We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Old School But Some Negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #190 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed for 3 nights - the first in a room overlooking the road corner junction - mistake - so noisy for most of the night - no problem with a change to a quieter room which had in fact been previously confirmed. The location is such that when quietly reading in the drawing room/bar area the floor literally shook when heavy vehicles went past. Having said that there is wonderful character and atmosphere in a very old building . Buffet breakfast just about adequate, but nothing more. I didn't partake in the Tango lesson, but those guests that did were enjoying themselves. The bathrooms in the two rooms I used were tiny, perhaps to be expected in such an old building, but be aware that they were both positively claustrophobic, just about enough space to be functional, but only just. On my last two mornings parts of the hotel , including my room, were without power, and one morning without hot water. I presume that this is a drawback of such an old building with presumably wiring of a similar vintage. The staff all spoke good English and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooneys_Boutique, Owner at Rooney's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thankyou for your comments. In relation to the power cut, this was not due to old wiring. The hotel was completely restored/renovated 7 years ago, during which time it was completely rewired according to modern day specifications and regulations. The power cut was in fact due to a general power outage in various neighbourhoods (the centre included) for a number of hours on these particular days. Thankfully, this is a fairly infrequent event but nonetheless one that we had to deal with. I hope that the inconvienence incurred did not detract from your positive experience in Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great place with awesome service. Enjoyed the tango lesson a lot. Rooms are very clean. The hotel has an old feel to it. It is definitely not a business in and out with modern interior. It has it's character and flavor. The elevator is something you only see in the movies. The receptionists were extremely helpful. I have to praise Adrian for his incredible patience and willingness to help and Nancy for lightning speed responses to my e-mails. Book it, you will want to come back to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SZImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was my second visit to Rooney's and I once again experienced great customer service in this most charming hotel. 4 of us shared the apartment. The hotel was happy for us all to arrive at different dates, helped us with booking a trip to Uruguay and helped us out when we had an issue picking up concert tickets, with one simple phone call. I can not recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Rooney's Boutique Hotel in Buenos Aires, Argentina is a wonderful place. Convenient to everything, its staff were always friendly and very helpful. Located in a renovated Belle Epoch home, the rooms have high ceilings, tall windows, balconies, and are furnished in antiques. When we were there, the streets were alive, but the rooms in the hotel were quiet and very secure. They arranged transport to and from EZE, called us cabs when we wanted, arranged a great Tango dinner and show one evening, and a day's outing at a ranch for lunch, a gaucho show, and horseback riding! We have no problems recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found Rooneys hotel was welcoming and clean,room had all facilities and was roomy.the hotel was difficult to find as was on the third floor entranced by a lift.the staff were very helpful and would not hesitate in recommending

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashirenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in Buenos Aires staying at the Rooney Boutique Hotel. If you are a traveller that wants to be in the center of all that is real in this city, stay here. The hotel is located just around the corner from the entertainment district. The streets are vibrant and action takes place all the time. The hotel was clean and comfortable with an old world charm. The owner and the staff were wonderful and alway pleasant to speak to. Assistance was given anytime we asked. Our only issue was the weak access to the internet but this was a minor inconvenience compared to the positives. We would concur with the other reviews and what is available in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was large and bright. I wouldn't choose room number 13; too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We travelled from Mexico, for the foootball match between uruguay and Mexico for the Copa America, na dmost large hotels were full. However, this gem was a delight, its a small family owned property but not like a normal B&B, they arranged airport pick-up and drop-off, the room was cozy and romantic. they arranged a Tango show with transport included and a glass of wine.

The bathroom with excellent pressure, and the hotel location is near subway station and main avenue, if you have nver been to Argentina, I definetely recommend, they will help you plan your daily activities.

it looks lik from the outside as a terrible, being in an old building and having to take an elevator, but once in, it is great.

Room Tip: Good hotel for budget traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#218 of 443 in Buenos Aires
169 reviews
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#198 of 443 in Buenos Aires
363 reviews
Intersur Suites
#179 of 443 in Buenos Aires
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#74 of 443 in Buenos Aires
996 reviews
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#151 of 443 in Buenos Aires
507 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £112 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing