We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, but a little dated...”
Review of BA Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BA Central Hotel
Ranked #168 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here just for one night between my flight into Buenos Aires and out to Iguazu the next morning. The staff was very helpful, even with my poor Spanish.

The room was ok. The bed was comfy, the wifi worked great, and I even managed to find a couple of TV stations that were in Engish (with Spanish subtitles to help me with my Spanish) :)

The rooms are a little dated, and if you're looking for 5-Star, this definitely isn't it, but it was clean and did the trick.

One thing that would have made my stay a little better was if the front desk had a basic tourist map of BA. I arrived on a red-eye flight into BA, so at 10 am, my room wasn't ready, which I was prepared for, but it would have been nice to have even one of those cheesy little cartoon maps to help me get my bearings while I wandered around waiting for my room to be ready.

I did come back at 12, even though check-in wasn't until 3. My room wasn't quite ready but they were very nice and directed me to a couch in the lobby, and my room was ready about 10 minutes later.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coug_chick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and although the room was basic, it was comfortable and clean. Centrally located and convenient. Friends stayed in another three star hotel with better room service, but not such friendly staff. Personalized and warm atmosphere. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel last May and its possibly the worst hotel we have ever experienced internationally, the rooms were dirty and the bedspreads were smelly, the bathroom was old and in all we had to endure 4 nights! We would not advise it a prefered place to stay, at night the area was very noisy at times felt not safe.
The staff spoke limited english and weren't that friendly. Our standards were possibly to high for what our travell agent had advised us off. Please consider other hotels this was the pitts!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel several different times and the staff is ALWAYS excellent, and I also noticed that they are like this with every guest, I only have good things to say about them because they go out of their way to help the tourists, and they make you feel that you are surrounded by a friendly atmosphere! I cannot understand the only one bad review of Snowbird of Costa Rica, but I think he had mistaken this hotel for another, because he refers to the "carpet being iffy" and The Central Hotel Best Western do not have carpeted rooms, they all have shiny ceramic floors!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valijaslistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Only stayed one night and checked in at 1am straight from airport. Reception staff were helpful, breakfast was more than adequate and the hotel is only a short stroll to good restaurants and shopping.
I inquired about booking a couple more nights for when I came back from Iguazu and staff told me it was worth doing it over the Internet rather than face to face - unfortunately they were booked but I appreciated the honesty nonetheless.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandolfQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I were at this fantastic hotel last week. I have to say about it only good things. Full breakfast and tasty. Wifi not that fast but you have this service in your room at no extra charge. Rooms perfect size for us, very nice decorated, I felt I was right in Argentina since the very first time I opened up my room! Also restaurante around the area, the Subte (subway/metro station) is a walking distance, also the Corrientes street (theaters area) is steps away from BW Central. Casa Rosada, Parlamento, Plaza de Mayo and many sightseeings are close too. Staff very helpful and nice. Also an observation, many reviewers have said is an unsafe area at night but that's not true, we arrived safely 3 consecutive nights with no problem at all. Be more careful instead with taxi drivers who drive you around just to overcharge you. I would definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FEnriqueCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

It's a very simple hotel but what more do you need when you stay in a town like Buenos Aires: Just a good bed, a clean room and a good breakfast. This is all you need and what this hotel is offering you. The staff is very friendly and is always willing to help at all times. Breakfast is basic but good. We stayed here for 2 nights. Just a 10 minute walk away from the Congress building

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sienna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#203 of 443 in Buenos Aires
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#141 of 443 in Buenos Aires
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intersur Suites
Intersur Suites
#185 of 443 in Buenos Aires
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abasto Hotel
Abasto Hotel
#213 of 443 in Buenos Aires
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bauen Suite Hotel
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 443 in Buenos Aires
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lyon
Hotel Lyon
#291 of 443 in Buenos Aires
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Central Hotel

Address: Calle Junin 357, Buenos Aires C1026ABG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BA Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BA Central Hotel is a Three Star Hotel fully renovated, offering comfort and amenities by keeping its traditional style. The Hotel is ideally located in the center of the city just half block from the traditional Corrientes Avenue and close to the most famous theaters, cinemas, cafes, Tango shows, Abasto shopping and the emblematic Obelisco. BA Central Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers. Comfortable and spacious rooms, electronic security locks, cable TV, LCD 32'', working desk, mini-bar, individual air conditioner and central heating control, hairdryer, wi-fi and DDN/DDI lines. Our Suites have microwave and Penthouses have whirlpool bath and microwave. Our restaurant offers a buffet breakfast, in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel offers two meeting rooms for several capacities and set-ups. High technology equipment, personalized consulting and special menus that cover all the needs for every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BA Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monumental Hotel
Best Western Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing