We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of History... but could use updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #60 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Mayville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lots of History... but could use updates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

There were things about Moreno that were good and bad. We loved the location. Easy walk to the restaurants along the river, enjoyed the closeness of the Sunday market and also close to many other attractions. The restaurant attached to the hotel was FANTASTIC but will be rated separately.

Of our five hotels in Brazil and Argentina, this had the smallest included continental breakfast. We had problems communicating with the staff each morning, which we didn't have in other stays. We loved the history within the hotel, like the old elevator and stained glass windows. We also enjoyed one evening laying out on the top of the hotel just watching people.

The room was extremely large, we had an "extra large double" which was awesome and the bed slept well. So why did I give it a bad mark? The shower and bathroom area needed some serious help. Every time we showered, it would leak (even though we didn't see it to dry) because lots of water was found under the sink. There were black mold marks along the outside of the bathroom wall so you know the floor is rotting away from the excess water. The other negative was the staff never replaced the coffee nor provided any additional soap, etc.

This hotel is not a typical five star plush hotel but rather a hotel you enjoy for what it is, full of history in an old historic area of Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    481
    125
    36
    13
See reviews for
129
645
90
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

It's hard to know what to make of some previous reviewers' remarks about service at the Moreno Hotel. From the time that I first contacted the front desk to assist with dinner reservations weeks in advance of our arrival, to the evening during our visit when a staff member saved the day by making alternative arrangements for us when the dinner theatre at which we had a reservation was closed due to flooding after a heavy rain, service was always provided in a timely and gracious manner...not just by the front desk, but by all (including the doorman who, in the aforementioned downpour, spent a good ten minutes outside dealing with our transportation needs).

Based on some reviewers' concerns about noise, we asked ahead of time for--and were provided with--a very quiet room on the fourth floor. An extra set of doors between room and hallway would seem to ensure peace and quiet, in any event. We found the room clean and attractive.

For anyone planning on visiting Buenos Aires over a weekend, the ease of access to the Sunday San Telmo market (and to Plaza Dorrego) is also a plus, as is the close proximity of the hotel to a number of excellent restaurants. Upon our return to Buenos Aires a few weeks after our stay at Moreno, we chose a hotel in Palermo Viejo--and we'd recommend that others divide their time similarly to experience different neighborhoods.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a quiet room if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atastefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I initially found this room, because Conde-Nast Traveler Magazine had reviewed it as a great stay with a great price & thats exactly what i thought. I actually felt the value was too good, because we were getting so much for the price. The hotel is in the middle a busier side of buenos aires, you wouldn't think it initially but you will notice if you walk -we found things are not too far & we walked everywhere. The hotel itself is ultra chic/modern -but the basics cater to any background -because the rooms are terrific. First the rooms are size well above average with wooden floors, super soft beds, & a good bathroom area. There is so much space in this room & in the summer months the room cools very quickly.
The bathroom is very modern with fixtures 5 star rated -sink & toilet are everything you would expect. The shower has too many positives & one negative. First i would like to mention i showered 4-5 times during my 3 day stay in the peak of summer. When you shower you shower on Teak wood, which is designed in a way where the water drains through the wood spacings and goes underneath you to drain, this is awesome because you dont feel flow of water draining & a first in my hotel experiences. Shower pressure & valves complement this teak wood feature very well. Now my only one negative is the shower glass. It covers half of the shower area, which means water will splash off you and go onto the bathroom floor -if you scan through the pictures above you will see this. That is my only negative during my whole stay -other than that i would stay here again & it was a great stay.
Stay here and be open minded you will enjoy it -if you compare everything to "ritz carlton" then just leave this page.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TattooedPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and said it was in a good location, which in proximity is true, but the area didn't feel great. Keep in mind though that most streets in town are full of graffiti and look dangerous anyway. The room was nice, service excellent from reception staff. Our room was very noisy though, mechanical noise day and night which was unpleasant. I'm not unhappy but it could be better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

First, the location is NOT San Telmo, as the hotel states and is repeated here. It is Monserrat and in our opinion, is not ready for prime time. We are accustomed to urban neighborhoods in New York and San Francisco, but this one was uncomfortable for us. The homeless "camp" with blue tarps and discarded office furniture one block over contributed to that, but worse were the 2 guys sitting on the stoop with 5 bottles of alcohol. The graffiti-covered buildings and general shabby appearance of that part of the city was unappealing in a city with so many other lovely choices.

As mentioned before, there was basically no wi-fi. The walls are dinged and paint chipped off. We had ants on our counter. There is no towel bar. We were on the 2nd floor and the street noise was loud. If you are used to 4 or 5 star hotels, this one will seem wholly inadequate. If you are accustomed to a hostel, it will be luxurious. The staff for the most part, will not seem warm and welcoming no matter how you find the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is very well located, funky and spacious. A chic & modern setting in the rooms, while still preserving the old elements with the lifts, stairwells and entrance. 5 minute walk to Plaza de Mayo and next door to Defensa Street for the Sunday San Telmo market. Continental breakfast is very yummy and in a great setting on the roof of the hotel, bit choice is rather limited (gets a bit boring when you stay 5 days). Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here in 2009 and had a wonderful experience. This time around the building felt tired, the room whilst being interesting and stylish was showing the signs of aging. The wi-fi was terrible (and I was on the 1st floor close to reception). There was plenty of noise from neighbouring rooms until the very small hours.

Enjoyed the breakfast from the wonderful rooftop area. Very beautiful views and one of the hotels real charms.

Dined in Aldos Restaurant under the hotel, fantastic! Great food and wine and ambience. Probably my favourite restaurant in BA!

Room Tip: The higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#27 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Montserrat
Eurobuilding Hotel Boutique Buenos Aires
Montserrat
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#48 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#42 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#81 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#66 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#45 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#51 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#76 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing