We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
119
155
64
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
155
64
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location common areas wifi signal nice place to stay san telmo within walking distance croissants shower subway floor
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I was travelling alone and booked a private room and was very happy with my stay. Staff were great, the free tours were with amazing guides who were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable (one of the best I've been on for a long time). The rooftop bar was a great way to socialise, meet people and end a night. I was a bit weary in staying in a hostel by myself being a female but my trip to BA couldn't have gone better thanks to Portal Del Sur!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Cosmopolitan230584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hello there, hope you're doing great!
Thank you so much for your words, they mean a lot to us. There isn't a better feeling that knowing that we're making our lovely guests happy! It was our pleasure to meet you and feel free to comeback anytime soon!
Safe travels and have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The Portal del Sur is a delight. Although it's run down, it has charm, notably in the ancient timber lift (possibly from the time of the Spanish Conquistadores). The staff were all friendly and helpful; nothing seemed too much bother for them. Their English was excellent, and our Spanish was enough to break the ice with them.

This is obviously not a five-star hotel; but the room was clean, the beds were all right and the atmosphere was pleasant. The location is central to many of the sights.

On the down side, our room (301) was at the front of the hotel, and the sound of diesel buses into the night was disruptive. Be sure to ask for a room not at the front. But we were tired enough each day to sleep despite the noise, which eventually died down. The air conditioning helped a lot.

Several things could be improved. The beds sagged; the mattresses need to be replaced with new ones. The bathroom was not supplied with a bathmat; we used the hand towel as a bathmat. The shower, while warm enough, was too small, and the shower curtain did not hold the water in; as a result, water pooled on the floor after each shower and did not drain away into the floor waste. Finally, although breakfast is included, it's not adequate: it needs to feature more variety, notably of cereals and fruits, and much less of the refined carbohydrates apparently favoured in BA hotels.

Good value for money. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front on account of the bus route in the street.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi there Matt, hope it's all good with you!
Thank you so much for your review. We're really happy to hear that you had a wonderful tiume while staying with us. That's our goal!
We'll keep in mind the things you pointed out to improve our service to make our lovely guests to feel more comfortable.
Safe travels and enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed Dec 11-14th and it was hot. Thankfully we had an AC unit but our roommate didn't like it on so our room was hot. The WiFi sucks, girls bathroom was decent, mens was dirty. Shower pressure and temperature were awesome - best in South America. Free water was great. Breakfast was bread, coffee, juice, orange or two and cereal (but they didn't have it the last day). I'd stay again for the price ($13.75 US)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TheNYCcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal d, Director General at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi there Miss Mendez, hope you're doing fine!
We're glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure for us to meet you and help you out the best possible way!
Thanks for your review and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner in a private room, had a tv and aircon, only issue was the shower, just a drizzle and barely hot but other than that, staff are really helpful and friendly and speak perfect English. There's an awesome open common area but the best part was the cool little rooftop bar overlooking the city!
Would definitely recommend this place :)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi there Rani!
Hope it's all good with you!
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay, and let us tell you that you're always welcome.
We're sorry about the shower, if we knew you had that problem during your stay we would definitely give you a solution.
Safe travels and enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This place was in a great location for exploring the city and the staff all super friendly. We were recommended an amazing steak restaurant by one of them and it didn't disappoint. They know their area. The hostel is in a beautiful old building that's been converted, complete with original elevator, balconies etc.

Breakfast was good - coffee, tea, hot chocolate, squash, bread, toast, medialunas, cream cheese, ham and dulce de leche and served for a decent amount of time in the roof terrace/bar.

Organised activities every night, except the weekend, make it a good hostel for solo travellers to meet others. However... I was in room 410 and whilst comfortable enough, despite asking for it to be looked at, the bath in our bathroom (6 bed dorm) leaked whenever you had a shower, hot water was intermittent, and the door didn't shut! The bunks are very old and rickety so you definitely disturb one another if you get up early/come home late/turn over.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal d, Director de Recepción at Portal del Sur Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi there Jess, hope you're doing great!
We're glad to hear that in general you had a nice stay in with us, and thank you so much for your review, it help us to improve your facilities & services.
We're already working on the things you pointed out so next time you'll have a even better stay!
See you soon and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews