We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Boutique hotel in perfect neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Ranked #40 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Recoleta neighborhood is one of the best places to stay in Buenos Aires. We were walking distance to great cuisine, bars and the historical cemetary, and just a quick taxi ride to the port. We choose to stay at Melia because we are Melia club members and decided to use our points for a three day stay in BA. We were pleased with the hotel. The staff was extremely cordial and helpful, the free breakfast was good, beds were comfortable and the rooms and lobby had charming characteristics.

The first night we had a problem with the air conditioning unit not working properly. It could not be fixed, so the next day we were moved to another room. This was a bit of a pain moving all our belongings to another room, but once we were settled in the new, bigger room, the air conditioning was working perfectly and we spent the next two nights very comfortable. If we get another chance to visit BA again, we will return to this hotel whether we use points or not.

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner works properly, especially when traveling during the hot summer month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliMich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We wanted a quiet room in a nice neighborhood, near good dining, for our week long stay in Buenos Aires . The Melia Recoleta Plaza gave us all of that plus one of the best front desk staffs we have ever met.
Our room was away from the street noise, well apppointed with lots of room. The contemporary bathroom was well done. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.
Three of the best restaurants in Buenos Aires were a few doors away or just around the corner.
But what we loved most was the staff. They booked reservations for us and called for cabs, all within their expected duties. At the end, we needed some of our purchases shipped home and they took care of that too, getting us estimates of the cost first.
It was such a wonderful stay and I highly recommend it to others looking for a special hotel in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Overall, really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, restaurant and bar weren't that great, but there are about 10 places you can eat or drink within a stones throw from the hotel. Book a room on a higher floor since there is a good amount of street noise.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor since there is a good amount of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nice boutique hotel, ok rooms, no view unfortunately most rooms are overlooking alleyways except the ones on the main street.
Great breakfast, which is the main plus along with location, but I must say the main disappointment is the unhelpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imissiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

after our cuise spent 3 days at this hotel. Great decor. Front desk and conscierge service was great. Wonderful locat restaurants. we paid $262us and happy. One concern was our bar-lounge experience and excessive billing of bottles of wine which we discovered. The bell hop was effective in helping us with taxis and restaurants. Most spoke english. The history with Evita Peron was unique and interesting. Great city and would come back here again but be more vigilant in the lounge.

Room Tip: no problems here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphCramdonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Melia. First impressions count - and were very good. After a long flight from the UK we felt little jaded - the front of house staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel has a history - it was once the home of that Argentine legend - Eva Person. The style is classic French, and our room was well equiped and a good size. The bar area is comfortable and relaxing, as is usual it doubles up as the breakfast buffet room. The location is spot on, being in upmarket Recoleta. The acid test is...would we stay there again? Yes - like a shot. To get 5 stars would require quieter air con in our room and a better, more varied breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My cousin and I stayed at this hotel in January 2012.
The location is outstanding: one block from the Alvear Palace Hotel and 2-3 blocks from the Park Hyatt Palacio Duhau -- arguably the two best hotels in BsAs. I would consider staying at the Melia again for the location alone.
The hotel is lovely, decorated in a classic French style with plush furnishings, mirrors, carpets, etc.
Our room was quite small but well-apportioned. The bathroom also small but clean and newly refurbished.
My big problem with the hotel is the service:
1. WiFi, which is essentially standard in every hotel now, especially high-end properties, was not available in our room, even for a cost. This is VERY annoying. One has to go to the lobby to obtain reception.
2. The service is abominable. I went downstairs one morning during Complimentary Breakfast to get a cup of coffee and banana to take up to the room. The waiter said I would be charged as the "Comp B'Fast" was available only to seated guests. Really? Charge me for a cup of coffee and banana? $7.58 USD. Outrageous.
3. No maps at the front desk.
4. Indifferent attitude by almost all the staff.

So, 5 stars for location, 4 for the decor and 2 for the service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmelouruguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#18 of 444 in Buenos Aires
761 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#21 of 444 in Buenos Aires
680 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#38 of 444 in Buenos Aires
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#34 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,078 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#67 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires C1112ADA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#29 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £117 - £848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Recoleta invite you to enjoy our luxury boutique hotel , accompanied by the best gastronomic experience and feel the place where he lived Evita Peron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing