We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda, studio & suite
Ranked #27 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I must confess at the outset that we have checked into Jacaranda five times in the past - whenever we are in Buenos Aires I will always stay there. Why? Because we think it is just about perfect.

I have stayed in each of the three available apartments in this quiet leafy street in bohemian Palermo. All were lovely, clean and well equipped. The smallest, the Studio, has a reasonable - sized bedroom and a separate bathroom. The new Garden Suite (my favourite, if it is available!) has a large bedroom, excellent bathroom and private secluded patio garden. It is cleverly designed with a kitchenette in a cupboard. The largest apartment, the Suite, has a huge bedroom, a living room that can sleep more people, a mini kitchen and a large bathroom.

All the rooms have a tv, fridge, kettle, microwave and basic equipment hen equipment. All the rooms are very well appointed and furnished to a very high standard. They are also cleaned daily.

The two-story building was once a house and sits, perfectly positioned, at one quiet corner of the fashionable area of Palermo Viejo. Walk one block northeast or southeast and you enter a myriad of boutique shops, individual bars, cares and restaurants ranging from cheap taco bars to expensive sophisticated places. It is a fantastic area to stay in.

If you want to travel further afield it is a very nice 20 minute walk along the leafy street of Uriarte to Av. Santa Fe where you can get the underground or, if you have the change, the 29 bus which travels through San Telmo and on to La Boca and is an excellent and super-cheap way to see the city.

Breakfast is included with all the rooms. You are given a voucher each day which you can spend at one of two cages only 1 minute away. One, cafe Impetu, has a set breakfast and the other, Cafe Frances, has a choice of three or, if you pay the difference, you can nchoose whatever you liked. Our favourite was the 'Frances' featuring an omelette and sugary French toast with freshly squeezed orange, water and tea or coffee.

Perhaps the best asset of Jacaranda isn't the building at all, it is the owner Lillian. She will normally greet you with the key upon arrival and is a mine of information about the city. You will be able to call her if you have any questions and she couldn't be more helpful. She also speaks good English! If you need to know something or need some help she'll be there for you.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay then I really can't think of anywhere better!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
65
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We loved staying in Jacaranda, the studio was just what we wanted - cheap and close to all amenities. The area is fantastic with lots of good shops, bars and restaurants and the recommendations we received when we arrived at the apartment were spot on. It was also nice that for breakfast you had an option of two nearby cafe's, they were both nice to sit it and soak up the surroundings. The underground was a ten minute walk and a great way to get around the city. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterKimandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I had a delightful stay at the Jacaranda Studio, and feel that all the good reviews that we read here were accurate and the praise well deserved. Lilian took a lively interest in what we wanted to see and do and gave us valuable advice. We would wholeheartedly recommend Jacaranda to any traveler

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatricioNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at the Jacaranda in January 2011 prior to boarding a cruise. Although Lilian was out of town, she and her staff were still able to meet all our needs. The Jacaranda is located in a safe neighborhood and you can easily walk to great restaurants, shops and galleries. It was nice having free internet service, using their computer in the hallway. We stayed in the ground floor studio, liked our "kitchen" facilities which allowed us the choice of dining in our private courtyard rather than going out. Only negative - it was hot and Americans tend to take lots of showers which require lots of towels. Problem easily solved - a Chinese laundry is 1 block away which provides same day service and is very inexpensive. We plan to return to Buenos Aires and will definitely try to stay at the Jacaranda again - a great place to come "home" to.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElMur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

As it was Christmas we treated ourselves to this little gem in a different area to where we stayed last year. We were slightly surprised that we had to sign a contract, but you need to view this as a studio apartment and not as a b&b.

The ground floor studio was well designed, and Lilian the owner has certainly thought through exactly what you will need. A wardrobe door opens to reveal small sink, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. There are just enough plates and cutlery to enable you to have a small meal and the outside terrace made the whole area seem quite spacious. (Was somewhat surprised that the outside space is shared by the gallery, and the whole gallery overlooks the patio......so no sitting out in your jim jams or sunbathing naked).

Lack of storage other than the area in the entrance hall meant you had to be quite tidy so as to be comfortable. The shower had its own boiler so water was always hot. Soap and shampoo were provided as was a hairdryer which was a bonus.

In the entrance hall is a computer, novels, books on Argentina, as well as useful leaflets for all 3 apartments to share. Each apartment has its own safe. There is a daily maid service, though she never changed the sheets or towels both of which were good quality. Bed is comfortable, television has English language channels and there is a free phone (local calls only) and free soft drinks in the fridge. Breakfast was with vouchers at two local bistros. One was closed and the other one kept sending us away as we got there too early at 9. Finally had breakfast at 10 and decided probably best to do our own as theirs wasn’t particularly good anyway. Negotiated with Lilian a reduction on the price and did our own for the last few days.

During our stay people were partying next door so had a couple of sleepless nights. If you wish to meet other guests this is not the place for you as there are no communal areas other than the computer. Palermo is a lovely area, full of restaurants and boutiques, which we weren’t really interested in so a bit wasted on us. Probably wouldn’t stay here again as we like to try a different place each time but would definitely recommend it if you want to stay in this area

Room Tip: Go for the downstairs studio rather than the upstairs one as it bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Overall this place was excellent and I would go out of my way to stay here again, especially if I were in Buenos Aires for less than two weeks. (I would look at renting a proper apartment for a longer stay.)

Jacaranda consists of three suites. One is very small, one is medium and one is larger. My wife, our toddler son and I stayed in the larger one. It comprises a bedroom, a second room (which functions as a combined living/dining/spare bed), a bathroom (with actual bath) and a kitchenette (microwave, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery).

The suite is lovely: it is light and airy and can be cooled with aircon or by opening lovely tall windows. It has some nice architectural details and a lovely view on to a leafy courtyard below. It has also been tastefully and practically appointed inside. The only downside was that it was quite noisy - but this could be minimised by closing the windows and drawing the curtains.

Lilian, your host (if I may call her that), while not present, makes herself readily contactable and is very helpful. The only awkward thing that happened was when we cancelled one of our nights stay with about 10 days notice to fit better with our other plans. She several times asked us to try and change our other plans so she would not be left with a night of the apartment being empty and we felt considerable pressure to do so. In fairness, she pointed out that we had had the room booked for that particular night for about 3 weeks and she had missed other opportunities to rent it out. But isn't this part of the business?

Breakfast is included and is taken at one of two cafes nearby. We tried both. The breakfast at El Frances (the one that is slightly further away and the only option on weekends) is, in our opinion, the better one. There you have a choice of three breakfasts including, we were delighted to discover, an option that includes scrambled eggs (instead of endless media lunas and dulce de leche that you normally get). I highly recommend this option if you like scrambled eggs. Unfortunately the service at El Frances leaves a lot to be desired. I wondered if this might be because they are paid by Lilian and not ourselves directly. On the other hand, at least they didn't do what the other breakfast cafe waiters did and pointedly say "tip is not included" when we handed over our breakfast voucher.

The location is ideal, in Palermo, which is a great place to be.

The value is also excellent in my opinion, especially at this price point.

If you stay here, especially in the largest suite, I doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: The biggest suite is best. The smallest suite is to be avoided if you are at all claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostMyWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The neighbourhood is very flamboyant, pleasant to walk in, a choice of good restaurants.

Lilian could not have been more helpful, she gave me tailor-made information and a lot of practical trips.

The accomodation is nice and clean and the owners take great care to give the human touch that is so important in a big city

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#115 of 447 in Buenos Aires
386 reviews
Palermo
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
Prodeo Hotel + Lounge
#156 of 447 in Buenos Aires
160 reviews
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#135 of 447 in Buenos Aires
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
Casa Aire Palermo
#14 of 256 in Buenos Aires
100 reviews
Palermo
Casabierta
Casabierta
#72 of 256 in Buenos Aires
3 reviews
Palermo
Boho Rooms
Boho Rooms
#26 of 256 in Buenos Aires
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda, studio & suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda, studio & suite

Property: Jacaranda, studio & suite
Address: Calle Uriarte 1488 | Palermo, Buenos Aires C1414DAN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda consists in 3 apartments in an old house recently renovated, 1 on the ground floor with access to the courtyard, and 2 on the first floor overlooking the garden.The Suite is a lovely 2 rooms apartment, spacious and sunny, excellent for families or group of friends.The Garden Studio is a lovely one room apartment, with private access to our courtyard.The Studio is a compact apartment, excellent for singles, but also ok for a couple.All the apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, CD player, free Wi Fi, fridge, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, safe box, hair dryer, towels heater, between others services. There is no lift.Sheets and towels are 100% cotton, excellent quality.Twin and Queen beds are set upon request.Continental breakfast is served in a nice Bistro, crossing the street.There is a computer connected to Internet in the hall, that our guests have free access.There is a place to keep safe your luggage after check out or before check in.There is no front desk, so it is necesary to organize check in time in advance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing