We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to two weeks of hiking and biking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vain Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Finished our trip with a 2-day stop in Buenos Aires before heading back to SF. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff is quite accommodating and a good location. Highly recommended. If ever back in BA I will certainly return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Jerry,
Thank you for choosing us at the end of your adventure trip around Argentina!
It always nice to read that a guest enjoyed his stay and that he will stay again with us on a future trip to Buenos Aires, so thank you again for leaving us here your review.
We look forward to your next visti in a nearby future.

Kind regards,
Vain Staff"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Vain hotel for two nights in a senior room. According to the sign displayed at the hotel front desk the rate for this room was USD 536 per night but we paid USD 470 for two nights (it was a last minute booking). Thank God for that....
Don't get me wrong, the hotel is nice, the staff are nice and breakfast is faultless however if I had paid USD 536 a night for this room I would have been very disappointed.
When we arrived, there was no one/no one offered to help us with our bags. The person at the front desk wasn't that welcoming and didn't explain basic things like when breakfast was served.
The room is very -very- small. The bed linen, furniture, toiletries are not up to that rate.
The day we arrived it was more than 40 degrees and no complimentary water was offered or available at the room. It may sound picky or high maintenance but, again, if you are paying that kind of rates, I believe that kind of things, attention to detail goes without saying. They offer complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoons which I think is a nice gesture as well as a complimentary drink that we decided not to have given that after waiting 20 mins at the bar with no one asking us if we wanted anything and another 20 after we actually ordered, we decided to tell the man at the hotel front desk (who was the same in charge of the bar) that we did not want it. He said he forgot about it and apologised but it was too late and, again, those are the kind of things that do not justify a hotel charging that much. If you want to charge those rates then, you have to offer a service accordingly.
Overall,it is a nice place, good location but I wouldn't probably stay there again...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for leaving us here your review.
Service is all for us, so your message has been informed to the general manager . We want to apologize for the receptionist s mistakes made during your stay.
We really look forward to have you here again to give us another chance!
Best regards,
Vain Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

When discovering new parts of the world, there is always a process to calibration to local standards of service, breakfast etc. We stayed in Vain at the beginning and end of your trip: what struck us the first time was the friendliness of the staff, the stylish fittings, and the good location in an up-and-coming neighbourhood full of restaurants. What struck us the second time was the sheer quality to which this place is run (and which we had taken for granted): for example, there are plenty of conversions (restaurants, shops) on a similar model in Palermo, but few to the same standard - well designed private and common rooms, good soundproofing, and, for the mainly interior courtyard windows, natty modern shutters which provide privacy. Similarly, we found service very friendly almost everywhere, but the efficiency and competence of the crew at Vain stands out : possibly the best hotel breakfast on your trip, and certainly the fasted and most-attentive table service. Various little snags were all resolved quickly and with a smile. Rooms vary a bit, and upper floors are probably nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sabine,
We would like to say: thank you!
It is nice to read your review about the hotel itself and our service. You are right, our rooms have the same style, but each room has its own touch , and the major categories are located on the 1st and 2nd floor.
We have 15 rooms in total, so you should come back to visit Buenos Aires to feel each room s atmosphere.
Really looking forward to have you here again as our guest on a future visit to the South.
Best regards,
Vain Staff"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for three days over Christmas 2013. GREAT breakfast, the menu even states to not be shy, order as much as you want (custom cooked eggs, etc), fantastic coffee, etc. Tea and snacks in the lounge area. The staff was very helpful especially one of the desk personnel Pablo. Located in a beautiful old building and furnished with modern taste. Walk a few blocks to the metro, and a few blocks to great and noted restaurants. We would go back.

Room Tip: The community lounge area is on the top floor - easy access to this from the room on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recon Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for leaving here such a nice review about us. We do our best to make our guests stay a nice one, so we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay.
Why not coming back on Christmas/New year eve days this year too, right?
Best regards,
Vain Staff"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights over Christmas. The area was very quiet on Christmas day, but was otherwise a fun neighborhood with tons of restaurants, bars, and shops. It is a little "edgier" in some places, but we didn't feel unsafe. We kept an eye out around us and had no issues.

The best part about this hotel was the breakfast. It was included in the price and was much better than many of the other hotels we visited. You can essentially order anything you want (in any quantity) off a fairly large menu. The fresh squeezed orange juice and pastries were great, and they also had a wide range of egg options.

We stayed in room 302 on the top floor. It was a nice room with a small private terrace. The bed was comfortable. The furniture and fixtures could use a bit of a refresh, but everything worked fine.

There are two rooms on the top floor and in addition there is a large communal terrace and indoor lounge area. The staff was helpful and spoke great English.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_Travel_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank your very for your nice comment about us and your stay at Vain!
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed Christmas in Palermo.
It has been informed your suggestion about maintenance on 302 room.
Looking forward to have you here again on a future visit to Buenos Aires.
Kind regards,
VAIN Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First impression: I had just lugged my suitcase a couple of blocks from the Plaza Italia subway stop on a warm summer afternoon, and the desk clerk offered me a glass of ice water. The staff at the Vain continued to deliver friendly, helpful service. Thames is a quiet shady street; the next street over, Borges, has many good shops and leads to the lively action in the heart of the Palermo district. The botanical gardens on the other side of the subway are a nice stroll, too. The interior rooms have no view but very superior comfort. Breakfast was simple but well prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr Roger,
Thank you for you positive message left here.
It is always nice to read that a guest enjoyed his stay, so thank you again.
Please, next time feel free to ask for another thing that you would like to have during breakfast if it is not on our menu - why not? our chef will do it if is possible to prepare it.
We really look forward to have you here again one day!
Best regards,
Vain Staff"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Vain Boutique Hotel in the Palermo Soho district of Buenos Aires, Argentina. The hotel is perfect! The Hotel staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating. They met our every need and want. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable (which is so important when you are traveling.) The breakfast, which was included in our package, was prepared fresh every day and to our tastes. The hotel is located in a very safe neighborhood, we were able to walk late at night and not feel scared. It is also located within a 15 - 20 minuted cab ride to downtown, which only costs about $15. US. On our last day there we had a late flight out and they allowed us to stay in the lounge area and brought us drinks and snacks until it was time to leave for the airport. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenosAiresVbh, General Manager at Vain Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mrs Donna,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your home in Buenos Aires.
We are glad to hear you like our service as well as your room.
You are right, Palermo is still a safe district.
Really looking forward to your future stay with us!
Best regards,
VAIN Staff"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#8 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,925 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,720 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#11 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#14 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,434 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,350 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#7 of 442 in Buenos Aires
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vain Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vain Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Thames 2226 8, Buenos Aires C1425FIF, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#15 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#47 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £73 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vain Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Palermo Viejo neighborhood, only 15 minutes away from the main tourist attractions, VAIN Boutique Hotel gives the possibility of having another alternative to the noisy BA downtown. It preserves the "Porteno" neighborhood feeling, combined with a bohemian and avant-garde mixture that can be sensed in the variety of stores, from fashion designers, antique and design furniture to coffee shops, fashion restaurants and bars, along with the traditional ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vain Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vain Boutique Buenos Aires
Hotel Vain Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing