We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location if you're hip!”
Review of Five Cool Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Five Cool Rooms
Ranked #376 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed here in March '09 and loved it. The location is excellent for taking in the Palermo SOHO neighborhood. The rooms are totally cool and stylish. The rooftop terrace offers beautiful a perspective to the area, the lobby is fun, and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

This hotel is basically a glorified, trendy youth hostel. It is totally overpriced for what it is. I'm surprised there were no bunk beds in the room. The room was tiny and cramped and made a New York City hotel room look like a football field. The staff were very cold and unfriendly. Housekeeping doesn't even replace the toiletries the following day!! I didn't care for the fact that when booking the hotel, their rates do NOT include a 21% tax. It was the only hotel in all of Argentina who quoted rates without including the sales tax.....very deceiving. The only thing that this hotel has got going for them is the location. I would definitely advise against staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAshmateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Let's start with the location - everyone talks about the location. It really is ideal... just two blocks east of Plaza Serrano and located in the middle of just about everything - restaurants, boutiques, bars - everything! Just two doors down is another hotel, SoHo All-Suites, as well.

The service was cordial although not "dazzling" like the BoBo. The front desk staff were always willing to help and to provide some insight although I can't say they would really go out of their way. Next to the front desk was the lounge area with a TV, books and cool furniture. Outside were a patio, some chairs and a hammock. A nice area to hang out, particulary on cool comfortable nights. Up two flights of stairs was the breakfast area, terrace and jacuzzi. Breakfast was relatively straightforward but provided everything I needed for a quick stay.

I opted for one of the large rooms (#101 on the ground floor) at $150 USD/night. The room had plenty of space - cool, minimalist furnishings and a reasonable amout of storage space. The bathroom was nice and open with a very large shower but no bathtub (don't really care about that). The bed was very comfortable and the A/C was more than effective - it actually would get pretty cold. Wi-Fi was available pretty much anywhere on the property and I would use my laptop in the lobby area, in my room and on the terrace. I can't speak for the other rooms but would pass the small rooms often and, yes, they were quite small. Spend an extra $20-30/night for a bigger room.

Overall, I was pleased. Given my later experience at the Presidente, Five Cool Rooms was a great hotel and I would definitely recommend it. The location is ideal, the rooms (so long as you upgrade) are reasonable and the overall experience made the expense worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

There are probably only 5 'cool' rooms in this boutique hotel. The other rooms are very small; fine if you are taking a weekend bag and staying in bed.
Staff prefer the subtle approach and you could go unnoticed; however when we asked them for any advice / money changing / telephone calls.. they were more than helpful.
root terrace is lovely & breakfast was sweet & simple.
rooms don't have a mini bar and there's no room service available. there is a very nice bakery across the road and a store selling booze around the corner.
Location is great for shopping / cafe culture.
Value for money??? well if you can afford to go for the larger rooms with terrace then yes. bear in mind you are paying for a 'design' hotel; but i'm not sure a few artsy books in the foyer qualifies for that anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelfastLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Room 301, a room, more like a suite or a trendy private apartment, holding a private terrace connected to the main terrace with a jacuzzi. Simply teriffic! Chilling in the sun after a busy day sightseeing, before hitting the nightscene is done best here!

We loved the room, the place, the location, the modern interior, the impeccable service, cleanliness and great butique hotel feel. This sets the standard of what a modern taveller is loking for, even if the service is not five star. No bar, no restaurant and a simple breakfast at the rooftop... but hey..... all of Palermo Soho is right at your doorstep.

If you visit Buenos Aires and are looking for a modern and trendy place in one of the friendliest most fashonable neighbourhoods in the world, go to -Five cool rooms- and be sure to book the best room of them all; 301!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bckrSTHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Great service from the front desk staff on terms of where to eat, shop, drink, etc.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was clean and funky yet really small.

Roof top patio was neat as well as the lounges.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fire_my_imagination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed in late November 2008 during the last leg of our trip and were disappointed.

We stayed in Room 106 right next to the door to the lobby. Everytime people passed by our room (and they had to to get from the lobby to their rooms) we could hear the door closing and their conversations as they passed by. They were probably about 10 feet away from me when I was laying in bed.

When booking, I had been told by the hotel that the only category of room left was "small", - they were not kidding. There was barely enough room to put a small suitcase down between the bed and the wall and the larger suitcase we had stayed closed and upright the whole time.

The bathroom was ok, but the grouting in the tub was slightly moldy. It was also kind of hard to get the water temperature right when taking a shower - it would randomly get really hot mid-shower.

The breakfast was good - toast, cereal, jams, butter, cream cheese, coffee, teas, orange juice, pastries. The breakfast area is right on the same level as the rooftop deck with lounge chairs and a jacuzzi - it was really hot when we were there so getting in the jacuzzi wasn't very appealing, but there were several people sunbathing there when I went up one afternoon.

The front desk staff was helpful but somewhat cold/unfriendly. Only the two guys who worked the night shift were always smiling, nice and pleasant.

The hotel is somewhat hidden from view on the street level and you have to buzz the door to be let in (they have a camera and look at you before buzzing).

I peered into a few different rooms while the cleaning ladies were in there and they all seemed as small as our was. There was no decoration in the room to speak of, it was "minimalist" at best.

Breakfast was good, location was excellent, but this hotel is starting to show signs of age and the staff could be friendlier. We preferred our stay at Mine Hotel just around the block where the value for your money was better.

I probably wouldn't stay here again - not unless it was at least 30 dollars cheaper a night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#373 of 444 in Buenos Aires
338 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#110 of 444 in Buenos Aires
579 reviews
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#187 of 444 in Buenos Aires
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#118 of 444 in Buenos Aires
417 reviews
Palermo
Bue Hotel
Bue Hotel
#214 of 444 in Buenos Aires
36 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#342 of 444 in Buenos Aires
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Cool Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Cool Rooms

Address: Honduras 4742 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Cool Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the core of Palermo Soho, Five Cool Rooms opens its doors to offer guests a different experience at the moment of choosing where to stay. With a simple, cozy decoration and some auctochthonous touches, it provides everything necessary to enjoy a pleasant stay. Cable TV, individual temperature control, wireless Internet and private parking are some of the most outstanding services. It is surrounded by the best restaurants in the city. It has 16 rooms, 5 of which are equipped with hydromassage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Five Cool Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Cool Rooms Hotel Buenos Aires
5 Cool Rooms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing