We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hostel in downtown”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Nicholas Hostel
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cool hostel in downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here and really enjoyed ourselves. Its located right in downtown and has a really cool artsy vibe to it. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean (we had a private room) and have ceiling fans which is a big plus. Breakfast is better than most hostels we've stayed at. One pointer; its a young crowd that likes to stay up late, socialize, and drink. The noise level isn't bad though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejones77rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
8
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have been travelling for over 4 months and this has got to be one of the worst, if not THE worst hostel I have ever stayed at.
The dorm that I was assigned to, though admittedly clean, had old, stained mattresses and thinning pillows that had definitely seen better days. I was given linen and left in my room. There only seemed to be a couple of other people staying in the entire hostel and the "bar" was filled with similarly, stained mattresses.
The toilet doors didn´t all close. Breakfast was some stale bread with butter (though this is not unusual in buenos aires).
All in all, this is the worst place to stay in buenos aires, particularly if you are travelling alone, and looking to meet new people. I cannot believe that there are so many good reviews here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyAlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirens, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Je suis française !!! Arrivée à Buenos Aires sans mon sac perdu pendant le voyage et sans parler un mot d'espagnol et cet hostel fut vraiment l'endroit rêvé pour débuter mon voyage avec une équipe adorable qui m'a aidé sur tous les plans ! Je ne regrette pas mon choix un peu inopiné ! Muuuuuuchas gracias a todos !!!! Juste une cuisine un peu petite mais tout le reste : top !!!!

Room Tip: Here is the best place to start your travel ! Staff very helpful, kind and smily ! Rooms perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiteChataigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hostel is amazing and the people who work there are fun and very helpful. I had such a great time staying at St. Nicholas that it added a great new dimension to my trip. By the end it really felt like a family, both with the other travelers and the staff.

The location is very central, only 2 blocks from the Capitol building. You can walk to most of the main tourist locations or take a bus or the subway which are both very close as well. There are some very good non-touristy restaurants in the neighborhood so you have the chance to mingle with the locals. There are three grocery stores within 2 blocks as well as bakeries and fruit stores, so you won't go hungry. Breakfast is provided, though, and has everything that you'll need (cereal, coffee & tea, bread with butter/jam/dulce de leche).

There is plenty of common space in the hostel and the most popular one is on the 3rd floor. The main area has a bar, a pool table, and a couch with a TV. There's also a grill with tables and chairs on the rooftop patio so you can relax and get some sun at the same time. The bathrooms, kitchen, and rooms are all kept very clean. There are 2 computers that have free internet as well.

I'd highly recommend this hostel and plan on returning the next time I'm in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Staff is happy to accommodate requests such as female only rooms. There are rooms on all three floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I stayed here for a week when I first got to Buenos Aires and loved it. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. They speak good English but they always want to help people with their Spanish so they'll patiently listen to your pidgin Spanish- no matter how long it may take you to form a sentence!

Beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are good. They've decorated the place really well, and it felt like a home away from home. It has a really good vibe- very laid back in the day, but a really nice bar up top with a roof top area with great views of the streets below. There's a pool table and some comfy chairs, so it's a good place to relax after sightseeing, or to get the party started before heading out into the BA nightlife.

They organise lots of stuff from the hostel and really know the city, so you can always go to them for advice. Plus they have Spanish lessons on site with a really good and very "Porteña" teacher.

To conclude, the best thing about the hostel, and why I'd recommend it to anyone, has to be the staff. After being in BA for a week I found myself permanent accommodation in an apartment, but I still kept coming back to St Nicholas because I'd made such good friends there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hi, my name is Galina Qader and I am a traveller from Australia. At the moment, I am staying in St. Nicholas Hostel and I like it very much.

I found this hostel by accident 11 days ago while looking for an affordable place to stay.

The service I have been receiving is excellent. The staff is very friendly; the price is affordable for budget travellers like me. The hostel provides the guests with breakfast, free Internet connection; hot water runs 24 hours a day, a crash course in Spanish, etc.

I am staying at the dorm. The room is quite big and it has the lockers for keeping personal belongings safely. I like the room very much because it’s quite comfortable and warm in winter.

The location of the hostel is very good because it’s in the center of the city. Public transport is easily accessible (there are bus stops and subway stations in the vicinity).

Also, the majority of tourist attractions are within walking distance. I have no problem walking from the hostel to other parts of the city.

In my opinion, the best feature of the hostel is its safety. People feel very safe here.

Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They always help when asked for help. The owner is flexible with the prices. The price can be adjusted according to the number of nights one stays there.

The staff always passes the messages when someone tries to get in touch with a person staying in the hostel which is very important too.

I am having an excellent experience in this place (I am planning to stay here for some months).

I strongly believe that travellers need to be aware of the existence of this hostel and they need to be advised that the hostel is very safe and affordable at the same time.

Room Tip: There are private rooms with and without bathrooms. The dorm rooms are big and in most cases not noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

I stayed at St Nicholas for almost a month in April 2011. I would definately recommend it because although it is one of the cheapest hostels in BA, it is really good! the staff were always really helpful and friendly, and everything was always clean.The party the hostel threw on the rooftop area was the best night i had in my time in BA - a lot of great people and many fun times!!! It is also located in the centro area, within walking distance of many attractions and also right next door to an amazing bakery and there is a supermarket one block away and corrientes avenue, a main shopping street is two blocks away.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SavannahZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#31 of 487 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#116 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#119 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#232 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicholas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Hostel

Property: St. Nicholas Hostel
Address: Calle Bartolome Mitre 1691 93, Buenos Aires C1037ABE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 487 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Nicholas Hostel is the place to stay for travellers that want to explore Buenos Aires and Argentina. The house is part of the history of this town, its one block away from Plaza Congreso and has easy access to the city's highlights. We have private and non-private rooms, for two to six people.Also, with the aim that guests feel as comfortable as possible, we have bar, table games, TV room, internet free (WiFi), pool and reading room.Additional facilities include 24 hour medical assistance, 24-hour security, lockers and luggage storage, laundry, sheets and blankets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing