We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Argentine ambience”
Review of Legado Mitico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legado Mitico
Ranked #25 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Argentine ambience”
Reviewed 28 January 2009

What a lovely, characterful hotel. We stayed in the El Tanguero room which looks over the peaceful garden patio at the rear of the hotel. The attention to detail and care that went into creating this boutique hotel is astonishing. You could easily spend your whole stay reading books, looking at photos and examining artifacts that shed light on the history of Argentina and the personalities that have shaped it.

Our room was very spacious and the bed large and comfortable. We felt totally relaxed in our surroundings. The staff were discrete but helpful (right down to the security guard who seems to be on permanent station outside of the entrance). We mainly went to them for restaurant recommendations and they served us well in that respect.

The hotel's location is excellent - right in the midst of a lively pub and restaurant scene and with plenty of shopping in the day time. This was a return visit for us to Buenos Aires. On our first visit we stayed in San Telmo. I wouldn't like to venture an opinion on which district is "better" but we certainly enjoyed being based somewhere which offered a contrasting perspective on the city from that gained on our first visit.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — You have to find a staff member to get a drink
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    79
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
311
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco usa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

The lovely experience at this delightful property began at reception, where we were warmly greeted and served coffee as we checked in. This is a tiny boutique hotel, so don't expect a giant gym, full service restaurant or other Marriott trappings. What you can expect is a lovely public space on the ground floor...charming library ambiance, and a small but delightful outdoor garden room. Continental breakfast is served here, and it was entirely enjoyable, with delicious pastries, fruit, yogurt, cold meats, etc. I saw 3 sleeping rooms, and each was attractively designed, spacious, and featured comfortable beds. The decor was always top notch, even if the execution/quality of the design showed a few flaws. The rooms are also a bit worn...painting and upkeep will need to be ongoing to keep this place looking great. And, one of the most important features...the neighborhood. Step outside your door, and you are in the most walkable, most charming and most enjoyable neighboorhood in the city for a visitor. Good restaurants, boutiques, cafes, bars, etc. all abound within easy walking distance. I highly recommend this lovely spot.

  • Liked — Great combination of attractive property in great neighborhood
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

A good hotel, very expensive but in a really good location in Palermo Soho. Poor breakfast and very noisy due to the fact that the doors of the rooms are made of a very noisy material. I loved the location and that´s it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

What a great place! Beautifully done hotel/rooms. The public rooms are stunning, especially at night as the lighting is so well done. We had two rooms-a deluxe and a standard room. The deluxe (El Tanguero) is very large with spa tub and separate shower. Very thoughtfully decorated and quiet as it faces the patio in the rear of hotel. Excellent and friendly staff were very helpful in making reservations, dining suggestions, etc. Best location in town, too.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Huuhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there previously and were not disappointed. From the time we were greeted to the time we checked out, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, making reservations and arranging transportation.

We stayed in El Heroe and La Primera Dama and both rooms were wonderful. The location of the hotel is great, there were so many restaurants and funky little shops located all within walking distance. We ended up spending the entire day just walking around in the neighbourhood for our shopping.

I'd say the only downside was that the breakfast was only ok. The hotel is probably considered expensive for Argentina standards but was definitely worth it compared to what you get, for example, in New York.

  • Liked — Location, very clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Only ok breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bdachow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This is a great hotel, but expensive. We normally liked to stay at boutique hotels, that’s why we choose legado mitico. The staff is not very friendly, they made us fill like if we were at the Ritz hotel in London….very cold service. The facilities are great so I will recommend it if you don’t mind paying a lot.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gepmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My husband and I just completed a 4-night stay at Legado Mitico. Our experience was truly excellent.

First, when our inbound flight to Argentina was delayed, Legado quickly agreed to not charge us for the first missed night. The reception upon arrival was genuine, as we quickly checked in and were offered beverages as a welcome to the hotel. Our troubles were quickly forgotten, as we settled into our beautiful room, La Primera Dama. This is a large room that features a beautiful fireplace, though given the spring conditions, we obviously didn´t use it.

The front desk staff, Leandro in particular, was helpful in every way - coordinating soccer tickets, restaurant reservations and recommending day trips.

The hotel location could not have been better. We were a few blocks from Plaza Serrano, a real hub of activity in Palermo SoHo. I also happen to be a yoga fan, and was thrilled to find a fabulous studio 1 block away on Costa Rica, www.valletierra.com.

The hotel was a bit more expensive than the competition, but you get what you pay for - this was an intimate boutique hotel experience, one which we cherished. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — The personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LCYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Nuss Buenos Aires
Nuss Buenos Aires
#96 of 445 in Buenos Aires
383 reviews
Palermo
The Glu Hotel
The Glu Hotel
#4 of 445 in Buenos Aires
798 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel & Wine Bar
#2 of 445 in Buenos Aires
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
Magnolia Hotel Boutique
#22 of 445 in Buenos Aires
437 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#7 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,845 reviews
Palermo
Ilum Experience Home
Ilum Experience Home
#16 of 445 in Buenos Aires
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legado Mitico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legado Mitico

Property: Legado Mitico
Address: Calle Gurruchaga 1848, Buenos Aires C1414DIL, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legado Mitico 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a wonderful combination of old and contemporary, ideal for those who seek the authentic and sophisticated. There is a friendly, cosy atmosphere at this eleven room hotel, with each ensuite room decorated differently and dedicated to different legendary Argentine characters. Each room has its own full bathroom and is air conditioned with an LCD flat screen television, minibar, and safe. There is a jacuzzi and solarium and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legado Mitico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legado Mitico Buenos Aires
Legado Mitico Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing