We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent boutique hotel in Palermo”
Review of Legado Mitico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legado Mitico
Ranked #30 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An excellent boutique hotel in Palermo”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early September. The manager was warm & friendly. The foyer opens into a large lounge and dining area, decorated with picture books. Each room is named for a famous Argentinean. Ours was El Heroe, named for Belgrano. A very nice room, with view onto Gurruchaga. The hotel is right in the middle of a very cool, hopping neighborhood. We ran down to the Botanical Gardens, walked to great restaurants (esp. La Cabrera), and found cabs easily. The managers were always very helpful in recommending restaurants.
BTW - taxi drivers seem to have never heard of this place. Make sure you have the address written down to show them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbengt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    80
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
312
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

As tourists in our city, we decided to leave our home for a night and went to Gurruchaga 1848, few blocks away. An old house, nicely restored. Excellent service since a young man opened the door. A perfect place to take a break from the routine.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after characters in the local culture, we stayed at Martín Fierro, the "gau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisbzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

For the last portion of our trip, after coming back from spectacular Salta & Jujuy, we decided to stay at Legado Mitico so that we could experience Palermo Soho. The neighborhood definitely has a different and younger feel compared to our earlier stay in stately Recoleta, with more shops, restaurants, and just in general more activities and people strolling about in Palermo.

The Hotel itself looks just as shown in the photographs on the hotel website: a combination of plush rich color tones but with a little bit of whims! One rings the bell to enter, so that one feels that one is entering a private club. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and polite; from the beginning, all of our e-mail communications with Leandro and Damian were prompt, clear, helpful, and very welcoming. We had the El Tanguero deluxe room, which is spacious and very quiet as it looks onto the interior courtyard. The decorative fireplace provides a nice touch on a drizzly winter day in August. The large bathroom comes with 2 wash basins; a walk-in rainshower separate from the bathtub; and plentiful bath amenities. Our room and the public spaces are all very clean and decorated with warm colors. The breakfast buffet does include eggs cooked to order and is served in a small area, next to the richly decorated, inviting, and well-stocked library. One evening, after our early dinner, we came back and wanted to browse in the library, and the very kind staff offered us steaming cups of herbal tea with candied orange peels: how sweet! In fact, we felt that we were guests at a private club, well-looked after by very discreet, warm, and polite staff. There is no full-service restaurant on site for dinner, but there are numerous cafes and restaurants nearby, and La Cabrera is just several easy blocks away, where we had a very enjoyable and plentiful lunch.

Room Tip: Let the staff what type of room you want, and they will help. They are very responsive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Add the word 'boutique' into the description of a hotel, and you have our attention. And this place epitomises everything that's good about small, high-end, privately owned establishments which employ staff who care, provide facilities which exceed expectations, food which delights and unparalleled location.

The room we had (El Tanguero) was quirky, fun, well appointed and well positioned overlooking the courtyard. Knowledgeable front desk staff were ever-keen to please, giving good advice and direction. The breakfast set up was superb.

Great base to explore Palermo and Buenos Aires, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank double0stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of the honeymoon. The room was "the painter".
On the whole we were really pleased with the room which was overlooking a quiet road. The hotel was decorated fantastically and the staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel is great - Palmero Soho is where you want to be. Very relaxed, upmarket, friendly and happening. Breakfast was good, a self-service affair but with nice food. Possibly you would get tired of it if you were there for a long time.

On the downside: The bathroom could have been more luxurious - it was a little small (bath was very small) and the plug leaked quite a lot.
I agree with a previous reviewer - the bottom sheet on the bed is too small so it comes off in the night. Not major or anything, just a bit weird!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannahhanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

On balance we felt this was a very lovely hotel - boutique in nature - small enough to mean you got exceptional service. Our concierge organised restaurant reservations for us (three exceptional restaurants!) and gave us lots of advice on how to get to different places and where to go, for example, to a tango show. That aspect was brilliant. Additionally, the location in Palermo Soho was very good - quiet and peaceful but with some very good upscale bars and restaurants very nearby. The only thing which let it down was the lack of a restaurant or indeed even a good breakfast. Breakfast is possibly my favourite meal of the day and if I don't have a good breakfast I struggle for the rest of the day. The food was OK but limited in choice. I usually eat fruit but don't like bananas and the only fruit was a fruit salad riddled with bananas. Equally I like cereal but there was only one kind of granola and nothing else (which I did eat each day and was OK). It was fine (and I know I am a bit fussy so probably not an issue for lots of people) but not as good as all the other wonderful elements of the hotel so something they could look to improve. All in all it did not distract from our wonderful time in this hotel or indeed in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: We had La Arrabalera and it was very nice indeed - on the first floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The small hotel Legado Mitico was one of the most charming Boutique Hotels I had during my trip through Argentina.
All rooms are differently designed, I had the room Del Libertador, which is very cosy and familiar. My room was very spacious and quiet, the bathroom as well. The service was excellent, especially the cleaning up-service was very good.
Breakfast is delicious. The lounging room is fantastic for relaxing, reading or checking e-mails, order a fresh cup of coffee and feel good with the finest sweet goodies.
The team is very helpful and friendly, you get all information you need at the desk, maps and also gay information is available in the lobby.
The hotel is only a few blocks to some popular gay bars and clubs, so it's a perfect location as well for gay nightlife. As I realized too, the neighbourhood of Palermo is a favorite area where a lot of gays are living, so it's the best place to stay - and a very safe too - in Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good and comfortable, even the rooms locataded on the street side are quiet eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#95 of 445 in Buenos Aires
383 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#3 of 445 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 445 in Buenos Aires
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
#21 of 445 in Buenos Aires
438 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,848 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#26 of 445 in Buenos Aires
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legado Mitico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legado Mitico

Property: Legado Mitico
Address: Calle Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires C1414DIL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legado Mitico 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a wonderful combination of old and contemporary, ideal for those who seek the authentic and sophisticated. There is a friendly, cosy atmosphere at this eleven room hotel, with each ensuite room decorated differently and dedicated to different legendary Argentine characters. Each room has its own full bathroom and is air conditioned with an LCD flat screen television, minibar, and safe. There is a jacuzzi and solarium and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Legado Mitico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legado Mitico Buenos Aires
Legado Mitico Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing