We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, that's about it”
Review of Hostel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sol
Ranked #366 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Buenos Aires before eventually moving to BA Soho Rooms in Palermo. The overall impression we got on this place is that it's geared more towards younger people looking for a party environment. There are tons of people there at all times, day and night. Definitely not quiet, but could be good if you're just looking for a bed and a place to meet people. We were a couple there looking for a cheapish and quiet private room, and it just does not work for that.

Besides the noise, the other reason we just had to leave was the staff. There was a nicer guy that spoke only Spanish, which was fine for basic things but not much else given my level of Spanish. The other guy there was a nightmare--I believe he was high half the time (was definitely toking with another customer), while the other half of the time he was incoherently ranting or complaining about something. I asked him about changing rooms due to the noise, and it was clear that he was not going to let us, despite there being another room that was clearly not occupied and according to him was not reserved by anyone.

The facilities are basic, but sufficient. Not much to look at, but it gets the job done. The breakfast was horrendous--do not count on it. First, all it is is bread and coffee/tea. (Admittedly, this seems pretty typical for Argentinians.) Second, if you are not in the common area when they serve the bread, it goes QUICK. They definitely don't put out enough for everyone. If you do stay here, do yourself a favor and buy some fruit or something the night before.

The shining point: it's right close to San Telmo. That's it. It's also close to a rather shady part of town which the staff warned us to stay away from at night (towards Constitucion).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DouginTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice stay in this Hostel. If you are looking for a bed and maybe found some companion for a city tour this might be the hostel. From Bus station you just need to catch a bus directly to the door. Very easy to get around by bus and staff can help you with general tips. The accommodation is nice for the price, hot water and plenty of toilets and bathrooms for size of hostel. Don't expect seafood for breakfast, or tables full off different foods but you will get one with a variety of pastry tea and coffee... enough. All hostel is nice spacey and colorful, making you feel comfortable. Internet is free and 3 computers are available for costumers use.
The cleaning lady is the spirit of the Hostel ;)

Room Tip: We stayed in a six p. dormitory alone.. so we save money and sleep very confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

It is good value for the money - I only payed 40 Argentine pesos for a dorm. Despite that it is clean and it is nicely decorated with a lot of light, high ceilings, a good kitchen and a nice patio. The breakfast is bad: they serve Danish and coffee. The location is fine. It is central but at the end of the big avenue so it can be a sketchy at night. Unfortunately the staff is bad. When I stayed there two nights there were two employees. The guy receptionist was so slow that we were convinced that he was high. The girl receptionist is a bit more efficient but rude. Both couldn't help us with directions in the city so we asked the cleaning lady who is very nice and friendly. Most of the time the staff is on the computer, talking and seems generally annoyed with their job.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mettefr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hostel people are really kindness
Good lounge
Great Kitchen
They have good housekeepers and with you need something you just have to ask =)
great Tango class =D

A nice and typical breakfast

so i have to come back =D

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grasielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Inexpensive compared to other hostels in BA, but it's cold, noisy at night, and in a fairly unsafe neighborhood. The breakfast was decent, and the showers were hot, but nothing was very clean or comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpalmer1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Hostel is very easy to find. After reaching the gate and ringing a few minutes we got access to enter the building. The owner sitting at the reception desk hadn’t noticed for about half an hour that we want to check-in and kept talking on the phone.
If don't care about details like toiled cleaned maniana (everyday maniana?) ;) it is good place to meet other backpackers and exchange experience. You would love this place if you like live concerts or loud music. If looking for tranquility you'd better find something else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladicted1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hello everybody!!!

I've stayed at the Hostel Sol last September. Just can say that I wish I could stay longer.

Economic and party hostel. The staff - I mean Johnny - is amazing! Great hospitality.

The social area is huge, it makes easier to meet people.

The bathrooms and the cleaning are not that amazing. But good enough.

At all I mean: If you're looking for hospitality, meet people and party, in an economic way - this is it.

The bad things: Doesn't worth to wake up for the breakfast.
There are Bad bugs - or anything similar - in the rooms.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Jujuoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Gran Hotel America
#352 of 440 in Buenos Aires
31 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#48 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,527 reviews
San Telmo
Hotel Bolivar
Hotel Bolivar
#379 of 440 in Buenos Aires
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cosme
#382 of 440 in Buenos Aires
14 reviews
Hotel Los Cedros
#376 of 440 in Buenos Aires
24 reviews
Hotel La Perla
#333 of 440 in Buenos Aires
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sol

Address: Calle Lima 1169 | 9 de julio Av. y San Juan Av, Buenos Aires C1073AAW, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £7 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing