We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Five Cool Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$192
US$154
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$400
US$241
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
US$221
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$484
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$950
US$785
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$472
US$390
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Two Hotel Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
35
48
37
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
48
37
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The location is good in trendy Palermo Soho and the reception is warm. However, the small room was almost filled by a comfortable bed with good linen; nowhere to put luggage and nowhere to sit comfortably. The bare (yes bare) polished concrete floor looked dirty and stained. A quick check revealed that it was dirty and stained and a good wet scrubbing was needed. The front of the hostel was clad in scaffolding since painting was about to start but they should be spending money on cleaning the interior. The en suite bathroom was micro sized but offered the chance to sit on the toilet and wash hands in the trendy (cracked) bowl basin at the same time. The shower would not be good for claustrophobics. If you think that stopping here is cool, it's not, just stupid. Walk away and find somewhere clean and decent unlss you can negotiate a price below $15 US. We walked away rather than stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid the front on the street and the hotel completely if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Five Cool Rooms is a pleasant place to stay. Location is perfect, in the heart of Palermo Soho. Staff is friendly and efficient in making you feel at home. It´s a real boutique hotel, where you´re not just a room number.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAccidentalTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room was attractive and modern with a lovely bathroom. Too bad the hot water never came on. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooftop deck and breakfast area were very beautiful. Right in the middle of things in Palermo. Still, with all the hotels we stayed in this one was the most expensive and way down the list of favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymberw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Compared to the other options we had when booking our stay in BA, I suppose that we should have expected less. Still, it's not like this place was dirt cheap, so we were shocked when we were led to our room and it was TINY! We almost had to shimmy our way in and our luggage basically just fit within the walking space in the room. We had to jump over it to get to the equally tiny bathroom. When getting dressed in the morning, I had to sit on the bed to go through my luggage. There wasn't enough room on the floor for both of us. If you don't mind being uncomfortable in your space and just want a place to crash, then I suppose it's alright but it made our experience feel like a backpacking trip. Perhaps a hostel might've been more roomy! Despite the great location and friendly staff, we won't be staying here next time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misheebelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Found this place via a combination of personal recommendation (a local friend) and a good write up in The Guardian Travel section. We were not dissappointed.

This was my first time back to Buenos Aires after a 15 year absence and whilst much has changed, Palermo Soho is still the best place to base yourself I reckon.

Five Cool rooms actually has many more than 5 rooms. The name refers to the 5 TYPES of rooms it offers - Small, Medium, Large, Extra Large and Suite. We stayed in a Medium and this was more than enough for a couple. Room 209 was great as it was one of the three rooms with a street frontage and balcony. The street noise was not bad and when the glass sliding door closed it was silent.

Modern design with bare, polished concrete floors ensured the room stayed cool even as the temps outside crossed the 30 degree mark and the flat screen TV, air conditioning and free WiFi made sure we stayed entertained and comfortable at night.

The roof top space is great and the small plunge pool/spa was a great way to cool off at the end of a day.

No restaurant, but there is a Parrilla (Argentine BBQ/Grill) on the roof if you feel up to cooking and if not, there are TONS of good restaurants within a few minutes.

If you are a fashionista, Palermo Soho is the place to be and you will be spoilt for shoice with hundreds of boutiques dotted around the surrounding streets.

Great boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews