We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to a lot in the microcentro, comfy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #61 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

So two negatives I have to second that I have read:

First, what the heck is up with the horrible tasting coffee. The rest of the continental breakfast was fine, but man, that coffee wasn't even OK, it was downright nasty bad.

Second, smell from the bathroom, it wasn't strong, but I experienced the same thing!

Now, go beyond that, and this place is a gem. The old school elevator was a novelty that never grew old. The size of the room was a bit insane by any normal persons standards: It was huge!

It was loud outside my window by day, and pretty quiet by night. I was walking distance to a lot, from the port area to the plaza de Mayo.

The customer service was great, and so really, aside from the coffee and the bathroom smell (maybe try flushing the coffee down the toilet to see if that kills two birds with one stone) it was a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great location, very clean , good breakfast , but look after your belongings , after few days we stayed there, realised about 100 been missing in our wallet, inside our wallet not left on the top of the bench or something like that. We have mentioned to the receptionist that passed on to the manager that called us and said was the first time she heard, their staff was there working for more than 5 years and she could not give the money back , upset to hear the new and apologised , we could not do anything else , the only thing we can do is let other travellers know to be very very careful where you leave you things , really can not relax in your holiday .

We got 100 less in our wallet.

Room Tip: very busy street , very noise 7am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauliak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and the price was great for what we got. The rooms are huge. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The location is fine, you can walk to Plaza Mayo, and it is just around the corner from the Sunday markets which are great. The street the hotel is on can get noisy, so if you are in a room facing the street you will get the noise. Also, level 6 is where the lift stops for everyone to get out and walk a flight of stairs for the terrace where breakfast is. We were on level 6, so there was a lot of noise from the old school (and very cool) lift, so a sleep in was not possible. There is also not really a view from level 6 either. The terrace has a good view. The breakfast is average... They cook one lot of scrambled eggs each morning so if you aren't up there early, you won't get any. The restaurant next door, Aldo's, is amazing. Great wine, atmosphere, music and you MUST have the chocolate lava cake if you go. Overall this hotel is fine, just don't expect much at breakfast.

Room Tip: Not on level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aribamandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very good location in a beautiful old building. Nice elevator, nice breakfest, nice receptionist, reasonable price. The thing that was really negative was the smell coming from the bathroom. We complained twice about it and each time the maid came and dumped bleach down the drain. The smell came back. Also some nights the noise from the streets was a minor annoyance. Nice hotel, but could have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevenlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

What attracted me to the Moreno were both the very spacious rooms, as well as knowing that it would be quiet enough to be able to get a good night's rest (many parts of BA can get rather noisy at night). I was doing a lot of travelling, arriving from Europe and then heading off to Brazil and Peru in a whirlwind trip, and needed to be fresh.

The Moreno is on a quiet residential street in San Telmo. It is a little distance from the main action in Buenos Aires, though it is not a long walk to Plaza del Mayo and Calle Florida. The staff at the Moreno were extremely friendly, and safely watched my bags. The room itself was very comfortable, with a large bed and plenty of power points. The antique lift took a little to get used to, but worked well. The breakfast was nothing spectacular, though with so much great food around it was only a minor nit. I would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

For this location in a capital city, at this price, the hotel is very good value. The reception staff were all very helpful. The hotel is looking a little tired though, and breakfast is definitely not a high point. We also got 'bird poo' scammed, not one but twice, in the neighbourhood (there is more detailed advice on this scam elsewhere on trip advisor); beware the corner of Moreno and Defensa. Otherwise a great location - just around the corner from Plaza de Mayor and close to several subway lines.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked the moreno by after hearing about the place through fellow travelers in brazil. The rooms as advertised are very spacious, enough for even another bed although the matrimonials that they have are comfortable clean and well maintained. The location is good, central and seemed to be rather safe throughout our stay. The breakfast was our one point of contention, a little bit shabby for the otherwise beautiful and well staffed hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapleleafw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 443 in Buenos Aires
917 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#48 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,046 reviews
Montserrat
NH Buenos Aires City
NH Buenos Aires City
#75 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#73 of 443 in Buenos Aires
998 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#43 of 443 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
San Nicolas
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Moreno 376 | Montserrat, Buenos Aires C1091AAH, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#44 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#75 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires is located in the bohemian neighborhood of San Telmo, surrounded by art galleries, antique fairs, museums, historical buildings and tango lounges. Besides, it is a few blocks away from the famous Flea Market of Dorrego Square.The Hotel stands in an Art Deco building, which was declared part of Buenos Aires City Heritage. Public areas and Hotel suites are decorated with authentic art pieces of Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moreno Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moreno Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Moreno Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing