We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Five Cool Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Five Cool Rooms
Ranked #394 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It's hard to review this hotel. The location is amazing and staff is super friendly. Your close to amazing shopping and restaurants. The common lounge area was perfect for hanging out and the breakfast was good. However I agree with all the previous reviews on the room situation. OUr room was super small and we didn't have much room for our backpacks The rooms definitely need a makeover; they feel drab and dirty. There were stains all over the white walls. The other big negative was that the hotel lost my friend's laundry. However the staff handled the situation very well by giving her two free nights; which I thought was fair.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumptyDumptyJ0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    37
    20
    18
See reviews for
14
87
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent 4 nights in the Hotel. It is a great location and the general area has great amenities within minutes. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. However, the room was dirty, drab and needs to be redecorated. It gave a very poor first impression. Breakfast and the hot tub on the roof were reasonable. The wifi was not great but part of that was down to the power outages in the city at the time.

Room Tip: We had a medium room which was not great. Avoid a small room and perhaps the larger rooms might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

It might not look like the amazing shots on its website but that should dissapoint you. Situated in the hip area of Palermo Soho it doesnt get any better in terms of location. Go for the larger rooms as the basic very small and the price difference is negligable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I spent 2 nights here and it's right in the centre of where you want to be staying. You couldn't be more in the thick of the action in Palermo Soho. The room's are fine, although I couldn't get the heating to the right level, and they feel very average in terms of 'that luxury feeling'. However, the price is great and so it's pretty good value if you're looking for a handy place to stay for a weekend trip, for example.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamharrison31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Five Cool Rooms won't blow you away with grandeur and luxury but it's clean, easy and in a great spot to enjoy Palermo's shops and restaurants. The rooms are small but comfortable and the staff are generally friendly and helpful, plus the hot tub on the roof is a nice touch and a good place to unwind with a beer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBenn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We walked past the door, twice, before finding the anonymous entrance. Nice common areas, specially the roof area for breakfast with the small pool.

The room had a strong smell and was rather small and not that pleasant. Hotel service was ok, until we asked them to arrange a taxi to the airport. We got a private driver, even though we clearly asked for a regular taxi. Even worse, the driver was unfriendly and more expensive than a taxi. With our spanish phrase book we tried to explain that we needed to withdraw cash at an atm. When we arrived at the airport, he yelled at us for not having the cash ready and that he had to wait for us to get cash. This is not all the hotels fault, but they where the ones not giving us the taxi, plus they have a special arrangement which this private driver.

Stay here for its location and common areas. At least our room was not cool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Little places llike this always come with trade-offs. I happen to love the trade-offs of this one.

If location is your thing, grab this one. Walk out the door and Soho awaits.
If safety and feeling secure is your thing, ditto.
If common areas are your thing, ditto. The first floor has a reading room and a huge courtyard with multiplle seating areas.
If design is your thing, you willl love the loggia downstairs opening at grade to the courtyard. And the breakfast rooftop. And tthe cookout area and sauna area on the roof. NOTE THE DESIGN IS SIMPLE AND POLISHED CONCRETE IS A DESIGN CHOICE WHICH I HAPPEN TO LOVE.
If rooms are your thing, then maybe this place is not for you. When we checked in, we looked at all the room types, and we decided to go for a bigger room (101 - with an awesome sitting area in the courtyard just outside the room. The others are just too tiny for a couple.
If value is your thing, this place is in the middle, and from my viewpoint it is priced about right.

One more thing about location. There are four other hotels on this exact block, and all seem decent if not great. We visited all, and this one wass our choice. The others are Malabia, Home, Synergia, and Soho Suites (we stayed here as well and like this onen very much ... it is right next door but we think this one is more cool). The intersection of Malabia and Honduras is pretty much groud zero of Soho.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATL_JCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#373 of 446 in Buenos Aires
331 reviews
Palermo
Blue Soho Hotel
Blue Soho Hotel
#403 of 446 in Buenos Aires
290 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#136 of 446 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#126 of 446 in Buenos Aires
392 reviews
Palermo
First Palermo Hotel
First Palermo Hotel
#216 of 446 in Buenos Aires
148 reviews
Palermo
Ultra Hotel
Ultra Hotel
#342 of 446 in Buenos Aires
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Cool Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Cool Rooms

Property: Five Cool Rooms
Address: Honduras 4742 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Cool Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the core of Palermo Soho, Five Cool Rooms opens its doors to offer guests a different experience at the moment of choosing where to stay. With a simple, cozy decoration and some auctochthonous touches, it provides everything necessary to enjoy a pleasant stay. Cable TV, individual temperature control, wireless Internet and private parking are some of the most outstanding services. It is surrounded by the best restaurants in the city. It has 16 rooms, 5 of which are equipped with hydromassage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Five Cool Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Cool Rooms Hotel Buenos Aires
5 Cool Rooms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing