We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Ranked #37 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Aztec, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were the in July 2012. This hotel is within walking distance to many attractions, such as the week end art in park two blocks away, nice restaurants and other shopping. The hotel is very nice, staff is friendly, attentive and you can always find one that speaks English if your Spanish is not so good. Breakfast was included when we stayed there. Afternoon tea is also available in the lobby for a modest charge. There is coffee/tea available in the lobby very early in the morning. Room service is available too. Most all of BA is safe, some areas are best not to go to, this area is very safe with lots of locals and tourists. Two doors away is a restaurant that serves great empanadas along with wine and beer that is great for a afternoon tapas to hold you over until restaurants open at 8 pm for dinner. We normally eat dinner at home about 6 pm, so waiting until 8 or 9 pm took a bit of fortification of food and wine.

Live Life to fullest each and every day regardless of where you might be.

Room Tip: Rooms out of the US are normally a bit small, but I go there to see not sit in room. They are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Mr. Tom K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at Melia Recoleta Plaza.
We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel and we would be more than happy to welcome you again in your next visit to the city.

Thanks again for your rewarding words!

Sincerely,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    252
    65
    29
    11
See reviews for
138
296
48
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for two weeks a couple of years ago and really enjoyed our stay. The location is central, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. The spa on the top floor is a plus! Next time I'm in Buenos Aires, I'd definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Mrs. LoraParis,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to know you had a wonderful and complete experience including the staff, room, and location.

We are looking forward to receiving you in your next stay at our city.

Sincerely,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very well located, good breakfast, helpful staff. The wi fi internet connection should be upgraded.
Nice shops and restaurants in the neighborhoods. One negative point is the room make up service which was not ready before mid day. During our stay on December 29th, we only had our room made up only after complaining twice at the front desk. The room was ready at 2:45 pm what is nor acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento C, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. Debiasi,

Thank you for choosing Melia Recoleta Plaza during your recent visit to our city. Your comment about the cleanliness had been reported to our General Manager for its revision.

We appreciate your post in Tripadvisor.com and we are looking forward to receiving you in your next stay in Buenos Aires.

Sincerealy,

Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Enjoyed a 4 night stay in this hotel. Very centrally located and convenient for the many bars and restaurants nearby. Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast buffet provided. We had upgraded to a deluxe room with a hot tub on small terrace which was nice to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. Staff were friendly and helped with any queries we had. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was bit more expensive but enjoyed luxury of hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Recepción at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Ante todo muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR DE RECEPCION
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012 while visiting our son who was studying abroad in Buenos Aires. This was a great place; mid-sized; 4 rooms on each of 8 floors. The staff was extremely helpful and very accomodating. When we arrived very early from the US, they were able to check us into our room; otherwise we would have been able to change and shower in the spa on the 9th floor. All of the rooms are named after jazz artists; were in room 62; named after Fletcher Henderson. The room was a good size; bed was great, and there were bathrobes and slippers and a mini-bar. The room was spotless. There is a nice lobby for relaxing and they have 2 laptops for guests to use. The breakfasts (included) are served buffet style and include a huge assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs etc. There is a full bar and they have a jazz club downstairs where there is live music on Saturday nights. (unfortunately I came back too late and missed this). The location of the hotel is excelent; right near parks, museums and the Recoleta cemetary. Also walking distance to many great shops and one of the best empanada places in BA is right on the block. The staff, expecially Jose went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and this hotel offered very good value for the money in a prime area of Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: A higher floor probably means less street noise, though Posada is a fairly quiet block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ews414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento C, Departamento de Calidad, Quality Department at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. Ews414,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our Hotel.
We appreciate your post in Tripadvisor.com, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Quality Department, Departamento de Calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Beautiful small hotel in the one of the best locations. Good service, great free internet connection everywhere in the hotel.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated and ok in size. No bath in the bathroom a down point.
Street facing rooms can be noisy as there is a lot of traffic in the area.
The breakfast area is a bit dark but well kept, there is a sort of gazebo area but was not kept open, not sure why, would have been better to have breakfast there.
Very happy with the hotel, would stay there again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keli_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Recepción at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 18 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huesped

Ante todo muchas gracias por volcar sus comentarios en la comunidad de tripadvisor
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios y lo esperamos nuevamente cuando desee

saludo atte

DIRECTOR DE RECEPCION
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here for a few nights. Great location in the Recoletta area which is a safe, central area. Room was well furnished and generally clean, with some minor housekeeping issues. The buffet breakfast that was included in our package was excellent. Didn't eat lunch or dinner there so cannot offer any opinion.
The size of the hotel of approximately 50 rooms makes it feel somewhere between a large boutique to a small chain style hotel. One negative is a lack of a true concierge and the front desk staff, while trying to assist with "tourist" questions and recommendations, at least twice gave incorrect information or failed to provide information that a more experienced concierge would have offered. This is particularly of concern to first time visitors to BA, particularly for non Spanish speakers.
One other slight negative is that some areas of the hotel show wear and tear to the furnishings and carpets. A renovation might be a good idea at this time.
So on balance, the Melia Recoletta is a nice place to stay, but is a notch below 5 star standards. For the price though, it is more reasonable than some of the large 5 star hotels in the area, such as the Alvear or 4 Seasons.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departamento C, Quality Department, Departamento de Calidad at Melia Recoleta Plaza, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Mr / Mrs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Melia Recoleta.
Your comments about furniture and carpets have been submited to the General Manager.
Hope we can host you in your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#16 of 445 in Buenos Aires
739 reviews
Recoleta
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
Loi Suites Recoleta Hotel
#40 of 445 in Buenos Aires
786 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Grand
Recoleta Grand
#35 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Mio Buenos Aires
Mio Buenos Aires
#17 of 445 in Buenos Aires
663 reviews
Recoleta
Urban Suites Recoleta Boutique Hotel
Recoleta
Hotel Club Frances
Hotel Club Frances
#43 of 445 in Buenos Aires
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoleta Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoleta Plaza

Property: Melia Recoleta Plaza
Address: Posadas 1557, Buenos Aires C1112ADA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#26 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#38 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#90 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Recoleta Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Recoleta invite you to enjoy our luxury boutique hotel , accompanied by the best gastronomic experience and feel the place where he lived Evita Peron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Recoleta Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Recoleta Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing