We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff -- read this story”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Ranked #157 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 15 December 2012

When it was time to leave - reception called for a taxi---no answer. It was 6PM and busier than we anticipated. The manager went onto the street attempting to get us a cab-- no luck. He then walked to a main street convincing a driver to take us to the airport. 90 minutes later we arrived at EZE barely making our flight. If we had been left on our own to get a cab, who knows?
We really appreciated the extra effort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We found a discounted rate for this hotel online and, although it was completely fine for the price we paid and for a single night, I wouldn't recommend it otherwise. Our room was small and a bit tired-looking (except for the bathroom, which had been nicely renovated). We also weren't able to access the internet, and were told that it was because we were in a corner room and the signal couldn't reach that far.

There wasn't much else specifically wrong with the hotel, but it's certainly not up to North American or European 4-star standards and there are far better bases from which to explore Buenos Aires. (The Centro neighborhood is also far from ideal--fine during the day, but empty and borderline creepy after dark.)

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms on upper floors if you need to use the Internet. Wifi signals don't reach the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Good location near from Subway Station and Colon Theatre, but daunting neighbourhood at night. Sober and neat rooms, without luxury . Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast that becomes repetitious as the days go by, because the menu was always strictly the same.
But the main problem is: it is a little bit noisy. We were in the seventh floor nevertheless could hear the Subway roar.
P.S.: Caution with Taxi drivers in Buenos Aires, they try to steal your shopping bags!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorBiktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here as part of a group of 16 and found the current status of the hotel unacceptable. I had read similar reviews before staying and reported these to our tour company but they indicated that they had not had previous negative reports. Well, they will get 10 from our group.

The location is convenient to Plaza de Mayo, Florida Street, and subte, but on a dingy and dark section of Esmerelda. Walk in pairs or groups.

Room was not clean, although linens appeared to be. Two bath and one hand towel provided for two people which were dingy, gray and one had a huge hole in it. Such a towel in my house would be in the rag bin.
Safe in our room did not work. when I reported this, I was told that it probably needed a new battery but the staff was unable to help with this. They offered to keep my passport at the front desk but had no suggestions for valuables. This is a big problem since you do not want to walk around Buenos Aires with valuables due to the high incidence of pickpockets and robbery. Others in our group also had difficulty with safes.

Our room had no hair dryer although there was a wall mount for one.
Housekeeping staff was nowhere to be seen. Staffing inadequate - 2 to cover all of the guests' requests at the front desk, bar, and restaurant.

Breakfast adequate variety but not quantity. While breakfast is set until 10 a.m., by 9 a.m. the quantities of food are inadequate. Our tour leader arranged for a very early breakfast one day because we had a 6 a.m. flight. 8 yougurts, a bit of coffee and 10 bananas were provided for a group of 17.

I understand that management has changed recently and staff has left. This could be an explanation but not an excuse, especially for a hotel with a 3 or 4 star rating.

I will strongly recommend to our tour company to cease using this hotel for their Buenos Aires stays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Someone in our party of 16 had an iPad stolen from the small breakfast restaurant. He left for a few minutes and realized he had left it in the restaurant. Upon his return, it was gone and never recovered. If this were the only incident could be attributed to chance, but the following day we spoke to some people in another group that were just leaving. A couple of days earlier they had a camera and a purse stolen from different tables while they were at the breakfast bar getting their food. The response of the front desk staff was miserable. In general the front desk staff was rude and could have cared less. This was typical of all our contact with them, not only regarding the theft. Out of 3-4 front desk personnel that we encountered only one was cordial all the time. He probably was new!

The balcony window in our room could not be locked. It appeared to have been forced open in the past due to the indentation and marks on the door.. After no response from from the front desk to send someone to lock the door, our tour leader came up and with a small screwdriver managed to reset the screws which locked the door. Others in our group of 16 had similar problems with windows and balcony doors that didn't lock. Two had their rooms changed while others could not get their rooms changed. After the incidents with the thefts and broken window/balcony locks we never felt safe leaving our belongings in the hotel.

We understand that the travel company that used this hotel frequently during the season has already made arrangements to use another hotel in the future.

4 stars? Hardly!!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joe928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The room was fine. Clean. Breakfast was average. Front desk was indifferent. We were traveling with a group and were warned that there was a lot of pick pocketing in the area. In spite of the warnings one of the people in the group had his daypack stolen and was without his passport until he could get to the US embassy to replace it. Since this happened on a weekend it took a few days. This meant he missed several days of the tour as the rest of the group went on to the next location and he met us later. If you stay here (it is convienient for walking to see several places) watch your valuables carefully! One night there were people talking in the patio garden of the hotel until 3AM. We were right above this patio and found this kept us awake.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalicoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had a terrible experience in this hotel. The service is horrible, unfriendly staff, they gave us torn bath towels, hair dryer did not work. I would give this hotel a one star. We went to breakfast around 8:30 AM and most of the items were over.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roopa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolás
Reconquista Plaza
Reconquista Plaza
#264 of 440 in Buenos Aires
375 reviews
San Nicolás
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#107 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,453 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#141 of 440 in Buenos Aires
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#209 of 440 in Buenos Aires
376 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#116 of 440 in Buenos Aires
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reconquista Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reconquista Garden

Address: Calle Esmeralda 675 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1007ABE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#39 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#82 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £27 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reconquista Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reconquista Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reconquista Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing