We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Sol Hostel Recoleta
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
657 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Friends who had previously stayed here recommended and organised a 3 night stay over a weekend and it was amazing! The rooms are basic, but you have to expect this when staying in hostels, same with the quality of sleep. If you don't like noise and socialising, go else where. Expectation management!!
We stayed in a room near he quad and it was great to get involved and meet people. A lot of people who stay are almost residents and a few who work actually live there, so it's like a small family and home away from home. Made great friends and felt like family in just a few days! Location is in recoletta, great suburb and it's walking distance to everything you'd want to see in CBD. Great cafés, restaurants right on surrounding blocks. If you do stay soon, talk to a South African guy called Grant who works there. Amazing wealth of knowledge and has been living in Argentina for ages! All the staff are good though. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: If you want to socialise get a room need he quad. If you want undisturbed sleep, stay downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
1
21
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Positive- some of the staff are great. They are happy to help. One (the argentinian) was cold however. The location is great.
Negative- incredibly noisy due to the bar and people staying up to all hours and even the staff making an incredible amount of noise. The hostel has no quiet hours.
The kitchen is almost unusable and the breakfast very very basic (and took a long time to be refilled).
It's a social place so stay here only if you have lots of time in BA and want to party.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJoySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Whenever I go to BsAs I stay here. Very welcoming. Has a unique feel and great flow to it. The staff is friendly and it seems to attract fun, interesting, and friendly travelers from around the world. I love this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

When we first arrived to the hostel we were a little turned off, the first thing we saw was the kitchen: extremely tiny, stacks and stacks of dishes, and felt more like a kitchen belonging to the seemingly endless amount of people who lived at the hostel rather than a kitchen for the guests... The room was very basic, had a large random hole in the wall, and didn't feel like a private double which we had paid for. When it comes to breakfast don't expect to much as you will be disappointed- the fracturas (breakfast pastries) are served in another tiny room (the "lounge") and are few in numbers. You're lucky if you happen to get a cup of coffee! And even luckier if the staff thinks to refill any of the breakfast items at all.

The owner of the hostel 'Paul' is a really nice guy, and it was great to talk to him and get advice on the area. One of our favorite parts of this hostel is the location, close to many attractions, great restaurants, and walking distance to Retiro (15-20 min).

Overall it was ok and felt like the hostel was more for the random people living there than for the guests... not quite what you're looking for as a traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The staff was so helpful in giving us direction on what to see and where to go. The location was excellent we could walk to many great bars and restaurants. Taxis where easy and cheap to get around. The water was clean and drinkable. On Christmas the staff went all out, strung lights every where and served us food and champagne on the outdoor court/bar area. We ended up dancing thou the night with staff and all the interesting guest (all ages). We had a room with with bunk beds that were suprisenly comfy. Woke up to fresh coffee and breads every morning. I felt safe, but still locked up valuables in the locker.Thanks for the great time El Sol Hostel!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Casie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

here is the thing

staff are russian i kind of like them a lot so that's helping
the owner is really nice as well... adrian who work in the bar hes a real brother (get 5 stars ha ha)
the private rooms at the first floor are really nice. the problem is the room on the roof
they noisy and look kind of bad. the bar is small... people in the hostel are really nice
(maybe luck i don't know) i do believe this place going to improve for sure
so i would not say something like "don't go" it's good as something temporary
And if you looking for affordabell singel room it's will do great!
also another advantage is the amazing but amazing and cheap stake house next to the hostel

Room Tip: go for private or just first floor room stuff speak english and very kind
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tonnymilfiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had a good time for the 3 days I was here. Everyone was really friendly and hospitable and it was a good environment with lots to do in the surrounding neighborhood. The kitchen and bathrooms were well kept. Also, a band played on the outdoor patio one night and that was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Petit Recoleta Hostel
Petit Recoleta Hostel
#56 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Recoleta
Reina Madre Hostel
Reina Madre Hostel
#23 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Recoleta
Voyage Recoleta Hostel
Voyage Recoleta Hostel
#154 of 454 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Recoleta Hostel
Recoleta Hostel
#53 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Palermo
Paralelo Hostel
Paralelo Hostel
#135 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Recoleta
Piccaluga Apartments
Piccaluga Apartments
#45 of 454 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sol Hostel Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Hostel Recoleta

Property: El Sol Hostel Recoleta
Address: Calle Marcelo T de Alvear 1590 | P. 2 & 3, Buenos Aires C1060AAD, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place at a great price for travellers who want to enjoy Buenos Aires while staying in a safe, central location. El Sol Recoleta is truly one of a kind. Run by a friendly staff that includes artists, adventurers and intellectuals from various countries, we're conveniently located at the southern end of Recoleta neighborhood. Sights such as the Obelisk, Plaza de Mayo, Teatro Colon, Congreso, Cemeterio de Recoleta and the Florida Street promenade are only minutes away by foot.The well preserved French-style building (1890) evokes the glorious past of the city's Golden Age, although the gritty, fast-paced and highly cultured vibe of contemporary Buenos Aires is never far.The hostel is located on three floors (sorry, no elevator, but we will help you with your luggage, no worries!). There are 4-6-bed dorms, private rooms with shared or private bathrooms. All the rooms on the 1st level have nice balconies, the 2nd level has an open-air terrace and a bar where we make most delicious pizzas and serve drinks in the evenings. At the weekends we organize concerts with local or international bands, don't miss it!The breakfast we serve is a typical argentinian breakfast with fresh pastries. "Medialunas y facturas", daily delivered from the bakery. Dulce de leche, of course :-) Plenty of coffee, milk an tea.In order to remain affordable we provide modestly decorated rooms and fewer extra services. Please remember that this is an affordable youth hostel, not a hotel.We'll go out of our way to make you feel welcome and well informed about our city.Tango shows, tickets for football matches, entrance to clubs and info about the events in BsAs - are only a few things available at the reception. We can call you a cab, arrange an airport transfer, provide you with maps of the city and the neighbourhood area.El Sol Recoleta is the perfect choice for easy-going adventurers, budget-minded backpackers and anyone else looking for a unique place to stay. Think of it as sharing a big house with other travellers.Nos vemos pronto!kind regards,Paul Gallinato and the El Sol Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Sol Hostel Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing