We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly family run B&B in safe and central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Recoleta Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Recoleta Guest House
Ranked #78 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly family run B&B in safe and central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the Recoleta guest-house at the beginning and end of our 3 week Argentina trip and enjoyed our stay tremendously; waking up to the small of freshly baked bread, accompanied by home produced jam for breakfast, how special is that!! As other reviewers mentioned, the owners and staff are very attentive and take great care to make your stay enjoyable. They provided maps, advice, helped to top up our local phone sim (I don't speak Spanish), and provided local restaurant recommendations, which we enjoyed very much.

Free internet service is provided ( a PC as well as WIFI), both rooms were spacious, clean and functional. There was enough wardrobe space for two, air con, a safe in every room, a telly, as well as mosquito repellents. The bathrooms are basic (if a bit tired) but clean and functional with hot water in the morning and evening, plus a bidet..

It's walking distance to the famous Recolate Cemetery (where Evita Peron rests), the craft market (on Sundays), and Plaza Naciones Unidas (with the huge metal flower sculpture by Eduardo Catalo, that opens closes its petals with the sun).

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone; its an absolute gem and extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beekay_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
30
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

The elegance of the house itself is staggereingly beautiful!! The gentleman that owns it & his assistant are very helpful, knowledgeable & handsome!!! It is in an excellent location, very safe & it has the feel of a French chateau!! The breakfast is absolutely excellent...better than what I had in both Brazil & Uruguay!!! It is first class all the way, but very affordable!! Treat yourself to the Recoleta Guest House..do NOT DENY yourself!!! It is Buenes Aires at its best!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinabridges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We spent about 5 nights in the Recoleta Guest House and felt very fortunate to have found this gem in one of the nicest and quietest neighborhoods of Buenos Aires. Since it is on a uncongested street, there was no street noise so sleeping was a dream. Breakfast was delicious and substantial and the company of the other guests and staff made it delightful. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were walking distance to nearly any main Buenos Aires site and to the local (not EZE) airport. And just doors away we found what we thought was the best restaurant in town "Vinos y Sabores". Recoleta Guest House is a home, not a hotel and that's what make it so special. We highly recommend it! (And we've stayed in other Buenos Aires hotels)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wtkuehnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I returned to to Recoleta House for my second visit. The family and staff are extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. From figuring bus routes, to choosing a place to shop or see a tango show, they will help with every detail. Their resaurant recommenations are always superb. I enjoyed chatting with the other travellers and the breakfast served on the antique dinning table in a lovely setting. This place is well-priced and on a quiet safe street. They also offer free internet and use of a local phone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious with private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradpaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

This is a very nice simple lodging. It is run by a wonderful family. Students run the breakfast in the morning. You can use the microwave for your tea. You can put your label on your food and use the refrig. English is spoken. It is clean. Free internet on second floor of the building.I did get many mosquito bites. They know it is a problem and have a mosquito repellent device in the room. It is they only place in Argentina I got multiple bites. My room was spacious with a TV. Small in room safe included. The living room has a stereo that I played a new CD I bought. It was nice of them to let me hear the music. The living room can be used at your leisure and the dining room for your meals if you bring in take out. My room was the only one on the ground floor and next to patio where people would gather and smoke. That was really the only problem I would say was the smoking and talking on the patio that would come in my room. I wish they had double pane windows that would cut the noise and smoking smell. Every day I had to keep my window closed to find the cleaning lady would open it up when I got back from my touring.I had to keep the curtain closed for privacy since from the patio one can look in the room.
Otherwise I loved the place. It was safe. I would walk up a block for the bus or 4 block for the metro. I would stay here in a second with the warm hospitality and ease of use with a key to come in at anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishtea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We highly recommend this small hotel in Recoleta. It is situated in a quiet, safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. Close to many tourists attractions. Very clean, includes A/C, WiFi and a good breakfast all at a very reasonable price. Rodolfo, the owner, and Beltran, his right hand man, both speak very good English and are extremely helpful with planning your stay in Buenos Aires. We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip and again at the end and would certainly stay here again the next time we're in Buenos Aires. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rccranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, MI
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Small B&B (6 rms) in a safe upscale district of Buenos Aires. The staff speaks several languages and will bend over backwards to assist you and make your stay in BA enjoyable.
Breakfast was homemade bread, jams, rolls, juice and even an omelett. All rooms have a private bath and are clean and neat and very affordable. Restuarants and taxi's are nearby.

I would highly reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skb3840SpringLake_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Onze Hotel Boutique
Onze Hotel Boutique
#347 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Recoleta
cE Hotel de Diseno
cE Hotel de Diseno
#76 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#56 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
Ayacucho Palace Hotel
#300 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Recoleta
Studio Pueyrredon
Studio Pueyrredon
#157 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Recoleta
Recoleta Studios Buenos Aires
Recoleta Studios Buenos Aires
#99 of 484 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recoleta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recoleta Guest House

Property: Recoleta Guest House
Address: Calle Laprida 1821, Buenos Aires C1425EKQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family will be pleased to meet you in the lovely neighborhood of Recoleta. You will feel comfortable in our house and you will have all the facilities of living at your own. All our rooms have private bathroom, TV and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recoleta Guest House Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing