We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorified hostel indeed”
Review of Five Cool Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Five Cool Rooms
Ranked #374 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed here while in B.A. recently. Using their awesome website as a reference point, the hotel was a deception. Four years into it and it's already looking tired and they need to repaint many of the walls (visible dirt and skidmarks, for example). The general feel is one of a hostel but with hotel prices. This wasn't worth USD 125 a night for the smallest room type. However, not all was lost. The staff were very friendly, helpful and eager to help at any time. And the rooms/bathrooms were immaculate and, although our room was the tiny kind, we knew it in advance and we were at peace with this. And the beds and sheets are all *really* comfortable, at luxury level. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. The location in Palermo SoHo is perfect, needless to say. All in all, the proprietors of this hotel need to take stock that something better needs to be done if they are to continue charging these rates.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LakkaLakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2009

Great hotel with a fabulous location... you really can't get any better if you want to enjoy the restaurants, shopping, nightlife and fun that BA has to offer.

My only complaint was that achingly cool is great - however that meant the staff sometimes seemed a little disinterested. It wasn't that they were unfriendly, they were just, well a bit too cool...

All that said, we had a relaxing stay, and I'd really recommend the football trips they organise to watch a River Plate game too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlamdunkMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We have stayed at Five Cool Rooms twice, the second time in November 2008 for eight nights. It is one of the best locations for shopping and going out, though Palermo is far from downtown and other sights in BA. Taxis are still cheap, so it is not too much of an issue. Both times we stayed in a medium room, which is a bit more expensive, but the small rooms are seriously small. The hotel is very modern and clean, and the front desk is very friendly. The rooftop breakfast is nice, but could be a bit larger and better serviced. I would happily stay at Five Cool Rooms again. It is very hip, pleasant and serene.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed here in March '09 and loved it. The location is excellent for taking in the Palermo SOHO neighborhood. The rooms are totally cool and stylish. The rooftop terrace offers beautiful a perspective to the area, the lobby is fun, and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This hotel is basically a glorified, trendy youth hostel. It is totally overpriced for what it is. I'm surprised there were no bunk beds in the room. The room was tiny and cramped and made a New York City hotel room look like a football field. The staff were very cold and unfriendly. Housekeeping doesn't even replace the toiletries the following day!! I didn't care for the fact that when booking the hotel, their rates do NOT include a 21% tax. It was the only hotel in all of Argentina who quoted rates without including the sales tax.....very deceiving. The only thing that this hotel has got going for them is the location. I would definitely advise against staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAshmateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Let's start with the location - everyone talks about the location. It really is ideal... just two blocks east of Plaza Serrano and located in the middle of just about everything - restaurants, boutiques, bars - everything! Just two doors down is another hotel, SoHo All-Suites, as well.

The service was cordial although not "dazzling" like the BoBo. The front desk staff were always willing to help and to provide some insight although I can't say they would really go out of their way. Next to the front desk was the lounge area with a TV, books and cool furniture. Outside were a patio, some chairs and a hammock. A nice area to hang out, particulary on cool comfortable nights. Up two flights of stairs was the breakfast area, terrace and jacuzzi. Breakfast was relatively straightforward but provided everything I needed for a quick stay.

I opted for one of the large rooms (#101 on the ground floor) at $150 USD/night. The room had plenty of space - cool, minimalist furnishings and a reasonable amout of storage space. The bathroom was nice and open with a very large shower but no bathtub (don't really care about that). The bed was very comfortable and the A/C was more than effective - it actually would get pretty cold. Wi-Fi was available pretty much anywhere on the property and I would use my laptop in the lobby area, in my room and on the terrace. I can't speak for the other rooms but would pass the small rooms often and, yes, they were quite small. Spend an extra $20-30/night for a bigger room.

Overall, I was pleased. Given my later experience at the Presidente, Five Cool Rooms was a great hotel and I would definitely recommend it. The location is ideal, the rooms (so long as you upgrade) are reasonable and the overall experience made the expense worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

There are probably only 5 'cool' rooms in this boutique hotel. The other rooms are very small; fine if you are taking a weekend bag and staying in bed.
Staff prefer the subtle approach and you could go unnoticed; however when we asked them for any advice / money changing / telephone calls.. they were more than helpful.
root terrace is lovely & breakfast was sweet & simple.
rooms don't have a mini bar and there's no room service available. there is a very nice bakery across the road and a store selling booze around the corner.
Location is great for shopping / cafe culture.
Value for money??? well if you can afford to go for the larger rooms with terrace then yes. bear in mind you are paying for a 'design' hotel; but i'm not sure a few artsy books in the foyer qualifies for that anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BelfastLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#372 of 442 in Buenos Aires
338 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#353 of 442 in Buenos Aires
125 reviews
Palermo
1555 Malabia House
1555 Malabia House
#113 of 442 in Buenos Aires
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
#152 of 442 in Buenos Aires
168 reviews
Palermo
Infinito Hotel
Infinito Hotel
#181 of 442 in Buenos Aires
206 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Palermitano by DON
Hotel Palermitano by DON
#116 of 442 in Buenos Aires
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Cool Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Cool Rooms

Address: Honduras 4742 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Cool Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the core of Palermo Soho, Five Cool Rooms opens its doors to offer guests a different experience at the moment of choosing where to stay. With a simple, cozy decoration and some auctochthonous touches, it provides everything necessary to enjoy a pleasant stay. Cable TV, individual temperature control, wireless Internet and private parking are some of the most outstanding services. It is surrounded by the best restaurants in the city. It has 16 rooms, 5 of which are equipped with hydromassage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Five Cool Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Cool Rooms Hotel Buenos Aires
5 Cool Rooms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing