We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Recoleta Guest House
Ranked #92 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The people who run the guest house are most helpful with anything you might need and information on the city. Breakfast is served in the former family dining room. Not a North American breakfast, but rather bread of some kind, coffee, tea, fruit, jam. Once in a while you're offered an egg. Remember, you're in South America people.
The room was somewhat sparse but most adequate, extremely clean and quiet.
Location is superb in a posh neighborhood with great restaurants close by. I walked the whole city even though public transportation is very close by.
Loved this place!

Room Tip: I was told by another guest that the first floor rooms were a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoreenMorelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
30
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We enjoyed our first nights in B.A. at the Recoleta Guest House. The people were very nice; they even arranged to have a wine tasting session in the dining room for us. The Guest House is within walking distance of many nice shops, restaurants, and sights. We were able to use their computer to book our bus to Bariloche. Overall, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilburandcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Recoleta Guest House. The central location was perfect for Buenos Aires sight seeing. Nearby restaurants were wonderful! The breakfast was very generous and tasty. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Finally, the rates were remarkable; this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5CAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Three old gal pals traveling together were lucky enough to find this fabulous bed and breakfast. The location was perfect for walking to city destinations in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. The breakfast was delicioius! Be sure to ask Alejandro for his corn pie receipe. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymac221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the Recoleta guest-house at the beginning and end of our 3 week Argentina trip and enjoyed our stay tremendously; waking up to the small of freshly baked bread, accompanied by home produced jam for breakfast, how special is that!! As other reviewers mentioned, the owners and staff are very attentive and take great care to make your stay enjoyable. They provided maps, advice, helped to top up our local phone sim (I don't speak Spanish), and provided local restaurant recommendations, which we enjoyed very much.

Free internet service is provided ( a PC as well as WIFI), both rooms were spacious, clean and functional. There was enough wardrobe space for two, air con, a safe in every room, a telly, as well as mosquito repellents. The bathrooms are basic (if a bit tired) but clean and functional with hot water in the morning and evening, plus a bidet..

It's walking distance to the famous Recolate Cemetery (where Evita Peron rests), the craft market (on Sundays), and Plaza Naciones Unidas (with the huge metal flower sculpture by Eduardo Catalo, that opens closes its petals with the sun).

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone; its an absolute gem and extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beekay_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The elegance of the house itself is staggereingly beautiful!! The gentleman that owns it & his assistant are very helpful, knowledgeable & handsome!!! It is in an excellent location, very safe & it has the feel of a French chateau!! The breakfast is absolutely excellent...better than what I had in both Brazil & Uruguay!!! It is first class all the way, but very affordable!! Treat yourself to the Recoleta Guest House..do NOT DENY yourself!!! It is Buenes Aires at its best!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinabridges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We spent about 5 nights in the Recoleta Guest House and felt very fortunate to have found this gem in one of the nicest and quietest neighborhoods of Buenos Aires. Since it is on a uncongested street, there was no street noise so sleeping was a dream. Breakfast was delicious and substantial and the company of the other guests and staff made it delightful. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were walking distance to nearly any main Buenos Aires site and to the local (not EZE) airport. And just doors away we found what we thought was the best restaurant in town "Vinos y Sabores". Recoleta Guest House is a home, not a hotel and that's what make it so special. We highly recommend it! (And we've stayed in other Buenos Aires hotels)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wtkuehnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Epico Recoleta Hotel
Epico Recoleta Hotel
#238 of 447 in Buenos Aires
239 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#49 of 447 in Buenos Aires
312 reviews
Recoleta
Unique Art Elegance
Unique Art Elegance
#253 of 447 in Buenos Aires
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Hotel Arenales
Hotel Arenales
#214 of 447 in Buenos Aires
62 reviews
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#58 of 447 in Buenos Aires
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recoleta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recoleta Guest House

Property: Recoleta Guest House
Address: Calle Laprida 1821, Buenos Aires C1425EKQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family will be pleased to meet you in the lovely neighborhood of Recoleta. You will feel comfortable in our house and you will have all the facilities of living at your own. All our rooms have private bathroom, TV and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recoleta Guest House Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing