We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Figura - faded glory & untapped potential”
Review of La Figura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Figura
Salvador da Bahia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La Figura - faded glory & untapped potential”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We recently spent 2 days & 2 nights at La Figura Estancia. Our group included two families of 4 with young children (7 & 10). We chose La Figura based on TA reviews & the fact that it had horseback riding, golf, pool, tennis, gameroom, etc... Below please find our summary of pro's & con's.

Positives:
+ Food was outstanding - the food was worthy of a good restaurant. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, and dinner are included with your overnight stay. Drinks, wine, alcohol are also included in the package. You will not go hungry and the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate your individual preferences.

+ Staff was very helpful and service oriented. Vera & Gabriel manage the estancia and were at our beck & call. They did everything within their control to ensure that we had a good time. The other staff members were also very professional and courteous.

+ Infrastructure - the historic main house had a lot of character & interesting architectural elements. There are ample common areas to socialize with friends and other guests. The house includes a projection tv viewing room and game room with pool table, ping pong, and foosball. The grounds includes a 9 hole golf course, tennis court, 2 swimming pools, and stable.

Areas for improvement:
- The place is in need of a good cleaning and routine maintenance. The exterior is faded with signs of weathering and mildew. The interior is dark, dusty, and damp in some places. Plumbing is old and there is very little water pressure. Bedrooms don't have air conditioning.
- Golf course and tennis court are also in need of routine maintenance - Grass on course not cut, greens not maintained (some don't have pins or holes), tennis court surface is cracked with water damage. They only had 2 sets of golf clubs, 3 tennis rackets and ONE tennis ball.
- While there were many horses on the ranch, they only had 6 saddles so we could not all ride together. The horse riding "trail" was just one loop around the perimeter of the grounds and took approximately 20-30 minutes. This may be adequate for first time riders but more experienced riders may be disappointed.
- Expensive! The cost per person was much higher than other estancias we looked into. Children above 8 were charged full adult price and children below 8 were 70% of full price. In addition, they don't accept credit cards - cash or money transfer only.

In summary, La Figura has all of the elements to be a first class retreat consistent with their pricing. The staff works hard and will do everything within their powers to ensure that you have a good time. The food is outstanding. The owners (not the staff) need to invest in refurbishment and maintenance to make this place worthy of its potential and five star pricing.

La Figura merits consideration if you are looking for a quick getaway from Buenos Aires and are more interested in old world charm and service rather than first class amenities. We expected more because of the price tag and rave reviews on TA.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBlue_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon for a day and a night. We were offered a glass of wine and some snacks upon arrival, and then lounged poolside for the afternoon. The estancia wasn't full when we were there, and we could practically pretend it was our own private mansion!! Dinner was served on a beautiful patio under the stars, and the food was great. The room was also really nice, lots of tiles and details. We spent the second day riding horses, golfing, and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lora d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This review is long overdue, but better late than never. What more can I say, I chose this estancia for my wedding after almost 2 years of searching for the perfect place in Buenos Aires. It is a bit further away from the city (1.5 hours drive), but once you see the beautiful Spanish castle and pool area, you'll fall in love. We brought 40 of our closest friends and family out to La Figura and everyone had a great time. Most people wished we'd spent more than 1 night here. The rooms were immaculate and regal. The food was superb - prepared by one of the best chefs in Argentina. The service was excellent and the new-born pony strutting around the property stole the show. We could not have asked for a better wedding experience. The next day we had an amazing parilla brunch and our guests enjoyed the golf course, right on the property, horseback riding and the pool. It's a great place to relax and be pampered. I highly recommend the estancia.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I am happy to be the first to write a review about the wonderful stay we had at La Figura. This estancia was a little pricier than others but well worth it. We only wish we had planned to stay for more than a day. It just wasn't enough time there.
This ranch is located just 1 hour outside of BA with a few bumpy roads along the way. Upon our arrival we were greated like we were family. The grounds are beautiful with a small golf course, farm animals everywhere, a tennis court and a great game room which our kids loved. We stayed in the castle and it seems we were the only family there so we were catered to for everything. For lunch the dining room was set for our party of 10 and we had the best empanadas, salad , french fries and steak we have ever had. Just amazing.. followed by great desserts. We went horsebackriding around the grounds and the little ones road in the carriage. The kids loved it! We had a light dinner and sat around the fireplace drinking wine until late. Had the place to ourselves. It was really a great experience and we can't wait to return on our next trip to BA. Don't miss this one.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenos Aires
Pop Hotel
#92 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Pampas del Sur
#1 of 4 in Canuelas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#239 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Figura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Figura

Property: La Figura
Address: Valeria de Crotto | Uribelarrea, District of Canuelas, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing