We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore BA”
Review of Ostinatto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ostinatto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm. This hostel is definitely one of the best hostels we've stayed in. It has a very cheap bar, friendly and helpful staff, hot water, it's clean and the location is fab.

We had Spanish classes through the hostel and also went to a fantastic tango show organised by the hostel.

I'd definitely stay again and would recommend for others.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I visited Ostinatto with 4 friends and we stayed in an 8 bed dorm partially separated by a wall into two sections of 4 - not overly spacious but better than many I've seen, and very comfortable and clean. All the rooms have balconies which are a nice feature and ensure plenty of fresh air. Breakfast was nice and kitchen facilities good - kept clean and well organised. Good showers, bathrooms pretty clean although always running out of toilet paper which was annoying. Hostel staff were very helpful, nice (and very cheap) little bar downstairs, although that does mean they ask you not to bring externally bought alcohol into the hostel. Great value for a nice hostel in such a great location - 5 minutes walk from Avenida 9 de Julio and maybe 8-10 minutes from Plaza de Armas. Also San Telmo is a lovely area itself and well worth exploring, especially on a Sunday when the colourful markets are up all down Defensa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derigiberble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is included: bread, jam, cereals, milk, tea, orange juice. Nothing exceptional but good.

Dorms are large and basic (with lockers). Shared bathrooms are clean.

The internet connection is not really good in the rooms, though a little bit better on the ground floor.

Location is good, in San Telmo, two blocs away from Julio 9.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here to visit B.A. Our room was a 8 bed dorm but was separated into 4 and 4 by a wall in the middle of the room. Every room has a small balcony. They have big lockers and nice bathrooms with really good showers. At the end of the days the toilet paper always ran out. The kitchen has 4 cooking places and is well equiped. The offered activities are nice. Visit a tango show!
You can easily walk into city center and just around the corner are plenty of good restaurants and cafes.
The music pc has lots of songs for sharing. Thanks for that! The internet could be faster....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank heckmeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a fairly big hostel, which isn't really my thing - but it was reasonably priced, and good value for money in my opinion. The kitchen facilities were great, which was a nice change. The bedrooms were spacious but the bathrooms were pretty tiny. The bar was fun. I'm not sure if it would suit solo travellers but it was good for a small group (as we were).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yodes_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

When i stayed here it was a bit of let down, compared to all the positive reviews. the room my travel buddies and i had was really dark and gloomy. it was clean tho as was the showers. each-time we went to breakfast there was very little left and never got replenished even when we asked. but it's free so you can't complain about free stuff i guess. very secure. location is okay. not the best atmosphere when we stayed. they offer free yoga lessons, which we tried to attend but it was in a tiny room and they didn't seem to want guests joining in. probably better options in such a big city. some staff were more helpful than others.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at Ostinatto twice. Both times I felt right at home.
The first time I stayed one week to learn Spanish with the Spanish school that teaches inside the hostel named Porteñisima escuela de español. They teach group and private lessons. If you want to polish your Spanish or get the essential Spanish basics, I can highly recommend this school.
The second time as a layover. We could leave some stuff at the hostel at the lockers while traveling around.
The staff is really helpful and friendly. And they are always in for a talk. As most hostels, they organize all kinds of activities.
The hostel is clean and the kitchen is spacious.

Room Tip: Get a room that is located at the street side. The other dorms/rooms do not have a window to the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sluice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#5 of 470 in Buenos Aires
682 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 470 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 470 in Buenos Aires
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#21 of 470 in Buenos Aires
171 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 470 in Buenos Aires
380 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 470 in Buenos Aires
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostinatto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostinatto Hostel

Address: Calle Chile 680 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1098AAN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £13 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ostinatto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique minimal hostel located in the historic neighborhood of San Telmo. Ostinatto is anything but old, but a recycled XX century building that combines an old structure with a fine minimalistic design. All of our rooms are clean and functional with plenty of locker space and new beds. All in all, Ostinatto offers something for everyone; close enough to be near all the action yet far enough to relax away from the bustle of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ostinatto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostinatto Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing