We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and good things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #61 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Moreno Hotel is a mix of perfection and defects. Very good locarion and a beautiful building, with pottery on wall and a nice terrace for breakfast and leisure. It's noisy, just around its corner there is a popular club, where people stay inside and outside with high volume music and sometime screaming. My room was at second floor and cars in Moreno street don't save me from noise. The room was huge and beautiful, as well as the bath, but a stink come from the drainage. Staff is friendly, even they weren't able to reserve a taxi for me on dec 25th. Breakfast good on roof top. During my four nights staying on december 2012, I place my documents and money in the safe. I did forget I left some 'emergency' notes in my baggage, that anyway was locked. Someone broke my suitcase locker and steal my money, during the day when I was roaming in the city. All that was in the safe was still there. It was only 50 € but none want his baggage be violate in a 4 star hotel. I report to reception, but hotel manager didn't contact me, at least for regrets, even if they have my email. So a pleasent stay, but noise and theft.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo64Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

Convenient location. Great value - we booked through hotels.com and had a buy 2 nights get 3rd night free deal so the room was really affordable. Loft room is HUGE with beautifully modern decor! Fantastic shower with tons of water volume and plenty of hot water. However, there was a slight leak to the water heater (in the room) every time we took a shower. Bathroom did have a slight odor coming from the pipes that others have commented on, but not so bothersome to affect the experience. Very little vanity/counter space in the bathroom, but having the bar-area sink helped give me a spot to get ready while the bathroom was being used (although - no mirrors in the room other than the bathroom!). Super cute old-time elevator (but modern in terms of its efficiency and operation). Great service at the front desk - we went down every afternoon asking them to help us make dinner reservations that evening and they were so accomodating. Wifi a bit slow, but free and prevalent throughout the hotel. Breakfast on the rooftop was nice -- decent selection of options. We enjoyed medialunas every morning with dulce de leche -- delicious!

Only issue: we had a room on the 2nd floor (26, I think). While spacious, it was too close to the ground floor and we could hear a lot of noise from the street. The walls are fairly thin as well. Early on a Saturday morning, we heard yelling and screaming from people heading home from the bars, and motorcycles ripping through the streets before dawn. There was also truck noise from garbage collection in the middle of the night. As the room doors are quite heavy, we could also hear the doors slamming from adjacent rooms throughout the evening. This was all most noticeable our first evening when we were exhausted, but it seemed to get better throughout our 3 night stay.

Great location otherwise - 2 blocks from main plaza, right on Defensa for bars, restaurants, and the San Telmo market. We enjoyed tango lessons on Sunday evenings from Lucia y Gerry in San Telmo on Defensa just a few blocks down (ARP20 per person for an hour lesson, such a steal!!). Convenient to catch a cab.

I would stay here again and recommend to others -- but would probably ask for a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

A Very pleasant overall ambiance, combines with some intriguing original features particularly the lift and pleasant roof terrace. Rooms are spacious and pleasant, although tv's are v small with no international chan (although perhaps this is in irrelevant when in such an incredible city). Simple style, however elegant and soothing. Breakfast small but pleasant and served on a wonderful room terrace. I'm glad to have booked in advance as upon returning to BA for an unexpected night, the rack rate was almost double what I had paid booking on the hotels website just a few weeks in advance. This may have been due to room availability however. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are just a few £ more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is a great, reasonably priced, modern hotel in a great Buenos Aires- San Telmo location. My room was huge, clean, and even had a tiny view. It's a very cool and trendy place. Unfortunately I found the staff to be consistently snobby and unhelpful when asking for directions or other small requests. I would definitely stay here again, but not expect any friendliness from the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamiloGoldberg, Gerente at Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Buenos Aires and thank you for choosing Moreno Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire Staff for your kind words about Moreno Hotel, and for sharing your expercience with the Online Community of TripAdvisor. Regarding your experience with our Front Desk Staff, I am deeply sorry for this situation but also surprised to hear about it. It never happened before, but it is not acceptable, I already spoke to our 5 members of the Front Desk Staff regarding this issue and we will keep on working in order to improve and be able to welcome you and all of our Guests on the way you all deserve.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our Guest on your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Kind Regards,

Camilo Goldberg
Operations Manager
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here for the second BsAs leg of my first trip to Argentina. Great small hotel located near the San Telmo neighborhood-- very close to Plaza de Mayo, the hotel is right on Defensa street [site of the San Telmo street fair on Sundays]. Service was very helpful and accommodating. Our room [a large "loft"] was well appointed and modern. Some plumbing issues including very slow drains and obvious prior water damage were a very minor annoyance. Very slow wifi was a little more annoying. Breakfast on the terrace was great, and, of course, love the elevators! Aldo's-- the wine bar/restaurant on the ground floor, was an added bonus! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamiloGoldberg, Gerente at Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Buenos Aires and thank you for choosing Moreno Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire Staff for your kind words about Moreno Hotel and our Staff, and for sharing your expercience with the Online Community of TripAdvisor. Regarding the plumbing issue and the WI FI speed, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences this may caused, there was a problem with the an Acces Point and also with one of the water heaters but everything is currently fixed. We will keep on working in order to improve and avoid this from happening again so your next stay can be unique and entirely positive!

We are looking forward to welcome you as our Guest on your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Kind Regards,

Camilo Goldberg
Operations Manager
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Tucked away on the edge of San Telmo this hotel is just 5 mins walk from the central Plaza de Mayo and close to all facilities, transport links, restaurants etc. A quirky very dark reception area but with excellent English speaking staff, wonderful old elevator and fantastic bedroom. Super roof=top brekfast room topped off a great 3 night stay

Room Tip: Didn't request anything extra but had a quiet 7th floor room. all rooms face either the street o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeFord21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamiloGoldberg, Gerente at Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Buenos Aires and thank you for choosing Moreno Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire Staff for your kind words about Moreno Hotel and our Staff, and for sharing your expercience with the Online Community of TripAdvisor. We are glad to know we were able to welcome you as you deserve and we are going to keep working in order to improve and always be able to make from every stay an unique and positive experiencie.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our Guest on your next visit to Buenos Aires!

Kind Regards,

Camilo Goldberg
Operations Manager
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

It was my 2nd stay in buenos Aires , and this gimme I stayed in this classy hotel, loved the spacious room, the friendly staff , modern bathroom, funky alivator and last but not least the special attention received from the manager Jerimia.

Room Tip: Mail Jerimia before you arrive . If possible carry cash, because our pin no,s did not always work i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamiloGoldberg, Gerente at Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Buenos Aires and thank you for choosing Moreno Hotel!

First of all, I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire Staff for your kind words about Moreno Hotel and our Staff. We are pleased to know that you found here with us the positive expericence you were looking for when you choose Moreno Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our Guest on a third visit to Buenos Aires and on every time you come to our marvellous City!

Kind Regards,

Camilo Goldberg
Operations Manager
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#66 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,077 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#43 of 442 in Buenos Aires
839 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#55 of 442 in Buenos Aires
569 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#53 of 442 in Buenos Aires
932 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#34 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#44 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing