We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy place, not a party hostel, good budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Republica San Telmo
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy place, not a party hostel, good budget option”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a small B&B. My husband and I stayed for 8 nights in late April 2013. Staff David and Lucas are very attentive, helpful and do whatever it takes to make sure you have a good stay. They told us about the neighborhood, where to eat for cheap and where to find subways and buses. They also called taxis and helped with our luggage both at check in and check out. The B&B is up several flights of stairs so it was great to have help carrying our luggage in.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast consisted of some medialunas, dulce de leche, jam and coffee or tea. There was plenty of fruit markets and other food options nearby so we didn't worry that breakfast was a little small. The wifi worked all the time and internet speed was fast.
This B&B is located a few blocks from subte (metro) and a short walk from Plaza Dorrego. The famous Sunday fleamarket of San Telmo is 2 blocks away. There are many restaurants and live music options close by. Great location!! The neighborhood at night is quiet. We walked through it many times at night and felt safe.

I recommend this place to people who are looking for a quiet atmosphere. The majority of other people at this hostel were quiet and friendly and stayed only a few nights. The showers and bathrooms were cleaned daily. Would stay here again.

Downside was we could hear lots of conversation from our neighbors in the room next to us. Street noise was kept to a minimum thanks to the great windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennymtbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
15
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A good location for your stay in Buenos Aires with friendly staff, clean, and a kitchen. Breakfast is limited with only bread, jams, instant coffee and tea. The hostel is run by 2 gentlemen, Lucas and David, on behalf of its owners. Lucas, works the day and he is very helpful, you can ask him relevant info about the area, and about the city attractions. The room was quite spacious. This was more of a home than a hostel. The location was excellent for the Sunday San Telmo Market. Bars, small corner shops, restaurants, subway, and transport all within a few blocks. When arriving, you ring the 2nd. floor for the hostel reception; there is no lift, and you will need to climb 2 flights of stairs. There was wifi, but only one communal computer.The hostel is situated in an old but very well preserved house. The floorboards do creak a little , depending where you walk. The atmosphere is private, you feel like home, ideal for one looking for a nice, quiet and cosy place for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Entering Republica is like visiting your grandmother. It feels like a home, but a bit oldfashioned. It's a good place to start a visit in Buenos Aires, as the double doors kept streetnoise outside and airco made it ok. The downside is that the noise from the other rooms is not kept outside the room. And I'm not talking about loud neighbours: i could here every single word of skypecalls they made with family. And since I was in the middle room I heard a lot of conversations.

The neighbourhood is ok, in San Telmo and close to the little square where the market is being held on Sundays. I can imagine that a girl travelling alone would feel a bit uncomfortable at night, but my experience was that it was a safe area and there a some nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Avoid the middle room, so you will only hear one neighbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a small B&B with only 4 rooms and 3 bathrooms. Two of the rooms have private bathroom and the other two share one. We got ones with private bathroom. My husband and I stayed for 8 nights. My mom and other relative stayed for 3 nights. Staffs David and Lucas are very caring. They have provided good information, helped with tango show reservations, called taxi and helped with our luggage. The B&B is on 2nd floor but it is what we call 3rd floor in the US. We were going to cruise for 2 weeks after this so we had tons of luggage. David has helped my mom to carry all of her luggage up. Both David and Lucas helped us with luggage and taxi to see us off.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast is limited but we are not big breakfast eater anyway. The wifi worked all the time and internet speed was fast.
This B&B location is excellent. We are a few blocks from subte (metro) and a short walk from Plaza Dorrego. Sunday street market of San Telmo is 2 blocks away. There are many restaurants close by. Market is right around the corner.
It really helped that both David and Lucas speak good English since we don't speak Spanish. They made our stay very happy. We recommend this place to everyone. 2/25-3/5 2013

Room Tip: There is only one room with direct bathroom access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hostel is located in one of the most interesting nigbourhoods of bohemian Buenos Aires. It is small, few rooms and only two bathrooms. We were offered 3 rooms for 5 people and 2 private bathrooms. We arrive and we found that we had to only 2 bedrooms ad ONE bathroom for the 5 of us.....We had a discount for this ONLY because we had complained... The bathroom's shower only pours hot water.....We were woken up at 9 in the morning by the woman in charge of cleaning the place. She rang with such an energy that we all had to wake up. One morning she screamed abou the mud she found in our bathroom (we stayed in BA during the days of the flood) we felt insulted by her attitude. the good things about the hostel are: the quietness of the house duen mainly to double glass windows, its location, the house architecture and the boys who work there and ara very gentle and helpful. If you go ther make sure that you get what you had paid!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ensuite bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilen781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknesse, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The goal of our trip has been Patagonia. We were not realy thinking about where to stay in Buenos aires. On our day of arrival we checked on the internet and found out about the place in San Telmo. We found out through revieuws that it was one of the best places to stay. When you read this kind of information you think, ok in real it will be different. When we arrived and the door was opened by the staff wwe entered another world. A marble stairway was leading us to our final destination, giving us the feeling if we had gone back into the beginning of the twentieth century. The staff received us as if we were part from a royal family.The rooms had been made very cosy with old furniture and small details. The airconditioning was already running softly so we entered a nice cooled room. At night it was very quiet and before we went to sleep the staf informed us which places to go and organised a taxi. In the morning we had a very nice heavy shower, the bathroom itself is almost like a museum with all the ancient building materials. In the mean time the staff had been busy with preparation of the breakfast. Nice smell of coffee and roasted bread made a good apetite. After the breakfast we were helped with our taxi to our next destination. David we like to thank you very much for all your energy you put in our well being. My mother could not have doen it better. Everybody already understands that I will strongly recommand this place. Go gor it and you will experience the same, for sure!

27/02/2013
Joop van der Molen.
The Netherlands.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joop V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked this guesthouse for a 24 hour stopover in BA & after emails between agustin & nicolas were really looking forward to our stay, with Agustin even offering day use at 1/2 price due to a late flight out.

The main issue I had was that we had booked the ensuite room but on arrival were told we had a private bathroom not attached to our room? This private bathroom was right next to the common lounge, & at one point another guest tried coming in while i was in there. I have no issues with a share bathroom if that is what I paid for, but if I ask for ensuite that is what i expect. I checked the map of the apartment & there was an ensuite room but this was already taken.

The shower in our non ensuite bathroom was broken - the shower head was more like a hose with just 1 huge stream of water pouring out & there was some weird material or something stuffed up in the shower head obviously where they had tried to fix the problem.

We'd already paid a deposit of $60 before arrival, & were due to pay the balance at checkout. Due to the mix up/mess up in our room, i checked on the website & the price for the double room,shared bathroom was $10 less so i told David that we only wanted to pay for the room we were supplied. He called Nicolas & said despite the prices clearly being on the website & also noted in emails, the price had changed? I disputed this, and david then said it was because I had changed dates - yes our date had changed by 1 day but then if the ensuite wasn't available this should have been noted, & the price adjusted. In the end they agreed to reduce the price by $5 only.

It wasn't the money, it was that they hadn't provided what I had booked, & then made me fight to only pay the correct price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Telmho Hotel Boutique
Telmho Hotel Boutique
#161 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
San Telmo
Anselmo Buenos Aires, Curio Collection by Hilton
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#59 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
Mansion Vitraux Boutique Hotel
#79 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
The Hostel-Inn Buenos Aires
#55 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
San Telmo
Puerto Limon Hostel
Puerto Limon Hostel
#24 of 455 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Republica San Telmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Republica San Telmo

Property: Republica San Telmo
Address: Calle Chacabuco 1163, Buenos Aires C1069AAW, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B and apartments in the centre of the historic area San Telmo are your perfect starting point to explore Buenos Aires. We will give you a peaceful and relaxed stay after a day of intensely enjoying all the charms of Buenos Aires.B&B Republica San Telmo is part of a French Style mansion that was built one hundred years ago. We offer 5 large rooms, 4 bathrooms, air conditioning, comfortable beds, TV and free Internet access. Breakfast is included. You can also use our kitchen facilities and the roof terrace with barbecue.We recommend our apartments in 3 blocks from the B&B, for a luxurious stay. The apartments are equiped with a kitchenette, bathroom with bath and shower, a comfortable box-spring, air conditioning, a 32 inch HD television and a private balcony. Next to that you will find a lot of extra (shared) services on the top of the building, like a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna.We love to help you plan your excursions in the city and the rest of the country. Next to that we can bring you to football games and tango shows.We hope to welcome you soon in Republica San Telmo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Republica San Telmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Republica San Telmo Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing