We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but check the bathrooms before unpacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argentina Tango Hotel
Ranked #431 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My first evening staying with Argentine Tango was eventful. My advice: Check the bathrooms first. The room we were given had a flooded bathroom that got worse with each flush. We asked to switch to another room, but we were warned that the room we had was better than the one that was available. He was right. The other room's bathroom smelled overwhelmingly of ammonia. I was so disappointed. Eventually, we just stayed in the room with the flood.

However, the next day we were switched into a better room with a functioning bathroom. That was nice. There was a lot of noise from the parking lot next door but it was fine. It is centrally located near Calle Florida, so that's a pretty big plus. Argentina Tango isn't the cleanest or nicest hotel but it is budget friendly.

The evening desk is very professional and seemed to be sympathetic and responsive to our complaints. He was better trained and more guest friendly than the desk in morning and afternoon.

NOTE: At check-in, the hotel asks you to sign an agreement to pay the total amount of your stay even if you find the rooms or conditions of the hotel inadequate. I didn't feel comfortable signing it, and the night desk said it was ok and I didn't have to, but I thought that was odd.

Stayed: April 2011
Thank LarissaU_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

I was allready the second time in Argentina Tango Hotel, very nice and friendly staff, clean spacious rooms (both times). First time front side, 2nd time back side, bit dark, but OK. Great location, close to peatonal as well as main public transportation connections. The only "bad" about hotel is that microcentro is pretty empty in the night and weekend, so prefered to take taxi going there at that time. All in all, great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spalatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I had read mixed reviews about this hotel but I was unable to find an alternative within my budget and preferences. My only chance was this hotel and it didn't dissapointed me.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was small but it had enough variety so I wouldnt complain. The room was strange, while the bed area was huge as well as the bed itself (a king size for a single traveler!) and nicely decorated in a modern style, the bathroom was tiny and old fashioned!
I had troubles sleeping the first night because there was a party just in front of the hotel that ended with a fight but it was a Saturday. The following night I didn't have any problem at all.
The location is fairly good, close to the famous Florida Street and very safe at any time of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marita-vacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Very disappointed with this hotel. The room was small, and felt dirty, particularly the bathroom where all sorts of dirt came out the tap. I was also kept awake all night from a party across the road from the hotel. There have to be far better places than this in a city like BA.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

If you want a cheap place to stay this is the place. The staff is friendly and willing to help you. They will go out of their way to get you comfortable. The place is noisy, but clean. If you like to explore the city this is a great location. The subway line is only three blocks away. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. You will meet a lot of young people here. They come from different countries in Europe and South America. The place is noisy becuase the young people like to hangout in the plubic area of the hotel. If you are a young person you will meet many more people in the evening who are young and like to meet new people. It is a very international place. If you do not ike noise or movement this is not a place for you. I had a great time in the evening talking and sharing my expereinces with other people. This is not a place for people who have credit cards or are shy. This is not a place you can hang out in the day time. The evenings are different. You can meet people in the evening and share information of places of interest in the city. This is a place you need to share space.


The hostel does not have a cafe or restaurant, but you can bring to the public area of the hostel your food and eat your meals. You can also use their kitchen if you desire.

This is a great place. The price is also great.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousandLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed with a tour group. Would not stay there by choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

great location in downtown but they have the heating turned up to suana levels in the corridors and rooms etc. we turned it off in our room but it took about 24 hours before we could be in there without the window wide open.

nice staff, felt secure, large but plain room, good hot water and pressure.

noisy on the weekends

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel Avenida
Gran Hotel Avenida
#312 of 442 in Buenos Aires
10 reviews
San Nicolas
Regis Orho Hotel
Regis Orho Hotel
#396 of 442 in Buenos Aires
272 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Mundial
Hotel Mundial
#250 of 442 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel El Cabildo
Hotel El Cabildo
#185 of 442 in Buenos Aires
216 reviews
San Nicolas
Babel Plaza
Babel Plaza
#237 of 442 in Buenos Aires
110 reviews
San Nicolas
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
Art Deco Hotel & Suites
#337 of 442 in Buenos Aires
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argentina Tango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argentina Tango Hotel

Address: Calle Suipacha 545, Buenos Aires C1008AAK, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £23 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argentina Tango Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Room: - Sommier King Size - Coffee Maker in room without charge- Minibar- Air Conditioning (individual)- Central Heating - Soundproof Windows- Hair Dryer- Bathroom amenities- Safety Box- Cradle without extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argentina Tango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argentina Tango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing