We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argentina”
Review of Livian Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livian Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 256 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

During our three weeks in mainly the south of Argentina we started and ended in Livian Guest House in Buenos Aires. The hostel is located in Palermo, and a good location to visit the most beatuiful sites of Buenos Aires. The rooms are simple, but the staff and sphere is great. The staff has given some good advice to do trips. For example we went to Tigre by Train. So our trip and stay in Buenos Aires were great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about Livian! We are glad that you enjoyed our house and that our advices were usefull! Tigre is a great place to see and not so far away! Normally tourist don´t know about it. We want our guest to have the best information and all the help they need during their stay in order to enjoy and discover the most of Buenos Aires. It is a pleasure for us to know that you could do so.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Argentina and its capital Buenos Aires have captivated me in a way not many countries can. The fact that we were so well received at Livian Guesthouse contributed to this fact. We booked for 5 days at Livian and ended up staying 4 more. Every single person in their staff is so super friendly, warm and welcoming and will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. The house has been well preserved in its original state and redecorated in different themes for the different rooms that make them all very cozy and fit for purpose for different types of guests.
The location of Livian is great as youare close to the public transportation if you want to explore the city. Next time I go to Argentina I will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on groundlevel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for write about your experience in Livian! We really enjoyed to have you with us and it was our pleasure to help you in every way possible. You didn´t want to leave and we didn´t want you to leave either. It would be nice to have you back next time you visit Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. The girls at the reception are really nice an very helpful. They go above and beyond to give you tips for sightseeing, restaurants (even make reserverations for you) and shopping. There Englisch is very good. We had a wonderful time in the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your comment! It is our goal to give you the best information about our city in order to make your experience richer and enjoyable! We are glad that we made a good job helping you discover Buenos Aires.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently visited Buenos Aires and stayed at Livians for two days.
The place is really nicely decorated with lots of old furniture and stuff that add to the character of the beautiful old building.
Our host stayed up late to welcome us, and the staff where extremely helpful and kind.
The breakfast stayed along the lines of the rest of the house, and offered a few but carefully selected items to get you started.
All in all a very nice place to stay - we would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time of write a feedback! We appreciated that you liked our decoration and style. We promoted the beauty and uniqueness of things. We are glad you could feel confortable with us and we would love to have you back in your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

What has most fascinated us from Buenos Aires is the life-style and the atmosphere. We were lucky that we could get that atmosphere not only when going around in the city, but also in the Livian Guesthouse. The room was nice, the breakfast was good, the building is beautiful, but more than that, the best of the Livian Guesthouse is the warmth of the staff, young and lovely, who gave us always good advices and make us feeling at home in Buenos Aires! Last, but not least, what you do not want when travelling, I was ill on my very last night in Argentina and had to go to the hospital to have a check. Although I regret we couldn't enjoy our last night in Buenos Aires (and already want to go back to repair that miss), the girls of the Livian's staff just made us feeling at home taking care of us and getting informed if it was getting better.
Maybe there are larger and luxurious places to stay, but for us the Livian Guesthouse was the best place to be in Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiaraandMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Many thanks for your nice review!
It was a pleasure for us to have a guest like you. We are so grateful because our goal is to make you to feel at home.
We appreciate your words, hope to see you on your next trip because LIVIAN is your home in Buenos Aires.
Best regards,
All Livian Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After nearly two weeks in the Lake District of Argentina/Chile and a southern Patagonian cruise, we didn't think that our stay in Buenos Aires could rival what we had already done on this "bucket list" vacation. Were we wrong. Our stay at the Livian Guesthouse was right up there. It is an absolutely charming B & B, a restored townhouse/mansion both beautiful and 'edgy' in style and aesthetic. Our hosts (and the entire staff) could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We recommend this guesthouse unreservedly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhr1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Livian Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us! We are so proud to hear that you enjoyed so much your stay at our house! We would love to have you staying with us again the next time you visit Buenos Aires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Im reading the other reviews, before I write mine.. and all the time I´m thinking....uh?, what?, where? really???!!
I was booked there for 5 nights. The only nice thing in Palestina street (the address) in an old and finished part of Buenos Aires, is in fact the Livian house!. It looks lovely and charming. As I entered I saw an eclectic decoration.. kind of my grandma´s house with paintings or details made by probably a cousin stucked in the hippie era... I was welcomed by the staff, and showed me around. Lovely terrace, and I think a pool, although I didn´t paid too much atention, Is cold in Argentia now.
In order to get to my room, in the first floor, no elevator I had to carry my luggage upstairs.. they showed me the living room, and dinning room or breakfast room, with three different type of tables and different chairs...UH???..
although the price for my room was an exhorbitant 150 usd per night, "the green room" as they called it, was ridiculous. Its so pricy, because I dared to ask for a private bathroom. (WHAT???)My private bathroom was so tiny, that you couldn´t open the door completly, no space to do that, or enough space to sit without kissing the front wall, and forget the shower space. (although a little bigger than the showers in a cruise!) the only nice thing there, was the amount of water coming out of the shower.
space to put my clothes?? WHERE????, there was an old drawer furniture, without handles and a rattan rack...and a chair....to put my clothes,the lady said... REALLY??????!!!
two different night tables on my bedside.horrible decoration, and yes... the carpet was ... Green!!(maybe that's the reason for its name) the whole place looked as if it was going to fall appart. I could close the window, but not lock it. NO safe box.., etc, etc...
No TV in my room, if I wanted to watch it, I had to go out to the living room.
Breakfast?- bread, marmalade, broiled eggs and fresh fruit and cofee. was it fantastic?, no. only common. nothing to brag about. dishes so old and worn out that once, when I was drinking my coffee, my cup fell, while I kept the handle in my fingers... REALLY????!!!
The place needs work, urgent maintenance. You can hear your next door neighbor,in fact, I heard his burping context, for example.
I just couldn´t stand it at all. There's no charm in a place that only has recked furniture and no taste at all. As I said to the company that booked me there, because I decided to leave the place; this place would be fine if I were an adventurous woman, 16- 18 years old and missed summer camp expiriences. The only nice thing I found at Livian Guesthouse was the warm and friendly staff.
just for 10 extra dollars, I had a spacious, superb, amazing room with all the amenities, . Breakfast included ( different pastries, several stews and eggs, etc) in The Plaza Hotel, at San Martin Square. (incredible well located), where I felt like a queen.

.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livian, Staff at Livian Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013
Google Translation

Ante todo, muchas gracias por su crítica. La gerencia se encuentra actualmente trabajando para el mejoramiento tanto de las instalaciones como del cuidado de los espacios comunes, como siempre lo ha hecho a lo largo de estos años.
Nuestro Hotel, le guste o no el criterio con el que se han seleccionado los nombres de las habitaciones o su decoración es la manera en que nos identificamos. Puntualmente respecto de su habitación “GREEN” es por la cercanía con nuestro jardín, con el Verde de los árboles y sus detalles.
En nuestro Guest House hemos alojado a personas de diferentes edades que han disfrutado de su estadía, es por eso que contamos con tantas buenas opiniones en Trip Advisor.
Algo que si necesitamos que quede en claro es respecto del valor de la tarifa, no es correcto lo que usted expone ( 150usd x noche) tenga en cuenta que se alojo en el Hotel en Septiembre ( temporada baja ) la tarifa de una habitación Standard en ese entonces era de usd 72 mas taxes, un total de USD 90 ( puede chequearlo en nuestra web ) y a su vez, su estadía tenia un descuento del15% por Long Stay , o sea que lo que usted abono aquí es usd 61,12 mas impuestos (21%). Muy lejos de lo que usted afirma en su crítica.

Livian tiene un sitio web donde todos aquellos interesados pueden ver claramente cuáles son las instalaciones, como son las diferentes categorías, qué incluye, hay fotografías de todos los lugares, no se oculta nada, por lo que usted podría haber investigado y no llevarse así, la sorpresa que dice haberse llevado respecto del Lugar.-

Aceptamos nuestros defectos, que por ello es que seguimos incansablemente tratando de mejorar en las diferentes aéreas de la casa.-
Lamentamos muchísimo que no se haya sentido a gusto con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#64 of 443 in Buenos Aires
551 reviews
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#5 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,886 reviews
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#10 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Bulnes Eco Suites
Bulnes Eco Suites
#29 of 443 in Buenos Aires
540 reviews
Palermo
Abode Buenos Aires
Abode Buenos Aires
#2 of 256 in Buenos Aires
153 reviews
Palermo
Vain Boutique Hotel
Vain Boutique Hotel
#14 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livian Guesthouse

Address: Palestina 1184 | Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Livian Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a travel experience shared in a lounge, a dining room offering buffet breakfast and a tranquil garden. Take a breath.Feel relax in private suites, with facilities and services designed specially for you. Livian Guest House is your choice in Buenos Aires to feel “local” in and out of a 1920’s classic French house with artsy and mystic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Livian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livian Guesthouse Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing