We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chez Seb Buenos Aires
Ranked #60 of 274 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Beautiful hotel with lovely rooms, good breakfast and nice staff. In quite a good location and about 30min walk from Palermo. Near a huge shopping centre and supermarket. Not on the safest of roads though - lots of cars being broken in to and glass on the street. As long as you are careful, the hotel is worth it!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johanna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
92
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miranda, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at SOCO hotel for five days and really enjoyed it, mainly because the staff were so wonderful. Nothing was a problem for them and they helped in so many ways, such as organising taxis to the airport, making dinner reservations, doing laundry and arranging breakfast early before our departure. The room we had was a great size, and beautifully decorated. The location was fine too, close to a metro station and safe to walk round at night, and conveniently located near the Abasto shopping centre and Esquina Carlos Gardel. The only problem was the traffic noise - our room faced the street where the entrance was, and we needed ear plugs every night. There is generally a time later at night when traffic dies right down and we noticed there are other rooms further inside the hotel which I'm sure are much quieter. Despite this problem, this hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zodiac6573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

If you want to be in the middle of everything, this is not the place. It is, however, close enough to a Metro station that it didn't matter as much. Warning, the neighborhood didn't look that bad but I later found out that walking around at night was probably not the best idea. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was minimal but always filling. Free wifi helped. FYI, not all staff members speak English but they are all very helpful. The biggest co plaint I have is the lack of elevator; not fun for having to haul our bags up and later down the stairs.

Room Tip: One facing the street was nice. There's a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winter_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

As one reviewer has said all ready, the neighborhood is gritty but the staff and charm of the hotel itself are fantastic. The place is clean, charming and homey. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable. They suggested an italian restaurant a few blocks from the hotel that was one of the best I have ever eaten at. Even in Italy. They help with airline reservations, sightseeing tips, and directions. I might add that while the neighborhood is perhaps not as nice as others in BA. There was never a feeling of being afraid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lets say your friend had a restored townhouse in Buenos Aires. Wouldn't you want to stay there? We really felt at home in this hotel. Our room was comfortable and interestingly decorated. All the rooms have high ceilings that add to the spaciousness. The housekeeping staff was among the best I have experienced, and as an occasional business traveler, I have stayed at some pretty nice hotels. The rooms here were immaculate.

As for the friends, we felt like we were treated, like friends here, not just hotel guests. Alex and all other staff at the hotel went out of their way to help not just me and my wife, but every other guest. As an American, I loath to expect that everyone speak English in a non English country. Yet, it was most convenient having English speaking staff at the hotel; it really helped get us oriented (and they recommended some GREAT local restaurants).

The only downside (for some) might be the location (you re not in Palermo or Recoleta). For us, being near the mall and subway was a plus. Cabs are always available because of the mall. The subway gets you downtown in 10 minutes for a whopping 50 cents or so.

And the rates are, maybe not as cheap as staying with a friend, but very reasonable.

All in all, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM_smitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very nice little boutique hotel within walking distance of palermo districts. The day staff are extremely helpful with offering suggestions and helping you get your bearings of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hooventood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We rolled up into the neighborhood and were immediately apprehensive..."gritty" is putting it gently. But in the midst of a crumbling, garbage strewn street is Soco BA. Entering in through the frosted glass doors you feel a sense of sanctuary/respite from this crazy megalopolis. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, generous breakfast, and as it turned out, a great central location for exploring Palermo, Recoleta, and Congresso neighborhoods. There's even a city bus around the corner that runs to La Boca.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Las Pampas"...it had a King sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#103 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#121 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#232 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Seb Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Seb Buenos Aires

Property: Chez Seb Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Lavalle, Buenos Aires C1190AAI, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Seb Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a large 1920s in the Tango area of Buenos Aires, transformed and refurbished to provide a modern and comfortable accommodation in a lovely setting. With spacious and welcoming atmosphere, Chez Seb provide to the guests, exceptional service and permanent personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chez Seb Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soco Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing