We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place”

El Preferido de Palermo
Ranked #416 of 4,847 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local place”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for here. It's a good lunch place, cheap and not touristy. Locals come here for lunch (including police officers).

We got 2 tortillas (very filling) and a sparkling water for 90 Ars + tip

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    164
    76
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Great Bodegon!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I love this place.

Good service, good food, good beer and good prices. One of the most attractive Bodegones of Buenos Aires. Feel the atmosphere and relax.

At the last time we received an special gift: a wonderful and charming calendar.

A must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Some Spanish language could have helped”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Positive Tripadvisor reviews and a recommendation by our hotel prompted four of us to dine at the El Preferido. Beyond simple pleasanteries, none of us speak Spanish. And this became a problem, as none of the waiters spoke English. The menu has some English, but is baffling in layout. Many of the offerings were not available - but only came to light a few minutes after the order was made.
And the final outcome - three of us received steak (well done, but tender), eggs and chips. One of our group suggested that the chef might have thought we were English, and provided us with typical English fare. The alternative and darker suggestion was that they thought we were English, and gave us a Malvinas-influenced outcome.
On the positive side, the place was packed, by locals, and their meals looked far more interesting. The location, decor and ambience are great. As the locals obviously love the place, my rating was upgraded.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Value, Authentic Food, Different”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A locals' favorite, great food at a great price. Price for 6 including bottle of wine: $500 pesos
Loved the atmosphere in this restaurant/grocery store. The decor is original yet simple. The service was fast and friendly. The food was very good yet simple. For example, if you ask for a salad you will get your lettuce and cut tomatoes in a bowl. Oil and vinegar on the table, nothing fancy.
The restaurant is very clean, but the chairs/bar stools are rather uncomfortable and I was ready to leave as soon as I was done with the food.
The "arroz con leche" or rice pudding was fantastic!!!!
I would definitely recommend this restaurant when in Palermo. You are in for some excellent, economic food in a great setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooresvilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cracking value”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Great value, great tasting food. Very friendly staff.

Would suggest this if you are after a meal at good value. The steak is only 55 pesos!!

Helpful?
Thank brindlej
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed El Preferido de Palermo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Preferido de Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing