We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caseron Porteno B&B
Ranked #44 of 259 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I visited Caseron Porteno last year on a whim visit to Buenos Aires... My lady friend and I stayed for a week and loved the room, service, location, and tango lessons. Breakfast was a time to join in conversation with others and was pretty simple but good.

The courtyard was a wonderful place to hang out with the other residents and chat before and after tango lessons which were held every night.

if you're looking for a great place to stay at a very reasonable price, I'd certainly recommend Caseron Porteno

(Oh, and I wrote this wayyyy late - our visit was over Christmas/New years 2011.)

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for a real queen sized bed, not two twins pushed together. Even with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flabuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Caserón Porteño is a very nice place to stay when you are in Buenos Aires. It is well located (close to supermarkets, restaurants and the subway) and the staff is very polite. The bedrooms are clean, there is a bathroom for each room, they have a nice breakfast and the great thing is they let you use the kitchen for when you want to cook your own meals. It is also possible to access the Internet from there. Plus, you can take tango lessons at the Caserón!

Room Tip: Rooms on the terrace give more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeboraTFSilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Calm and nice place in Palermo, close to the Subte, subway. The staff is very helpful and they often have time to answer questions and talk about every day life in B A. As a tangodancer you get a lot of help where to go dancing and to buy shoes. We took part in the tango workshops at Caseron Porteno and that was really nice, it´s a good idea to mix tourists and portenos. I really apreciated the nice garden after a day busy B A.

Anna

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Six blocks southwest of Olleros subway stop, with a handful of nearby restaurants; old building with high ceilings & wooden floors; rooms are simple but spacious & clean, some with bathrooms across the hall; good WiFi & breakfast; small well-used tango lesson room at rear; garden & roof-top terrace with seating; nice dining room with self-cooking facilities. Not a bargain, but what makes this place really attractive is the staff & the atmosphere they create -- Alejandra & Emilio are very helpful, & foster a feeling of community among guests, many of whom are repeat clients who come back year after year for tango lessons.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are main floor, & 6-10 are upstairs; 1, 2, 6, 7 & 8 are exposed to road noise; 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I found this lovely hidden gem in the heart of Buenos Aires on the internet. I was not sure what to expect initially but once I arrived I knew that it was a great discovery.
The building is very nice, with a lovely patio/garden. As it is an old building the rooms have high ceilings and lovely wooden floors (the room on the second floor are not as nice as this part of the building is more modern).
At the back of the garden there is an area where you can learn tango, and siting out enjoying the music and the good weather is just amazing!
The staff were very helpful in giving us directions around Buenos Aires.
The only negative is that it is not that easy to find, but the area (Palermo) is full of lovely restaurants and shops.
The breakfast was basic but very good.
Over all it was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natilia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We took Trip Advisor Reviews when chosing this B&B and also as it was a 10 minute drive to my partner's 5 day job. The staff were friendly and helpful for all our needs. However, if you are not interested in improving your tango, then I suggest you look elsewhere. It was pricey for what we received. The daily breakfast sometimes was hit and miss for what you were served. Actually, it was boring. Luckily, there is a small grocery store across the street and the use of the kitchen made it possible to add to the meal. The breakfast room is open for the patron's use and in the afternoons it is a good place to use your computer. Rooms 4 and 5 are across from the kitchen-eating area and sometimes can be noisy. Room 10 upstairs had a balcony.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavonnemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We accidentally came across this place and we were so glad we did. Christian and alejandra are such lovely people they made us feel so welcome and it was more like coming to stay with friends. They were so helpful and great on giving advise on things to do and helped sort out a tango show for us which was fantastic. The tango lessons there are really good as well if you fancy trying some tango. Definitely the place to stay in BA

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthieRainton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#49 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 473 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#45 of 442 in Buenos Aires
3,506 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#122 of 442 in Buenos Aires
2,478 reviews
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#136 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caseron Porteno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caseron Porteno B&B

Address: Calle Ciudad de La Paz 344, Buenos Aires C1426AGF, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caseron Porteno B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caseron Porteno, Tango Guest House in Buenos Aires. An oasis in the city of tango, Caseron Porteno offers daily tango lessons, warm hospitality and charming accommodations in a tranquil garden setting. With only 10 rooms (all of them with private bathroom), this B&B located in Palermo neighborhood offers breakfast, free internet access, maid service and tango lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caseron Porteno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing