We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel for a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent the first days of our trip in South America at this hostel. We're a couple, so we went for a private double with a bathroom. We liked the corner room we got: bathroom was clean and modern, bed was comfy, there was a lot of light in the room. There was a bit of street noise, but the windows were doing a good job at cutting it out. Overall, day staff were friendly and helpful, less so for night staff. It's not a party hostel, which meant we slept well and there wasn't too much noise - a strong point for light sleepers

On the less good side, the common areas were a bit gloomy (not much light) but did the job and the breakfast was barebone (a bit of bread and a tasty media luna but no coffee)

Overall, if you want to be in the center to visit the main sights, this is a good pick!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room!
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adeclosset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Manager at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi, thanks for your review im glad you liked the hostel.
regarding the light in the common rooms, you are right that is why we alredy solved that issue... we have a lot more light now... thanks for our passengers recommendations, like you :)
regarding the coffee: i am very very surprised you say there was no coffee???? that is wear, we always always serve coffee, im very sorry about this, i will find out what happened...

thanks again for your time, hope to see you again
cheers
cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at BA Stop Hostel for 1 week while visiting Buenos Aries and cannot fault the place! It is in an amazing location and the staff were more friendly and helpful than any other hostel we have stayed in! We were in a double private room which was very nice, it was cleaned regularly and everything worked as it should. We booked a number of tours through the hostel and they were all of the highest standard at a reasonable price. If you are looking for a place to stay in Buenos Aries don't waste any more time looking and book here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotlostyetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi NotlostyetNZ: thanks a lot for your nice review! I am very glad you spent a great time at the Hostel, hope to see you again at BA STOP ,)

CONY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

After more than 20 places we slept in South America (very good and very bad), we cannot agree with this certificate of excellence. For us, it's an average hostel.
We stayed in a double room for 4 nights.
Let's begin by the plus: very nice old house located in the center of BA (close to the congreso), rooms are clean, staff seems serious
The worst issue with this hostel is that it's not quiet at all, the rooms on the first floor have their window on the street with no isolation, you really have the feeling you sleep on the street (even with earplugs).
Then the others minus:
- you have to pay for luggage storage for a day (first time ever) and they put your luggage not on specific room but under the stairs !
- breakfast is basic: one bread, one croissant, really bad coffee.
This hostel with its location could really be better with some small changes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Lemmouss im sorry about what you say.
Regarding the:
Luggage storage: you are right, the lugagge is supposed to be stored in the warehouse. I will talk to the staff abput that.
Coffe: i will chech that but it is difficult to change, some people say is great and some is bad...is hard to know how the mayor of people likes more.

I will try hard to chanhe that small things as you suggest, thanks for your review and your time, i really appreciate it.

cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you are going to Buenos Aires, the B.A. Hostel is a good adress to stop by. The location is really in the center and it is just a walk of 3 minutes to the next metro station. Staff is friendly and helpful and they offer a cheap laundry service. Our room (a double room with bathroom next to the roof terrace) was rather small, but very clean and cosy! It was also more quiet than the ones facing the street. The living room with a piano and two computers was really nice, too.

One disappointment, however, was when we tried to book a bus ticket to Iguazu with them. They claim they buy the bus ticket for you and you pay the same price as you would at the bus station, but in reality they take a 25% commission which makes it way more expensive for you. So book at another place instead!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Sophie thanks for your review! i am glad you had a good experience, we do our best for you to enjoy Buenos Aires and BA STOP. Hope to see you again some day!
Regarding bus tickets. i am surprised that you say that because the tickets we sell are the same price that the company sells... may be you bought another company tickets?

anyway... thanks for your review, it helps us a lot to improve ,)

Cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 6 weeks. It's a nice and clean hostel with very friendly people. From the person behind the reception to the cleaning lady, everyone was amazing! Great place for backpackers, with a good location. There are some good opportunities for drinking and having a little party, but it's not too crazy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wouter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

HI! Thanks a lot for your review! im glad you liked the hostel and hope you come back soon!
cheers
cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for two weeks and was impressed with the staff (nearly all bi/tri-lingual), their knowledge of the city and general happiness and keeness to help. The place is smart from the outside and there is free Internet inside. It is in the heart of the city, so getting to buses, the metro and reastaurants is easy. Breakfast is provided although it is the same rolls and drink each day - but, hey, it is sooooo cheap, this can be over-looked. Peep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi "Kent" thanks a lot for your review! i am glad you had a good experience, we do our best for you to enjoy Buenos Aires and BA STOP. Hope to see you again some day!
Cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

BA is our first stop in Argentina. The hostel is located quite well in the Center and pretty much all sights are in walking distance.
We are very satisfied with the rooms/clean as well as the rates.
Sometimes it is very noisy from the street traffic during night time, the buses almost run though your bed, but anyhow you are in BA and in the middle of city. So not a big issue.
Overall: We like our stay and can recommend this place as a start to ARG/ South America.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

HI "OLE" Thanks a lot for your nice review and your time... i hope you come back to BA STOP in the future.
My regards, Cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#20 of 478 in Buenos Aires
178 reviews
San Telmo
Ostinatto Hostel
Ostinatto Hostel
#12 of 478 in Buenos Aires
259 reviews
Montserrat
Portal del Sur Hostel
Portal del Sur Hostel
#17 of 478 in Buenos Aires
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#4 of 478 in Buenos Aires
689 reviews
Montserrat
Rock Hostel & Brewery
Rock Hostel & Brewery
#35 of 478 in Buenos Aires
171 reviews
San Nicolás
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
#41 of 478 in Buenos Aires
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel

Address: Avenida Rivadavia 1194 | entre Salta y Lima, Buenos Aires C1033AAO, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £9 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hostel BA STOP we believe that the cultural identity of every community is what visitors value the most, that is why we want all our guests to be able to breathe our "aire porteño" (Buenos Aires city "vibe") in every corner of our hostel.We have common areas where our guests, which come from all over the World, can get in touch with one another, thus promoting intercultural exchange.LocationLocated in the Heart of the City, in a safe area, just one block away from the historic Avenida de Mayo, and a few steps away from ALL mayor subway lines and buses which take you to the key places in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing