We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever!! DO NOT GO HERE!!”
Review of Bauen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bauen Hotel
Ranked #342 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I read the terrible reviews about this hotel before going last weekend, sadly I couldn't change our reservation cause it was part of a good deal for the U2 concert.

The hotel is totally update and in terrible shape, the rooms are hot and with no AC working, the bathroom was very dirty, so was the rest of the room. Windows can't be closed well and the curtains are ripped so the sunlight comes in directly to your face.

They gave us a triple bed room when we had reservation for a double bed room, the sheets and the mattress were dirty and really uncomfortable.

Please look at the pictures!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RMMuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Bauen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2008

If you're a European or North American traveler used to corporate hotels, the Bauen is neither comfortable nor hospitable. In addition to the badly worn and faded interiors that other Web reviews prepared me for, the air conditioning was also not operative (in late November with a west-facing room this was a real discomfort), the storied basement disco lounge was closed, and the staff were even surlier than I would have expected of survivalist porteno service employees.

That said, the hotel cooperative is giving it a good effort and the basic hotel services are fine (I used the hotel laundry service and delivery was prompt and tidy). The real reason to stay there is to give business to a group of people who took over an abandoned property and reopened it for business to demonstrate their right to work. Legally dicey, and hardly an example of a government looking out for its people, it remains an intriguing case of labor disputes-- in North America and Europe, these are usually executed by not working, where here we have a mostly functioning hotel run by people who needed work to maintain their livelihoods. If you don't see any merit or legitimacy in this position, there's no especially compelling reason to stay there. Don't go expecting the worker cooperative story to be immediately apparent, and if you like comfort and have a few extra pesos to spend, look for something plusher.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank villeradieuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2005

I was put here when there were troubles with the airlines to ensure my flight back home. The only thing I can say about the Bauen that is slightly positive is that this is why I like to make my own reservations. The hotel is old, very old. You walk into the lobby only to be greeted by seniors listenting to has-been opera singers on an overpowered amp (probably to accomodate the collective hearing loss). I could barely speak with the front desk it was so loud. Adding to the atmosphere was the cloud of smoke lingering in the lobby.

The receptionist insisted that I wait for the bellboy to take my two bags (both carry-on size that I carried from NYC to BA by myself). After waiting ten minutes I said I would rather take it myself than wait any longer. She looked puzzled and refused to hand over the key until I insisted that she give me the key. Then, only two of the 3 elevators were working and some amateur soccer teams along with a socialist party group of 20-30 kids were all waiting. I pushed to the head of the group to squeeze onto to the elevator fearing it would be another hour of listening to the opera screamers until I could unpack.

Then the room! I found the room with the door open and the maid sitting on the bed talking with a friend on the phone. I knocked on the door and she looked annoyed that I would try and enter and actually asked to see my key. The walls were chipped, the beds soft and squeeky, the windows allow all of the noise from the Callao/Corrientes intersection to seep in, there was only one outlet, no safe, and the air conditioning does not come on until summer (mind you, it was 80 degrees the night I stayed there).

I tried to change rooms and succeded in only getting on the same side, but 9 floors lower. The bed was a bit firmer, but overall the room was the same.

All in all, unless you want to be miserable, save your pesos and find someplace better.


  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Camiloche G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Para disfrutar de la ciudad elije las habitaciones de los niveles superiores.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DIKA2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AntoLo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alvaromartinez1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 443 in Buenos Aires
225 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#80 of 443 in Buenos Aires
986 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Americano
Hotel Americano
#252 of 443 in Buenos Aires
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#55 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,434 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#222 of 443 in Buenos Aires
139 reviews
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#195 of 443 in Buenos Aires
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauen Hotel

Address: Avenida Callao 360 | At Corrientes, Barrio Norte, Buenos Aires C1022AAQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bauen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bauen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauen Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing