We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere in a nice place in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Ranked #35 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere in a nice place in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Nice Hotel for business and visits to Buenos Aires.
Recoleta is a safe area in the city and you will have no problems to find attractions all around and nice bar or restaurants where to eat.
the restaurant inside the hotel are not at the same level at the hotel, good but nothing that you will remember.
unfortunately no Gym in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    247
    64
    29
    11
See reviews for
134
293
48
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Having changed our plans at the last minute and on a ferry heading back to B.A. from Montevideo we suddenly realised we didn't have a hotel booked. The first couple of hotels called were full, another one was unable to accept 'late' arrivals for 'security' reasons and so we called this one not knowing anything about it other than it was in Recoleta. It turned out to be a good choice. A reasonably priced, friendly and comfortable hotel situated on a quiet residential street. There were small bars and restaurants nearby and, as we found out in the morning, it was very well positioned for walking to the Floralis Generica and the Cementerio de la Recoleta and the colourful weekend market surrounding the cemetery. The hotel was built in the 1930's and apparently the area was rather different to the genteel suburb Recoleta is today we read later! Behind reception there is a long, tastefully furnished room leading to the dining area and lifts. A painting of Eva Peron on the wall drew my attention after breakfast....and that is how we discovered that Eva Peron had lived in the building between 1942 and 1944! An historic 'bonus' for overseas visitors staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamShanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I always try to stay in this hotel when in Buenos Aires.

The rooms are not that big, but their beds, lines and pillows are very comfortable. Also there is AC in the room which works quite well. The only con I have for the rooms is the only internet available is WIRED. The internet speed is average, but then again you are in Buenos Aires and internet sucks everywhere.

The bathrooms are very good and spacious with good shower pressure. The robes are nice too.

I have stayed here multiple times in the past 2 years and the staff has always been very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast is usually included and its also very good. It's nothing like the cheap continental breakfast we get in USA.

The location is good, its near the major tourist attractions (although I always go there for work) and you have plenty of bars and restaurants all walking distance.

A great place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Very nice smaller hotel in a great area of Recoleta in BA. Walking distance to all of the major downtown BA sights. Clean and modern room. Excellent concierge service. Great breakfasts. Everything worked very smoothly, including the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Recepción at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel has a beautiful classic entrance and lobby area that fits right into the historic neighborhood of Recoleta.

The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable, and the restaurant downstairs is a little dark and dank, but the service is excellent and I wasn't really planning on spending too much time in the room or hotel restaurant since there are so many places to explore in this city.

Te more grandiose (and very expensive) Alvear and Park Hyatt hotels are right down the road, so if you're looking for luxury and want to spend the money on it, you should look into those hotels.

I for one opted for value, comfort and location since I'd rather spend the money on meals and the amazing leather goods sold in the classic little stores that can be found in the area.

Walking distance from Recoleta, museums, stores, numerous outdoor cages and a few very good restaurants, I could have stayed in this area without exploring any other neighborhoods! But make sure you take the time to go to Palermo Soho, and Puerto Madero as well.

My favorite little cafe is right on the corner of the hotel, Las Ramblas. You can get amazing coffee and a cheese plate for two for 60 pesos that will do for a snack or a light lunch.

This is my second time staying in Melia Recoleta and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just stayed recently at this hotel in Recoleta area of BA, a very quaint hotel in a great area of town, lots of cafes and restaurants nearby and close to downtown as well. Hotel is very clean and well maintained, staff friendly, breakfast in the AM quite good as well for breakfast included with a room. Bar is expensive at night so go to one of the nearby cafes. Rooms are quite nice, large enough and the biggest closet I've ever seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: there are 2 "towers" if you call 6 or 7 floors a tower but 1 in the front of the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Recoleta neighborhood is one of the best places to stay in Buenos Aires. We were walking distance to great cuisine, bars and the historical cemetary, and just a quick taxi ride to the port. We choose to stay at Melia because we are Melia club members and decided to use our points for a three day stay in BA. We were pleased with the hotel. The staff was extremely cordial and helpful, the free breakfast was good, beds were comfortable and the rooms and lobby had charming characteristics.

The first night we had a problem with the air conditioning unit not working properly. It could not be fixed, so the next day we were moved to another room. This was a bit of a pain moving all our belongings to another room, but once we were settled in the new, bigger room, the air conditioning was working perfectly and we spent the next two nights very comfortable. If we get another chance to visit BA again, we will return to this hotel whether we use points or not.

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner works properly, especially when traveling during the hot summer month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgaray2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director General at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 447 in Buenos Aires
726 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#43 of 447 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#18 of 447 in Buenos Aires
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#32 of 447 in Buenos Aires
980 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Hotel Club Frances
Hotel Club Frances
#36 of 447 in Buenos Aires
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Property: Melia Recoleta Plaza
Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires C1112ADA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#65 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#91 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Recoleta invite you to enjoy our luxury boutique hotel , accompanied by the best gastronomic experience and feel the place where he lived Evita Peron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing