awesome location: Palermo. It's like the Village (NYC) of Buenos Aires. There were a ton of awesome restaurants within walking distance. If you like good food, like being able to walk to restaurants, and don't like being in the touristy downtown area of BA, staying in Palermo is perfect. Home is hip, friendly and very wheelchair accessible. The shower had a lip at the entry, so that transfer was a but challenging. The hotel had put a chair in the shower for me which I had to scoot over to the shower head. The water pressure was awesome, although the water was not always super hot. One guide book called the rooms "spacious" - this is NOT the case. We loved the Home breakfast that was included: eggs, two kinds of juice, yogurt, breads, jelly, butter, fresh fruit, all small portions but totally adequate. Good wifi throughout the hotel. They told us not to drink the tap water, but then charge you for bottled water. We thought that was annoying. When you check in, they give you a little Home handbook filled with great tips for restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. It was great! Check out the restaurant reviews for BA, too.

Room Tip: We had room 1. It was on the front (street side) of the hotel. We slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely Hotel , small, quiet, good service. Hotel Boutiques are great , not big and crowded with intimacy and personalizd service. From there you can visit all Palermo and then is a little far from touristics and historicals spots but get a taxi , is cheap!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel has a cool retro interior with interesting rooms. You definitely feel like you are not just in a normal hotel. The breakfast that is included is good (you get scrambled eggs! a bit of a rarity in BA) and the outdoor area by the pool is very pretty. The pros are that you are in a great neighborhood on a quiet street (important as Palermo is pretty busy at night!) and they give you a GREAT little guidebook on where to eat/shop/drink around the city that really gives you a more insider feel on BA. The cons are that rooms are a bit expensive, but you are paying for something a little different feeling. I think that the lobby could be a little fresher, but otherwise definitely enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The first impression was good: the entrance area and overall design looks good, the backyard/garden is cute and the little pool and tree lovely.

However, you can't help it that the rooms remind you of a youth hostel and the hotel overall just seems a bit stuck with this 70ies/80ies idea and in need of a spring clean.

The breakfast is okay, but nothing special and service is very friendly, and trying their best, but they seem to be understaffed -especially at peak breakfast times, when many tables are not cleared and cleaned, it takes a long time until you get your coffees,etc, and they might have run out of croissants, etc.

Also when ordering drinks in the evening we had the same feeling...

Overall we kept having the feeling, this would be a nice place for half the price, but at this price, you just expect more...

Location is good and we loved the area of Palermo.

Room Tip: The pool suite looked cool, but I would never pay that price for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrimroseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I love the way Home looks. Its midcentury modern look is stylish and elegant, it was love at first sight for me. I wanted it to be home, with its oasis pool and garden. Love the Knit Bomb on the tree in the garden, and the pool is so inviting! We stopped in for a drink, and booked one night, for our last in BA. I was happy to get a one night reservation as they usually have minimum stay requirements. When the actual bartender is on duty, there are excellent cocktails of high quality, the likes of which you find in SF and NY, not at all in BA. I very much appreciate an excellent old fashioned or pisco sour. When the bartender is not on duty, the staff will give you a terrible gin and tonic and charge you a premium price. Not cool. We ate a salad at the bar/pool and it was wilted and not very tasty. Having a lifeguard is a little strange for such a small pool, but I don't fault them for it, but could the guy maybe not talk loudly on his cell phone while you are trying to relax, or perhaps offer a smile to guests? Front desk staff were just OK, nothing special or welcoming about them. I expected more from this hotel in terms of welcoming service, nobody was going out of their way to extend hospitality. Maybe they are slipping?

Room Tip: Standard rooms are pretty small, upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcakekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is the second time I stayed at Home and it won't be the last. It's what all boutique hotels should be - original, stylish, comfortable, familiar, friendly, distinct, well located.

The staff are phenomenal and make you feel instantly at 'home' like old friends full of good advice. They went out of there way to make reservations for us and give us genuine insider information.

Each room is different which makes you feel like you're staying somewhere truly unique, which you are.

And the breakfast is an amazing degustation to start the day and changes daily. Such a delightful luxury and welcome change from standard buffets and bland menus.

I can't wait to go back - there's definitely no other place i've been to like Home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,615 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,827 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#4 of 446 in Buenos Aires
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 446 in Buenos Aires
988 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#16 of 446 in Buenos Aires
368 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Honduras 5860 | Palermo Hollywood, Buenos Aires C1414BNJ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#2 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#8 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#21 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning Home Hotel (Conde Nast Traveller Gold List 2015 and Winner of 2007 Best New Hotel Award by Wallpaper* Magazine), set the benchmark for all other boutique hotels in Argentina. The interior design is modern with bespoke furniture mixed with classic midcentury pieces. Home Hotel boasts a lush garden with outdoor solar pannel heated pool, a restaurant and cocktail bar and spa make Home a green oasis in the middle of the city. As they say, there is no place like Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing