We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, comfortable & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo
Ranked #82 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bonito is a great, quirky, arty, B&B, close to some great restaurants, bars & entertainment. It's only a few blocks from Plaza Dorrégo with it's nightly tango dancing, eateries & bars, plus it's walking distance to Puerto Madero & Plaza de Mayo.
The staff were wonderful, friendly & helpful, Yanina booked us on several tours & recommended places to visit.
Breakfast was fantastic, fresh squeezed juice, coffee, breads & croissants, sliced meats & cheeses, dulcé de leché, fresh fruit, & the company of other travellers- we met some wonderful people, who we have since visited in their home town in Austria!
The rooms are quirky, comfortable & clean, yes- they could use a little maintenance, but it was so cheap, & we loved it! Probably not the place to stay if you have knee problems- there are a lot of stairs, but they enabled us to continue eating those mammoth breakfasts & not feel too guilty!
We stayed 5 days, & would definitely stay again if in Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Bonito San Telmo is a unique and quirky B&B;. It has a main floor consisting of a living room with a piano, a small reception area, a capacious kitchen, a dining room with a large table, and two bedrooms. There are five other bedrooms or suites on two or three upper floors connected by a warren of indoor and outdoor spiral metal staircases., most have nice terraces. The owner is an artist and the units are decorated with original murals and other art by her artist friends. It is located on the edge of trendy but gritty San Telmo where caution at night is advisable. It is reasonably close to central Buenos Aires—we could walk to the Casa Rosada in a half hour or so. There is a supermarket across the street; the nearest metro (subte) stop is a fifteen minute walk.
The good: the rooms and terraces are charming and inviting, the reception staff speaks Engish and is very helpful, the breakfasts are great, and there is a very nice kitchen for those who want to cook. The price is reasonable.
The not so good: There is no staff person present at night, you are given a phone number to call if there is an emergency. If someone forgets to close the outer door when coming in so that it locks, anyone can enter. Our room door locked but would not have kept anyone out. We were the only guests in the Bonito one night and felt vulnerable.
There are two long flights of stairs from the street up to the reception floor and one or more narrow circular metal stairs up from there to most of the bedrooms. If you are old and have heavy luggage, this will be a challenge (note that the lady at the reception will probably offer to help carry the luggage). Also, if you are staying on one of the upper floor bed rooms it would be very hard to evacuate in the event of a fire.
We stayed in the Martha room—a room with two double bed mattresses sunk in wooden platforms, each in its own alcove decorated with cool murals. While the room was charming, it was awkward for us retirees to get off and on the mattresses because we had to crawl over the wooden platforms.
The maid did not change our towels, which got progressively wetter during our four day stay, even when we left them on the floor.

Room Tip: When you arrive don’t expect to find a sign at the entrance; go by the street address. Even if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesnoyerPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at this B&B for the first and last two nights of our visit to Argentina and Uruguay in the Louise room and loved the overall feel for the place. The B&B was - my overall favourite of all our accomodations. The location was excellent could walk easily to many great restaurants, shopping, nice grocery accross the street with everything you need. Breakfast served by an english speaking and very polite professional young staff member each morning, good coffees, fruit, croissants... alway interesting people and conversations around the breakfast table. Staff was always helpful, responsive. Air conditioning, hot water, nice clean sheets and towels. There wasn't a closet or drawers however lots of room to layout your luggage

Room Tip: We stayed in Louise just above the dining room, slept like a baby... you could over hear people in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnipeg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights and enjoyd every one of them. Freshly made breakfast as long as you eat before noon. Easy to get in contact with other guests, both young and older. This B & B is very charming and have very nice special rooms. We had one with private terrace and the bathroom was "on top of our bed"!

If we go back to BA we will surely stay there again and recomend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sturle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here for few days after a long flight. Place feels more of a really nice hostel than a traditional hotel. It's entrance is more like one to a private house and might be hard to find, especially in the night time. We luckily had asked for their taxi service in advance and didn't have any problems. Rooms are a bit worn, but nice and clean. Our room was faced away from the Shower worked good and there was hot water. There was no bidé though. Staff was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included and it was good. Location is great and you'll find plenty of shops and restaurants just around the corner. Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIN_C0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I don't really consider this a hotel.
It is more of "rooms for rent" situation. There is no staff per se, just some pleasant young women that are sometimes there.
I can understand if you just stayed the day, it would be alright.
The four rooms are greatly variable in quality. Because we were staying a long time, we got the worst one with DYI plumbing and dreadful run down furniture. Sort of like student digs.
Other rooms seemed nicer.
Our decoration was Having a huge nude male bum on my ceiling; not really my thing!
The "breakfast" is a cup of coffee and stale croissant.
The location is a bit tricky as the sightseeing BA starts a 30 minute walk away. It is NOT in San Telmo at all: check your map not theirs. There are lots of little restaurants nearby but the border of the advancing slums is only a couple of blocks away. Luckily, taxis are very cheap and plentiful.
However, the real issue is noise. There are three 70s boom boxes in and around the building that can take off 24/7, there is a noisy wholesale fruit market just below the windows that starts at 5:00AM and there is a very noisy traffic light just below where the cars have to stop with their stereos going full blast all night. Therefore our overall experience was one of sleep deprivation.

Room Tip: Much, much better options in BA. Get the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chamkarnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed there for two nights with my boyfriend. The hotel is great, the decoration is amazing, lots of character. The staff were incredibly friendly and immensely helpful. The breakfast was wonderful.
We stayed in Liesl which had our own terrace and our own balcony, great for the evenings.Great value.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Liesl has its own private terrace and probably is the most private of all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuanaJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#68 of 443 in Buenos Aires
406 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#27 of 443 in Buenos Aires
842 reviews
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#178 of 443 in Buenos Aires
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Buco Home & Residences
Buco Home & Residences
#21 of 256 in Buenos Aires
45 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Babel
Hotel Babel
#135 of 443 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
San Telmo
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
Lina's Tango Guesthouse
#8 of 256 in Buenos Aires
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo

Address: Avenida Juan de Garay 458 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1153ABP, Argentina (Formerly The Cocker)
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £51 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five elegant suites surrounded by stunning roof gardens set in a newly restored art nouveau townhouse. All rooms uniquely styled, with antique furnishings, en-suite wet-rooms and modern fittings, and two have private gardens. In the heart of San Telmo, the historical district of central Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonito Buenos Aires, San Telmo Hotel Buenos Aires
Cocker Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing