We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 260 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We began and ended our three-month stay in Argentina at this lovely, low-key B&B. We stayed for three days in early December 2013 after a long flight from Alaska. We were welcomed warmly by the owner Ariel. Our double room was comfortable and clean with sweet bath amenities of loofah, pumice and soap. The wifi was convenient and worked well. The open courtyard was a plus for us in the cool of the evenings in Buenos Aires. Little did we know that the breakfast would be one of the best at B&Bs in Argentina! Continental style with fresh pastries/bread, butter, yogurt, lovely fresh fruit, good coffee and even a choice of cooked egg. Ariel is a wonderful host with good suggestions of activities around Palermo and BA. He went out of his way to help us by arranging a wonderful weekend stay in Tigre. When our journey ended in early March 2014, we looked forward to another overnight stay at our home away from home. We were refreshed for our trip home. Many thanks to Ariel for his hospitality.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AK_snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in this beautiful B&B for 10 days over Spring Break. it is perfect in so many ways -- it is centrally located in a safe and fun area of Buenos Aires, the decor is fun and eclectic, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was tasty, AND the owner (Ariel) was so friendly and knowledgeable. In fact, he helped us plan our daily trips in more detail, and really went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. We learned a lot about the history of Buenos Aires from him as well - he really knows a TON about his city, and is so happy to share this information with his out-of-town guests.
If you are looking to stay in a place that has the magnificent essence of Buenos Aires, do not even hesitate to book your stay at Palermo Viejo!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Totally love the B & B. Felt right at home during our stay here and well taken care of by our host. Thanks to Ariel, we were promptly and safely transported from the airport to the B&B by pre-arranged drivers, despite arriving in Buenos Aires in the wee hours due to a flight delay followed by misconnection. Breakfast was lovely with servings of homemade jams with hot croissants/bread, egg, cereals, yoghurt and hot coffee/tea. Ariel gave us valuable advice on getting around the city, introduced a cambio which offers an excellent exchange rate (compared to what we got at the airport), not forgetting a superb dinner recommendation at Calden’s! I would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank buckbuck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed with my husband and two kids in one of the family rooms- a full and two twin beds- very comfortable, great breakfast, lots of good suggestions for what to do- a great (and affordable) place to stay in buenos aires!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoTweenKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We, a group of 6 adults, stayed here twice (3 rooms, 3 Nights + 1Night) in late Feb 2014.
On arrival our host Ariel was waiting for us. After a quick tour and info of how things worked we asked where on Sunday we could change currency. The local money changer's Kiosk is just around the corner but being Sunday afternoon was not open. Not to worry, Ariel lent us Pesos enough to get started. We were able to return the loan the following day. This was the first of many services that Ariel helped us out with- booking Taxis, recommending restaurants, giving directions etc
The Good:
(1) Location is great. A quiet street, easy to find with restaurants, laundromat, convenience stores (sell wine!!), coffee shops, bakeries etc all within easy walking distance.The area felt safe to walk in the evening
(2) Breakfast is more than adequate served by a friendly staff member who provided eggs, cereal, bread, coffee, fruit, juice etc
(3)Rooms are clean, bed is reasonably comfortable, bathroom fixtures work with plenty of hot water. There is a small refrigerator and the room has air-conditioning.There is a TV which I must confess did not have the time to watch.
(4) There is free wi-fi and a computer with printer setup in the common room.The wi-fi extends to about the three closest rooms to the common room (Hint to Ariel: get a wi-fi extender/repeater)
(5) The host, Ariel, does not live on the property but a four minute walk away. He is very helpful, accommodating and approachable.
Not so good:
Mosquitoes are around in the evening hours. Very manageable by closing the windows before dusk. There is a plug-in repellant in the room.
Wish I had known:
That Ariel is so helpful and accommodating. I should have contacted him in advance instead of booking a lot of our transportation in advance on line. It would have saved my 35-50% of the cost as cutting out the middle man (big company) and dealing in pesos makes it much more cost-effective.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our flight out of Buenos Aires was cancelled and we found Viejo as a last-minute accommodation. Ariel was wonderful. He came back to check us in. As our flight was scheduled early the next morning and it was too late to let his helpers know to come early to get breakfast for us, he left us some food, milk, yogurt, etc in our room so we could still have breakfast before making our way to the airport. Since we arrived late and left early, we did not get the chance to visit around the area, which was unfortunate as it was in a central location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I probably don't have to write any more because my return for yet another year speaks for itself.
I feel very at home here and Ariel, the owner, continues to be as warm and friendly as ever. He is always helpful. His guests are from all over the world which makes for very interesting conversation if you so desire. You can also be comfortable with the serenity and quiet if that suits you. I know the neighborhood well now and am familiar with the public transit system so I feel like a local sometimes. I will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arrowsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,469 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,981 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Republica Palermo
Hotel Republica Palermo
#13 of 260 in Buenos Aires
141 reviews
La Querencia de Buenos Aires
#4 of 260 in Buenos Aires
218 reviews
Palermo
Abode Buenos Aires
Abode Buenos Aires
#1 of 260 in Buenos Aires
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Cnel Niceto Vega 4629, Buenos Aires C1414BEA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish B&B in the heart of Palermo Viejo/Soho. The house is located in a 1901 building, traditional of those days in Buenos Aires neighborhoods. The Casa Chorizo has been renewed keeping its original style. High ceilings, brick and thick walls are one of the details to mention. As a narrow landmark the rooms are organized in a row, facing the side patio/garden full of green where hanging out after a long day is a must. All the rooms have private en-suite bathroom and two of them are big enough with a double level to accommodate more than two people, perfect for 3 or 4. The art work of different artists is found everywhere in the property which gives it a Bohemian atmosphere. The decor is simple, where each item was found in flea markets and auctions to make the B&B a warm and a perfect place to feel at home away of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Palermo Viejo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palermo Viejo Hotel Buenos Aires
Palermo Viejo Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing