We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Duomi Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duomi Plaza Hotel
Ranked #184 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel was clean & friendly. Staff were helpful & the room was cleaned daily. It is reasonably well located beside the centre of Buenos Aires. Breakfast was served over the Christmas period in a makeshift restaurant (conference room) & was quite average. Unfortunately the hotel had no bar or food facilities so we were a little discommoded over the Christmas/New Year period as Buenos Aires came to a standstill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardRodgers211873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was a little aprehensive about the hotel due to all the bad reviews I saw here, but after getting there, I'm really glad I was proven wrong. The room is huge and the bed even bigger (really, really comfy, by the way). Maybe the hotel itself is not new, but everything seemed well conserved. The bathroom is equipped with the usual hair dryer and had a bathtub (which made me extremely happy). I even got a room with a little varanda! The breakfast is fine, nothing fancy and actually pretty plain. The downsize is that they charge for wifi (the only free wifi is in the restaurant) and the room service is poor (and I'm not even talking about the weird charging they do). The staff is friendly.

I think that the hotel worked fine for me because I went with my boyfriend and we really wanted to explore the city. So we weren't looking for luxury, just something enough for us. Having a hotel that is right in the center and in walking distance of pretty much everything we wanted to see was just perfect. Plus the hotel was really comfortable and friendly beyond our exprctations.

Overall, I'd totally recommend the place. Just keep in mind that it is a 3 star hotel and you get what you pay for.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is really not recomended. Their installations are not so bad, but the service pushes down its qualifying, besides the bad location.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronaldo_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed at the Duomi Hotel in Buenos Aires because our travel agent, GotMyFare.com, switched hotels on us one week before travel. When we were offered another hotel, TripAdvisor had worse reviews for it than this one, and the internet pictures for this hotel didn't look too bad. Pictures do lie. This hotel is old, run down and in a scary section of town. The wallpaper is peeling off, dirty carpets, dark dingy hallways, terrible lobby and the elevator quit working. There is a small balcony but it looks directly at a brick wall about 8 feet away. The breakfast was adequate, but not great. The four of us travelers endured four nights there and would not recommend it. I do not recommend the GotMyFare.com travel company either.

Room Tip: Pictures on internet lie, read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

When I arrived in Argentina at the hotel at noon (after a flight of 12 hours from Madrid), my room wasn't ready, so I was obliged to wait or walking on the street until my room was ready. I stayed for 2 nights. 2 weeks later I stayed another 2 nights in this hotel. I arrived from Ushuaia at 1.30h in the night. The reception-employee refused to let us in if we didn't give our creditcard (or 100$ in cash) as a guarantee for the mini-bar.
The rooms are spatious and clean, but for the wifi-network, they charge 25$ for 24 hours. Personally, I think that wifi should always be free.The location is ok, but not that special.
The hotel itself is a bit impersonal, but ok. The problem is with the service.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Werner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Duomi Plaza is a good hotel, I mean the rooms are very big and clean and the toillet is in the avareg. The people in front desk are very rude and unpolite and the location is quite bad although taxi in Buenos Aires are very cheap.
I had my voucher lost and the front desk woman was very unpolite to help me. She said that it was essential even though she looked in PC that was Ok.
I would recommend this hotel to cheap travel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGuy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Me and my husband stayed in Duomi Plaza last year and it was great. Although the location is ugly it´s quite next to Corrientes avenue, Calle Florida, Puerto Madero and 9 July avenue. Very central place. The best of all was the huge comfortable room. Very friendly staff too. I recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LetsBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolás
Tribeca Buenos Aires Apart
Tribeca Buenos Aires Apart
#178 of 440 in Buenos Aires
425 reviews
San Nicolás
Babel Plaza
Babel Plaza
#227 of 440 in Buenos Aires
111 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#137 of 440 in Buenos Aires
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolás
San Remo City Hotel
San Remo City Hotel
#323 of 440 in Buenos Aires
238 reviews
Retiro
Unique Executive Chateau
Unique Executive Chateau
#394 of 440 in Buenos Aires
631 reviews
San Nicolás
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#42 of 440 in Buenos Aires
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duomi Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duomi Plaza Hotel

Address: Calle Bartolome Mitre 1480, Buenos Aires C1037ABB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas , El Centro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £24 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duomi Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duomi Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing