We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Possible to stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Telmo

Don Telmo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Telmo
Ranked #409 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Possible to stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I make a reservation in this hotel to spend my holidays (Reveillon 2011), but when I and my fiancé arrives there we found a lot of cockroaches on our room. We need to find another hotel and cannot stay, on these hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodrigues_brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    10
    3
    10
See reviews for
11
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Situated exactly corner with the main avenue. Staff at reception are so professional, they speak english and help us a lot.
Rooms aren´t very spacious but still have a wardrobe & ensuite shower plus tv too.
Breakfast lady is a bit slow. Some days we found empty trays and took her a lot to get out more food!

Lots of dogs barking all the time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Stayed in July 2010 - my second visit. Something seems to gave slipped. Several afternoon I had trouble sleeping because of barking dogs next door. The maids were slow refreshing breakfast food - every day I had to ask for more milk etc and often the tables weren't cleared. On top of that, the maids seemed very unhappy. The bathroom was a disgrace - just not clean and the shower curtain was filthy. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

I'm not a demanding person for hotels, i aways seek for cleanliness and a good bed for lower cost ..but at this time i made a TERRIBLE DECISION ! althought this hotel have a good location to get a taxi , when i walked into reception .. started to be disapointed .. old, dark and dusty, i said, ok, the room must be clean ... uuhh, when i met the room...sewage smell , so i started to check it all ...the bathroom is the worst thing u can imagine, im not talking about a simple place, but dirty ...clogged, curtain box dirty, disgusting , sink smelling sewage sludge, hairs, hairs in the bed, i'm sure that they dont changed the bed linen ... i needed to line my son's bed with some clothes, was disgusted with that beds .. i needed to buy lysol, chlorine to try to clean the bathroom, to get a shower ...and look to that curtain uuhh... almost vomiting .. has a lot of holes in the ground floor, and cockroaches coming out of them ( i was there in the winter ) cant imagine in the summer... after all i discribed, would u be encouraged to have breakfest ???? The only thing i can thanks is the staff was kind. Only. If u dont believe in all that said, go there ..kkkk and has your personal terrible experience ... I'm being honest and truthful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

stayed here for a week and a half in july 2010.

the rooms are nothing fancy, but totally clean and perfectly adequate.

the location is next to san telmo, the bohemian quarter of buenos aires. the actual street where the hotel is situated is a bit down-at-heel, but we walked back to the place most nights and never felt remotely unsafe or threatened.

the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. the fair-haired guy (i think his name is sergio) speaks good english.

if you book a stay here, the hotel owners will offer to lay on a taxi to bring you in from buenos aires airport.

you should accept -- because, instead, we took a taxi that was waiting outside the airport, and the swine ripped us off by charging 80 dollars. we didn't make that mistake when travelling back to the airport at the end of our stay. this time the hotel got the taxi for us, and the price was a much more reasonable 30 dollars (it's a long journey to ministro pistarini airport).

overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay this will do fine. it's not the hilton but, as a budget option, there's nothing wrong with it whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Despite the first impression, because of the ugly surroundings of the hotel, the location was quite safe at the time we of our travel. The hotel has a very nice rooftop and the accomodation we stayed was very spacious and clear. It has a very homey and comfortable atmosphere and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

If you like cockroaches in your room - this is the hotel for you. If you like to be held up by gun 1 block from your hotel on Calle Mexico during broad daylight, then this is the hotel for you. If you like to buzz a grocery shop to get in and all the storefronts on Calle Mexico within that radius have bars on their windows and doors, this is the hotel for you. If you like to walk past auto repair shops and gas stations and tool shops, this is the hotel for you.
Not to be a total buzzkill, our host, Marcello, was extremely kind and helpful. He offered many great tips on local restaurants (Prosciutto and La Familia) and Tango shows. The location is walking distance to the hotspots of San Telmo but not in the heart of it. The continental breakfast was not bad - coffee, juice, yoghurt, pastries and the room was on the top floor w/ an outdoor roofdeck - nice views from the roofdeck.
We stayed at 2 other 3 star hotels during our stay in Buenos Aires and found the quality, cleanliness, and modernity much higher. I would say this was one up from a hostel.
Please note, I am not high maintenence - we traveled for 2 weeks with carrry-on's only.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneLifeOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Babel Suites
Babel Suites
#253 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#232 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#50 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
Hotel Boca by Design Suites
#57 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#114 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#122 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Telmo

Property: Don Telmo
Address: Calle Mexico 974, Buenos Aires C1097AAT, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a house from 1910, remodeled with all the necessities and comfort to make your stay in Buenos Aires unforgettable. Located in the heart of San Telmo, just three minutes from Puerto Madero, five minutes from La Boca y Caminito, two minutes from the Obelisco and just feet away from subways, Don Telmo is the perfect place to see the real Buenos Aires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Don Telmo Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing