We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location. Regular hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
725 Continental Hotel
Ranked #80 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad location. Regular hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Rooms in the lower floors are noisy. Their Internet is extremely slow. You cannot Skype because of the speed. The location is in a part of Buenos Aires which is empty at night and unsafe. There are much better choices of hotels and areas in Buenos Aires. Also the room I got had no hot water in the afternoon and was very small.
I requested to change room and they said the hotel was full. The two days I had breakfast, the place was almost empty, which made me think the hotel was not full.
Breakfast was good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fersoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    412
    110
    29
    26
See reviews for
124
391
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I?m here for 1 night only. The room is very nice and quiet, but the wifi works best at the lobby, which has a modern bar / restaurant with an average food. The shower is big, but the water has not enough preasure for it and the box is just to small to wash your hair without touching the glass with your elbows.

Helpful?
Thank FabioColletto
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We weren't sure about choosing a hotel so close to the centre of things, but it turned out to be a real blessing. Using the hotel as our base, we walked the sights and places of central Buenos Aires for a week - in fact, for several days we didn't have a choice because all the surrounding streets were closed off for a massive demonstration. Which was fun in itself: finding ourselves on the wrong side of the mile-long column of marchers, with no way to get beyond the barricades to our hotel, we simply joined in with the parade until we found a security guy who took pity on us and let us through the metal wall. The hotel is seriously urban, street noise (even from our room several floors above the traffic) was minimal, and service was discreet and reliable. Comfortable beds, reasonably sized rooms, but (probably because of the hotel's proud adherence to modernist design) less than the expected amount of in-room storage space for clothes. Good breakfast, nice roof deck, close to everything. Yes, you need to be careful on the streets, as other reviewers have pointed out, but that's not the hotel's fault: you need to be careful anywhere in Buenos Aires - we were mugged in San Telmo, as well as getting some great tango lessons there. On all occasions, it was a relief to come home to this efficient and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diaghilev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a nice hotel in the center of the city. Comfortable size rooms and airconditioned.
Only drawback, like most hotels in South America, no coffee making facilities- but you can get a "take away" cup of coffee from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvguyKfarSaba_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Location; Dependent on what you're looking for this hotel, situated in the downtown, is not in the right spot - according to me. Downtown is messy and dirty. Next time I'm going for either Recoleta or Palermo, which has more charm and personality.
Standard of room (725); Modern and nicely designed. No need to pay for this standard of room if you're not planning to work during your stay. Good standard, but no luxury. The aircon was not functioning in my room, which offcourse is bad at +28 degrees celsius.
Roof terrace: I booked this hotel as the roof terrace with its swimming pool looked nice. This was one of the dissapointments!!! You will not be able to relax here since the fans from the Aircon is situated here. The noice is terrible! The pool is small and the whole thing is worn down. It looks nice on the pics on web, but it's not.
Service; It didn't meet the minimum requirements even. When you feel that you're bothering the staff it's not good. Most of staff don't speak english.
Restaurant ground level; Don't go. Lousy food and bad service.
Breakfast; The breakfast was good with a chef preparing omelette or scrambled eggs. Lots of fruit and some variety of bread.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up in the building as the traffic will ruin your sleep otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sailing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over Christmas. We arrived Christmas day when most of the city was shut and it felt very roomy in the neighborhood. What a difference when the usual crowds returned. Every sidewalk is broken and I'm glad we were in casual clothes/shoes. Bus service is close - I mean constantly going by on all sides of the block. We left the window open the first night to enjoy a cool breeze but almost choked the next night as bus after bus went by. Of course that makes visiting the city easy - no wandering around to find your hotel. Convenient to the major taxi/shuttle bus stop as well so airport transfer is simple.

The hotel itself is reasonable. Wifi was so-so but always available, breakfast buffet was the usual fare. When we were initally placed in a smoking room we had zero problems switching to non-smoking and the beds (in both rooms) were firm and clean. The rooftop patio is great - our favorite part of the stay. The pool is tucked away - more for relaxing than enjoying a scene of any kind. Gym looked small but about what you would expect. The stairs are circular and could be a challenge to navigate if you have any mobility issues. The smallish elevators the only real option unless you stay on the lower floors - nothing to see in the higher rooms from what I could tell anyway. It's an english-centric hotel.

In retrospect, we would have located closer to the Palermo district as that was where we enjoyed walking around the most. But for a combination of features, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose dos Campos
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very good choice. Rooms are modern, spacious, good mattress. The douche is very relaxing with a good flow of water! Breakfast is very complete: fruits, cereals, yogurts, different types of breads (try the medialunas), ham, cheese, fresh omelet, juices, coffee, cakes, etc. Staff very helpful and nice. This hotel is very well located. It is 2 blocks far from Florida Avenue and 4 blocks from Corrientes and 9 de Julio (obelisk). There is a subway line in the avenue. You can walk 15 to 20 minutes to Puerto Madero. The internet worked all the time in a very reasonable speed. This hotel is highly recommended!
I would just recommend the owner to put more light in the bathroom and one in the closet. Also, it would be very good if the shower area was closed to avoid spilling water in the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room far from the elevator because it makes a sound every time it reaches the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccipola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
NH Buenos Aires 9 de Julio
#53 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#44 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
San Nicolas
NH Collection Buenos Aires Jousten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#58 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
San Nicolas
Novotel Buenos Aires
Novotel Buenos Aires
#61 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 725 Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 725 Continental Hotel

Property: 725 Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida Roque Saenz Pena 725, Buenos Aires C1035AAC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#59 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#74 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#76 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#80 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 725 Continental Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 725 Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
725 Continental Buenos Aires
Hotel 725 Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing