We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
233
52
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
52
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestscroissantsspent a weekrooms are cleannice breakfastarielpalermobatango
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Me, my mother and my sister stayed 5 days at Palermo Viejo BB.
When I was planning my trip, at first I wanted to stay downtown, closer to the main touristic attractions, but choosing to stay at this BB was really the best thing to do.

The owner, Ariel, is a great BB owner. He and Ivana are very helpful and always available to give orientation with anything you need. We really enjoyed their suggestion to dinner at "La Cabrera" a great restaurant just a few blocks away from the BB. Although I was expecting a little more from the tango show at "Cafe Homero"

The room was a little bit small for 3 people, but it's not a problem to stay just a few days, it was very clean and the towels were changed every day. Breakfast is simple, not like in a hotel, but there is fresh orange juice, fruit, croissants, jams and dulce de leche ... great to start the day !!!

Palermo Viejo is really the best location to stay in Buenos Aires. There is no subway nearby ...it's about ten blocks, but you can go downtown by taxi (cost +- 7 or 8 us dollars, depending on the destination).
And the best thing to do is to WALK and explore the streets near the BB. There are lots of stores, bars and nice restaurants !!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

My wife and I had a 5 night stay here at the end of January and enjoyed the hospitality and help from Ariel and Ivana. I agree with previous reviews that this is a very clean place and Ariel helps very much to organize your days to get the most out of your stay in BA. This is a very laid back place and you can come and go as you please as you have your own front door key.
It's location is on the door step from lots of great restaurants, my paricular favourite was LA CABRERA ( booking essential ), amazing steaks, the portions as in most restaurants in Argentina are huge so check when ordering as one meal is usually enough for 2 people. BA is a big city but taxis are really cheap to get around.
I would recommend this lovely B&B to anyone, but remember it is a B&B not a hotel though the sevice you get exceeds most hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Beardsmore-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

First off, I must say that all the positive reviews preceding mine are absolutely true about this impeccably clean and well maintained urban B&B. Palermo Viejo’s owner-operator, Ariel, is one in a million – a man who has truly found his calling. The level of care and assistance that Ariel provides to his guests far exceeds that of luxury hotels ten times the price. With authentic sincerity, in-depth knowledge about his native Argentina, and an effortless charm, Ariel answers questions and solves problems as quickly as they come at him – and he can do so in several languages. Ariel’s staff is equally friendly and accommodating. Care is taken in everything they do, including squeezing your fresh orange juice the morning you wake up, not the night before.

The location of this B&B turned out to be an ideal base for exploring the rest of Argentina (we had initially wanted to book something downtown). Internal flights (i.e. to Iguazu Falls or Ushuaia) leave not from EZE but from AEP, a cheap, 10-minute cab ride from this B&B. This convenience was a delightful surprise! I also came to appreciate staying in a real neighborhood rather than a tourist district (not to mention the savings). Ariel’s neighborhood is full of useful shops and services and it has some of the best restaurants and nightlife in the city. Palermo Viejo’s location alone would make it a good base from which to explore Argentina. Having Ariel at the helm makes it an ideal one.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vermonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

I've just returned from a long weekend in Buenos Aires and can highly recommend the Palermo Viejo B&B. It is a boutique B&B in a converted house which has been stylishly renovated and designed by the owner/manager Ariel.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, light and comfortable with art by local artists on the wall. There are wonderful little touches such as the lovely toiletries, and the delicious breakfast which is served when you wake up and the fact that you get your own key to the front door which really makes you feel at home and not in a hotel. The staff are wonderful, speak perfect English and only too happy to help with recommendations for tourist attractions and places to go that aren’t on the obvious tourist trail.

It’s a very short walk from the heart of Palermo Viejo with its shops, bars, restaurants and cafes and a very easy location from which to explore the rest of Buenos Aires. Booking through their site, www.palermoviejobb.com is really straightforward.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cachagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

I traveled to Buenos Aires with two friends. We were all quite happy at Palermo Viejo. It's in a good location-- close to shopping, good restaurants, etc. The place is clean and very comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are good. Ariel was very helpful to help book events and suggest restaurants. And he was also very accommodating to keep luggage for a few days while we traveled to other locations in Argentina and Chile before eventually flying back out of Buenos Aires. I highly recommend this place!

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank sid0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews