We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment. Great location. Good value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda, studio & suite
Ranked #24 of 258 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
BA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment. Great location. Good value.”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Overall this place was excellent and I would go out of my way to stay here again, especially if I were in Buenos Aires for less than two weeks. (I would look at renting a proper apartment for a longer stay.)

Jacaranda consists of three suites. One is very small, one is medium and one is larger. My wife, our toddler son and I stayed in the larger one. It comprises a bedroom, a second room (which functions as a combined living/dining/spare bed), a bathroom (with actual bath) and a kitchenette (microwave, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery).

The suite is lovely: it is light and airy and can be cooled with aircon or by opening lovely tall windows. It has some nice architectural details and a lovely view on to a leafy courtyard below. It has also been tastefully and practically appointed inside. The only downside was that it was quite noisy - but this could be minimised by closing the windows and drawing the curtains.

Lilian, your host (if I may call her that), while not present, makes herself readily contactable and is very helpful. The only awkward thing that happened was when we cancelled one of our nights stay with about 10 days notice to fit better with our other plans. She several times asked us to try and change our other plans so she would not be left with a night of the apartment being empty and we felt considerable pressure to do so. In fairness, she pointed out that we had had the room booked for that particular night for about 3 weeks and she had missed other opportunities to rent it out. But isn't this part of the business?

Breakfast is included and is taken at one of two cafes nearby. We tried both. The breakfast at El Frances (the one that is slightly further away and the only option on weekends) is, in our opinion, the better one. There you have a choice of three breakfasts including, we were delighted to discover, an option that includes scrambled eggs (instead of endless media lunas and dulce de leche that you normally get). I highly recommend this option if you like scrambled eggs. Unfortunately the service at El Frances leaves a lot to be desired. I wondered if this might be because they are paid by Lilian and not ourselves directly. On the other hand, at least they didn't do what the other breakfast cafe waiters did and pointedly say "tip is not included" when we handed over our breakfast voucher.

The location is ideal, in Palermo, which is a great place to be.

The value is also excellent in my opinion, especially at this price point.

If you stay here, especially in the largest suite, I doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: The biggest suite is best. The smallest suite is to be avoided if you are at all claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostMyWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
66
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The neighbourhood is very flamboyant, pleasant to walk in, a choice of good restaurants.

Lilian could not have been more helpful, she gave me tailor-made information and a lot of practical trips.

The accomodation is nice and clean and the owners take great care to give the human touch that is so important in a big city

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Room with sep bathroom. Breakfast at a cafe around the corner. Wifi. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The stay at Jacaranda was perfect. Lilian gave us a lot of useful information about Buenos Aires. The apartment was small, clean and nicely decorated. A small kitchen is integrated, and the owner thought of anything you might need (shampoo, free welcome drinks in the fridge, an umbrella etc). Breakfast was included - you had the choice between two cute cafés across the street. Palermo is a safe neighborhood and comfortable to stay. I would definitely stay at Jacaranda again.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite was fine for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antje M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in the small studio and it's a really charming place to stay. There is room enough for 1 person and for a couple too, the only problem can be the basic wardrobe if you are going to stay long time. Bathroom is small but ok. There is a frigde, microwave, tea/coffe facilities and excellente wi-fi too, in addition to the common Pc.
You get a daily voucher for breakfast at any of the 2 closest restaurants. It's really well located at Palermo in a quiet area.
Owners Lilian and Alfonso are really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We spent a week at the Suite in Jacaranda with the family and we loved it. Very convenient, easy access to public transportation (you do not want to drive in Buenos Aires traffic), walking distance to the best Restaurants in Palermo. Lilian and Alfonso played the perfect hosts, speak flawless English and made us feel right at home. The suite has a queen bed on the master bedroom and two twins in the spare room. Full bathroom & kitchenette completed a very convenient accommodation. Breakfast was provided at "El Frances" a sun bathed corner bistro a block away. Full maid service every day took all the worries away, with plenty of time for sightseeing and enjoying the great food of Buenos Aires. We do recommend Jacaranda Suites for any length stay in Argentina.

Room Tip: Jacaranda has only three rooms: The Suite for four, The Sudio for two, and the Patio for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

On our way back from Uruguay, my husband and I had to stay 3 nights in BA because our flight was cancelled owing to the volcanic ash. Lucky for us that the stay was at this charming place. Our hosts, Lilian and Alphonso, were more than helpful and charming to boot. The suite was lovely, spacious and well located in Palermo Soho. We felt as if we were staying in a European room. We even received vouchers for breakfast at a nearby French restaurant. We are returning to stay again in November.

Room Tip: We loved the spacious suite. Three rooms: a bedroom, a sitting room and a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetsWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
First Palermo Hotel
First Palermo Hotel
#211 of 445 in Buenos Aires
157 reviews
Palermo
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
#147 of 445 in Buenos Aires
163 reviews
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#139 of 445 in Buenos Aires
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
Home Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 445 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Palermo
06 Soho Suites
06 Soho Suites
#36 of 258 in Buenos Aires
130 reviews
Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
#15 of 258 in Buenos Aires
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda, studio & suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda, studio & suite

Property: Jacaranda, studio & suite
Address: Calle Uriarte 1488 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DAN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda consists in 3 apartments in an old house recently renovated, 1 on the ground floor with access to the courtyard, and 2 on the first floor overlooking the garden.The Suite is a lovely 2 rooms apartment, spacious and sunny, excellent for families or group of friends.The Garden Studio is a lovely one room apartment, with private access to our courtyard.The Studio is a compact apartment, excellent for singles, but also ok for a couple.All the apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, CD player, free Wi Fi, fridge, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, safe box, hair dryer, towels heater, between others services. There is no lift.Sheets and towels are 100% cotton, excellent quality.Twin and Queen beds are set upon request.Continental breakfast is served in a nice Bistro, crossing the street.There is a computer connected to Internet in the hall, that our guests have free access.There is a place to keep safe your luggage after check out or before check in.There is no front desk, so it is necesary to organize check in time in advance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing