We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best deal in the area”
Review of Art Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Suites
Ranked #135 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“One of the best deal in the area”
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I spent three nights last weekend at Art Suites. All the staffs there are very friendly and taking care of guest very nicely. Most of the staffs speak very good English and helpful. Thanks to Manuel, the gate keeper, for numbers of suggestions for tourists. Very, very helpful and heads-up for any potential risks.

I got Executive Suite, room 9B, which is 1BR suite. The room is very spacious and spotlessly clean. It's not very new but nicely maintained, very comfortable. Kitchen is equipped with kettles, pots and pans with dishes and silverware, so I could make my own Cafe con Leche (milk coffee) whenever I wish. Beverages, snacks and daily products are easily found at supermarket on the other side of the street or glossary store next to the hotel.
Breakfast was brought to the room every morning. I requested the milk hot even a microwave is equipped in the kitchen, but they did it for me anyway. The continental breakfast, a pot of coffee and two croissants, was very appropriate because the dinner there was always late and big portions.
There are very good restaurants in walking distance. For example, Granda Bistro is a nice and cozy French cuisine where is block and half away from the hotel, great steak grill Lodi Bar was several blocks away where serves traditional and superb steaks at reasonable prices.

One thing I experienced on negative side was a speed of the Internet connection. Both Wi-Fi and CAT5E connections were not speedy enough for browsing US websites. Not a big deal for me though.

It was a season of jacaranda blossoms. Buenos Aires is beautifully colored with those lavender flowers everywhere. I will be booking next year's flight soon, and book Art Suites again. Thank you again for the great hospitality!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koba-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    175
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
132
179
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marin County CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed at the Art Suites Hotel after mistakenly booking into the Art Hotel which is just up the street. While the Art Hotel was charming albeit more expensive the room was tiny and my boyfriend is a big guy so we moved onto the Art Suites. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was actually a small apartment with a desk, couch, small kitchen, balcony and separate bedroom. We had SPACE!! The location was fabulous and central. It was quiet and safe too. We could walk to most sites from the hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The price was $120 US per night, cheaper than the smaller place we had stayed in prior so we were happy with that. The apartment was clean and tidy. A continental breakfast was brought to our door every morning, what a treat. There is a grocery store right next store so we were able to buy wine, water and snacks for our room. There are also various restaurants within walking distance. You can't go wrong with this hotel/ aparment in my book.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Our recent stay at Art Suites Hotel exceded our expectations. Although the decor is somewhat sterile, the cleanliness and spaciousness of the suite more than made up for it. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. They spoke excellent English and were more than happy to help with reservations, transportation, and directions. We left for a side trip for three nights before returning to Buenos Aires, and they let us leave part of our luggage there while we were gone. The price was more than reasonable, and included a Continental breakfast which was delivered to our room at the time of our choosing. The entry to the hotel was locked at all times, but there was always someone at the front desk to buzz us in. The location was excellent and we were able to walk to many of the sights. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We stayed at Art Suites three times during out stay in Argentina. We made the initial reservation based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very satisfied with the suite, its location and the numerous people at the hotel who provided invaluable assistance to us during our visits. We traveled to tropical Iguazu and snowy Ushuaia in Tierra del Fuego and it was great to have a home away from home to which we could return and where we could leave a suitcase with extra clothing. Art Suites is centrally located in the Recoleta area of Buenos Aires. With the help of German at the front desk, who was always available to answer our many questions, we were able to navigate the city using buses and the SUBTE subway system. It is worth taking the latter just for the murals. New York subways were never like this. Buenos Aires is a great walking town and it is possible to take a leisurely stroll to downtown from the hotel. We never felt unsafe walking at night because this upscale area seemed crowded with people all the time. I was pleased that there was little street noise and we were always able to get a good night sleep in the comfortable, king sized bed. It was great to be able to peruse the maps over a quiet cup of tea in the morning when I invariably woke up before my husband. If you go, ask German about the local restaurants. He recommended a great one in San Telmo. He is a wealth of information and can explain why ATMs don't work certain days, why it is important to collect as much change as possible and to get advice on tango shows. I would suggest Art Suites to anyone interested in a comfortable, friendly environment that is both safe and central.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I agree with most reviews. Good points are staff, apt layout and the full kitchen. Low points... not really low points, but the furniture could use and upgrade, but it's just a minor complaint.

We got the two bedroom penthouse and, having no ceiling above us made for a very nice outdoor space.

One observation... even if, for Buenos Aires, prices are OK, hotels in BA are usually too expensive in comparison with how DIRTY CHEAP everything else is in the city. But that's not something we can change.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafabozzolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Afetr spending a few nights in a Hotel in Palermo we decided to try a spot of 'self catering' in Recoletta by renting one of the apartments here for 8 nights.

We were luck enough to be upgraded to a 2 bed apartment as there were no 'executive' rooms available so we had bags of space to spread out and make the place feel a little more like a base rather than just living out of a suitcase. Layout wise the apartments are straightforward and it was great to have en-suite bathrooms and it was really handy to have our own kitchen even though someone brought us breakfast every morning. Particularly when you have a supermarket next door and another across the road.

Our towels were changed daily and bed linen every few days.

All the staff here were extremely happy to help when we needed it (particularly Herman on reception) so getting restaurants booked when never a problem.

Locationwise it's not the liveliest part of town but cabs were dirt cheap compared to back in the UK so happy to get one whenever we wanted to go further afield (San Telmo, Palermo etc) but everywhere else was within a reasonable walking distance. In particular Recoletta cemetery and the Bullrich shopping Mall are both within easy walking distance.

All the local restaurants we visited were OK though none really stood out from the crowd as being exceptional.

Overall I'd recommend this place a good place to base yourself in if you want to spend more time getting under the skin of what it's like to actually 'live' in B.A. rather than just feel like yet another tourist.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firestormin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We liked the Art/Suites apar-hotel in Recoleta a lot. The rooms are minimally furnished but the essentials are there; reading lights on both sides of the Queen size bed; hair dryer in the bathroom; tea kettle in the kitchen; safe in the closet that is easy to work and enough closet space and shelves for storage. They bring breakfast when you call each morning and the one day the owner knew we were staying out really late, she told the breakfast ladies not to wake us up; good call!

The owner was kind enough to print something out for me and called to say she hadn't received it yet. Then, when she did receive it, she personally delivered the document to me. This isn't billed as a high-service place yet they do try very hard to meet all your needs; they give you good security and breakfast and a terrific list of local amenities including great restaurants you should definitely visit. They will order you a cab and recommend places to visit.

We had two great French meals at places on their list (we wanted to avoid eating steak every night) and never had trouble finding a radio taxi on our block. There is a small grocery store, a meat market and a vegetable stand right on the block and a laundry a half block away so you can get anything you need just steps from your door. Location is great; you are a short walk from shopping with the Portenos on Santa Fe; you are a short walk from the Recoleta market on weekends and we walked to the Recoleta cemetery as well. Our nephew rented two DVDs at the rental place on this block so apparently it wasn't hard to set up an account even if you aren't staying in that neighborhood. I always felt safe walking around the area by myself - just watch out for dog poo as picking up isn't required.

The front desk/security workers are very nice and helpful. Especially German (said Herman). He spoke perfect English and got us a cell phone rental delivered right to our room and we just left the phone at the front desk when we departed the city. The beds and easy chairs/sofa weren't the most comfy ever. The place is a bargain place for what you get - tons of space and breakfast delivered and great location. We would have had to spend over a hundred forty dollars more per night for a fancier place with a plush bed and chairs and they probably would have charged us $10/day for internet connection. At Art Suites it wasn't wireless but we had a good high speed internet connection and our little laptop fit nicely into the safe.

Speaking of the safe, one day we stupidly forgot to close and lock the safe before going out. A ton of cash and jewelry, passports, etc. were right there for a cleaning person to take and nothing was touched. So I think this is a very secure place to stay and they are eager to satisfy the customer. A discount is offered if you pay in cash. The lighting is good in the unit, both natural light and light fixtures in bathroom and elsewhere. I preferred to spend those dollars we didn't spend on the fancy hotel on beautiful leather goods on Florida street near Plaza San Martin. Enjoy your trip!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JBinBeantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#44 of 447 in Buenos Aires
312 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
387 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Alta Piazza
Alta Piazza
#76 of 447 in Buenos Aires
245 reviews
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#159 of 447 in Buenos Aires
566 reviews
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
#88 of 447 in Buenos Aires
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Suites

Property: Art Suites
Address: Azcuenaga 1465, Buenos Aires C1115AAM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#103 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ART SUITES & GALLERY, offer business and leisure travelers alike, all the comforts of home in the stylish neighborhood of Recoleta, the residential heart of the City of Buenos Aires. Home away from home + hotel services! Surrounded by trendy shops, museums, bars and restaurants, PLUS AN easy access to the city’s financial district and the bohemian neighborhood of Palermo. Their fully equipped apartments feature spacious interiors, contemporary decor and sun-filled balconies. The recently inaugurated GALLERY SUITES is located only two blocks away from its predecessor, ART SUITES and retains the same high quality standards of hospitality. Additionally, it adds a multi-use venue for art and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing