We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

Shoeless Joe's/El Alamo Bar
Ranked #45 of 172 Nightlife in Buenos Aires
Attraction details
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I really like the bar.
If you pay 50 pesos you will drink beer all night at Alamo.

For those who doens't like to smoke I do not recomend, cause it's ok to smoke inside the bar...

It's always full of people, many tourists.
I liked and recomend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    29
    14
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Alamo!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

A great American sporta bar hidden off the street. A good place to meet other Americans traveling along with what seemed to be fluent Argentinians, making it easier to communicate. (Or at least for non Spanish speakers like myself) The smoke aspect is something you will find in just about any bar in BA so dont be intimdated. The food is good and relatively cheap. Great place to catch some American sports, or any for that matter!

Helpful?
1 Thank Colton C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Really fun went to El Alamo on a weekend night -- was one of my favorite nights out in BA. As long as you don't mind crowds, El Alamo is definitely worth a visit! They have awesome discounts and really cheap beers. Can't remember exactly their drink promos, but when I went we hardly paid anything and drank a ton! The food isn't very good, but if you're looking for just a place to drink pretty cheap and meet people from all over (there were tons of foreigners) El Alamo is perfect!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good time for the weekend!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have been to El Alamo a few times. Working with mostly expats, El Alamo seems to be the place of choice for a lot of foreigners/Americans. It gets extremely crowded, but if you can manage to snatch a table, it's pretty fun. The beer isn't too expensive and you're always guaranteed quite a few people showing up (I hate going to bars with no one there). Great too if you are looking for a place to watch sports from back home!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Herschel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you are OK with smoke - you will love it!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great potential for ex-pat Americans during football season. But they also charge $60 pesos to get in and everything else is very overpriced as well. And the worst of it is they do not enforce the no smoking laws - so you leave smelling like smoke. As an American, I cannot see any reason to visit this place in off season football.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank APassion4TravelSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoeless Joe's/El Alamo Bar also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Shoeless Joe's/El Alamo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing