We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel had character, great price for quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the double room. It was absolutely perfect. Nice, price, great location. The room had enough room for the bed, to put your stuff, had a closet/shelf. The bathroom was clean and spacious enough. The hostel itself was nice, the staff were helpful. The shared room was great. The only thing I did not like was the kitchen. It was way too tight, but we spent like no time there. The hostel was near the main road to go to historic sites, and was also near the Congress house which was beautiful. You could also buy decent wine and a decent price and beer of course. All in all a very good value.

Room Tip: We had the double with private bath, perfect size and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormcloud96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi! thanks for your nice review, im glad you liked the hostel!
Im sorry about the kitchen size.. i can not lie... that is a bit difficult for us to change...
i hope to see you again some day at the hostel
cheers!
cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Central location, clean and bright double room with a decent bathroom. The common area is a bit dark and depressing, but if you're looking for a cheap bed rather than a party hostel, this will do the job. Probably not the place to go for atmosphere (see the review below as an example!) but it's totally fine as a basic launch pad to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggpie2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi thanks for your review, im glad you had a good time.
Regarding the ight in the common areas, we already solved that issue and now it is much more bright... thanks to all of your reviews / suggestions

hope to see you again some day
cheers
cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you enjoy no other interaction and piano until 5am this is a great place for you. The double room was big and clean but between the street noise and the faulty ceiling fan it was very difficult to sleep. Some staff were great, others were uninterested.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi emma i am very sorry you did not like the hostel.
the ceiling fan was already fixed, it would have been good if you tell us when you are at the hostel so we can solve that problem for your better stay instead of doing that once you leave.
i will talk to the staff about the noise / piano that you mention, we dont want that to happen, ba stop is a quiet hostel and we respect people who wants to sleep.

i invte you to give us a nother chance if you come back to bs as some day

My best regard

cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent the first days of our trip in South America at this hostel. We're a couple, so we went for a private double with a bathroom. We liked the corner room we got: bathroom was clean and modern, bed was comfy, there was a lot of light in the room. There was a bit of street noise, but the windows were doing a good job at cutting it out. Overall, day staff were friendly and helpful, less so for night staff. It's not a party hostel, which meant we slept well and there wasn't too much noise - a strong point for light sleepers

On the less good side, the common areas were a bit gloomy (not much light) but did the job and the breakfast was barebone (a bit of bread and a tasty media luna but no coffee)

Overall, if you want to be in the center to visit the main sights, this is a good pick!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room!
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adeclosset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Manager at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi, thanks for your review im glad you liked the hostel.
regarding the light in the common rooms, you are right that is why we alredy solved that issue... we have a lot more light now... thanks for our passengers recommendations, like you :)
regarding the coffee: i am very very surprised you say there was no coffee???? that is wear, we always always serve coffee, im very sorry about this, i will find out what happened...

thanks again for your time, hope to see you again
cheers
cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at BA Stop Hostel for 1 week while visiting Buenos Aries and cannot fault the place! It is in an amazing location and the staff were more friendly and helpful than any other hostel we have stayed in! We were in a double private room which was very nice, it was cleaned regularly and everything worked as it should. We booked a number of tours through the hostel and they were all of the highest standard at a reasonable price. If you are looking for a place to stay in Buenos Aries don't waste any more time looking and book here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotlostyetNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi NotlostyetNZ: thanks a lot for your nice review! I am very glad you spent a great time at the Hostel, hope to see you again at BA STOP ,)

CONY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

After more than 20 places we slept in South America (very good and very bad), we cannot agree with this certificate of excellence. For us, it's an average hostel.
We stayed in a double room for 4 nights.
Let's begin by the plus: very nice old house located in the center of BA (close to the congreso), rooms are clean, staff seems serious
The worst issue with this hostel is that it's not quiet at all, the rooms on the first floor have their window on the street with no isolation, you really have the feeling you sleep on the street (even with earplugs).
Then the others minus:
- you have to pay for luggage storage for a day (first time ever) and they put your luggage not on specific room but under the stairs !
- breakfast is basic: one bread, one croissant, really bad coffee.
This hostel with its location could really be better with some small changes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Lemmouss im sorry about what you say.
Regarding the:
Luggage storage: you are right, the lugagge is supposed to be stored in the warehouse. I will talk to the staff abput that.
Coffe: i will chech that but it is difficult to change, some people say is great and some is bad...is hard to know how the mayor of people likes more.

I will try hard to chanhe that small things as you suggest, thanks for your review and your time, i really appreciate it.

cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you are going to Buenos Aires, the B.A. Hostel is a good adress to stop by. The location is really in the center and it is just a walk of 3 minutes to the next metro station. Staff is friendly and helpful and they offer a cheap laundry service. Our room (a double room with bathroom next to the roof terrace) was rather small, but very clean and cosy! It was also more quiet than the ones facing the street. The living room with a piano and two computers was really nice, too.

One disappointment, however, was when we tried to book a bus ticket to Iguazu with them. They claim they buy the bus ticket for you and you pay the same price as you would at the bus station, but in reality they take a 25% commission which makes it way more expensive for you. So book at another place instead!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conita7, Owner at BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Sophie thanks for your review! i am glad you had a good experience, we do our best for you to enjoy Buenos Aires and BA STOP. Hope to see you again some day!
Regarding bus tickets. i am surprised that you say that because the tickets we sell are the same price that the company sells... may be you bought another company tickets?

anyway... thanks for your review, it helps us a lot to improve ,)

Cony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#27 of 470 in Buenos Aires
171 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#5 of 470 in Buenos Aires
683 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 470 in Buenos Aires
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Ostinatto Hostel
Ostinatto Hostel
#12 of 470 in Buenos Aires
254 reviews
San Nicolas
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
V&S Hostel Club Buenos Aires
#39 of 470 in Buenos Aires
214 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 470 in Buenos Aires
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel

Address: Avenida Rivadavia 1194 | entre Salta y Lima, Buenos Aires C1033AAO, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 470 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £9 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hostel BA STOP we believe that the cultural identity of every community is what visitors value the most, that is why we want all our guests to be able to breathe our "aire porteño" (Buenos Aires city "vibe") in every corner of our hostel.We have common areas where our guests, which come from all over the World, can get in touch with one another, thus promoting intercultural exchange.LocationLocated in the Heart of the City, in a safe area, just one block away from the historic Avenida de Mayo, and a few steps away from ALL mayor subway lines and buses which take you to the key places in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing